Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Using the University Archives for my research paper: Online Archival Resources

Quick reference on how to prepare yourself to use the University Archives

I CAN'T MAKE IT TO THE ARCHIVES!

Here are some popular online archival resources you can access.

Digitized Newspapers through the Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection

Titles Available

  • Daily Illini 1916-1945; 1962-1975
  • Urbana Daily Courier 1903-1935  
  • Sycamore True Republican 1869-1872; 1877-1968
  • Express (Tallula, Illinois) 1895-1896 (Scattered issues)

UI HISTORIES PROJECT

UI Histories Project created by Kalev Lettaru

History about the founding, buildings on campus, gifts/memorials, collections, student life, milestones, board of trustees, special collections, and a digital library!

http://uihistories.library.illinois.edu/cgi-bin/cview?SITEID=1&ID=1

Digital Content

Digital Content/University Historical Images

http://www.library.illinois.edu/archives/archon/index.php?p=digitallibrary/digitallibrary

 

Dig-Libsysdigi Electronic Records Repository

http://www.library.illinois.edu/archives/archon/index.php?p=core/search&locationid=33

 

Pocket Facts: 1990-2003

Pocket Facts is produced by the Office of University Relations, and data are provided by the Office for Planning and Budgeting. Both offices are units of University Administration.

https://www.uillinois.edu/cms/one.aspx?portalId=1324&pageId=136774

 
University Archives Disability-Related Digital Resources

http://www.library.illinois.edu/archives/guides/disability/digital/index.php

 

Oral Histories Project at the Student Life and Culture Archival Program

http://archives.library.illinois.edu/slc/oral-history-portal/

 

Board of Trustees Minutes

http://uihistories.library.illinois.edu/cgi-bin/rview_search?mode=search&REPOSID=8&DOCTYPE_BOT=on

 

Board of Trustees Members

http://www.bot.uillinois.edu/historical-leadership

 

Digitized Illio Yearbooks 1970-1989

http://archives.library.illinois.edu/archon/?p=digitallibrary/digitalcontent&id=4412

 

Student Life and Culture Digital Resources

http://archives.library.illinois.edu/slc/

 

Primary Source Tutorial

A guide to how to examine and interpret primary source materials.

http://www.library.illinois.edu/village/primarysource/index.htm