Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Using the University Archives for my research paper: Archives Locations

Quick reference on how to prepare yourself to use the University Archives

Quick Summary

There are three Archives Locations:

  1. University Archives
  2. Archives Research Center
  3. Sousa Archives and Center for American Music

Be sure to look on the control card where the record series is available under SERVICE LOCATION

Service Location

HELPFUL TIP

If the Service Location says Offsite: Prior notice required, then email the archives 2-3 days in advance so we can request your box from an off site storage location and you can see it at the University Archives Location once your box arrives.

EMAIL: illiarch@library.illinois.edu

UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES

The University Archives has a vast collection that can be used for many subjects.  Some popular past research topics included:

Ad Council Archives, Board of Trustees Minutes, Senate Council Minutes, James Reston Papers, Daily Illini, Course Catalogs, Illio Yearbooks, Lorado Taft Collection, student regulations, discrimination, library history, housing, Project 500, women's athletics, student publications.

University Archives

1408 W. Gregory Drive

(Main Library)

Room 19 (Basement)

Urbana, Illinois 61801

Hours:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday:
8:30am-5:00pm
Wednesday: 10:00am-5:00pm

ARCHIVES RESEARCH CENTER

The Archives Research Center has a vast collection relating to student life and organizations.  It also has additional storage for University Archives records and personal papers collections.  Some prominent topics include:

Student Life and Culture Archival Program, Sororities, Fraternities, student government, Third Armored Division Association Archives (European Theatre, World War II), Illio Yearbooks, College of Agriculture records, and American Library Association Archives.

Archives Research Center

1707 South Orchard

Room 105

Urbana, IL 61801

(217) 333-7841

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday:

        8:30 AM - 12:00 NOON

        1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday:

       10:00 AM - 12 NOON

       1:00 PM - 5:00 PM


CLOSED: Saturdays, Sundays, and Federal Holidays

HERE'S A MAP:

http://www.library.illinois.edu/archives/about/HFLmap.pdf

THE SOUSA ARCHIVES AND CENTER FOR AMERICAN MUSIC

The Sousa Archives and Center for American Music has a vast collection relating to John Philip Sousa, American wind bands, musical instruments, UI faculty composers, experimental music, and sound recordings.

The Sousa Archives and Center for American Music(SACAM) acquires and preserves significant archival records and historical artifacts in multiple media formats that document America's local and national music history and its diverse cultures.

The Center, part of the University of Illinois Library and University Archives, arranges, describes, and makes its collections accessible in support of scholarship, exhibitions, publications and education. It offers these services in a professionally managed reference center and through on-line databases, finding aids, and other forms of publication. It provides expert advice on accepted archival practices and standards to University colleagues, scholars, and the general public.

Sousa Archives and Center for American Music

236 Harding Band Building
1103 South Sixth Street
Champaign, Illinois 61820

Telephone: (217) 244-9309
Fax: (217) 244-8695

E-mail: sousa@illinois.edu


Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday:

        8:30 AM - 12:00 NOON

        1:00 PM - 5:00 PM


Wednesday:

       10:00 AM - 12 NOON

       1:00 PM - 5:00 PM


CLOSED: Saturdays, Sundays, and Federal Holidays

Appointments for Research are required.