Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Core Article Databases
These databases are a good starting point for locating journal articles on various "One Health" topics.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Identifies articles regarding basic and applied research on aquatic organisms.
Identifies journal articles related to aquatic environments and marine pollution problems.
Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS)
Contains bibliographical references with abstracts in English from life sciences research journals published worldwide.
Identifies articles in all aspects of agriculture, leisure, recreation, tourism, and veterinary medicine.
An index of 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Includes nursing and allied health articles from worldwide, scientific literature presented for the needs of health professionals. Provides articles about nursing, allied health, biomedical, consumer health journals, and publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Includes health care books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts and educational software.
Identifies articles in basic and clinical biomedical research, psychology and other allied health fields.
Search the UIUC Library Catalog for "One Health" Articles
Example of articles that can be found by searching the catalog.
Manlove, Kezia R. "One Health" or Three? Publication Silos Among the One Health Disciplines. PLoS Biology, 2016. 14(4), 1-14.
The One Health initiative is a global effort fostering interdisciplinary collaborations to address challenges in human, animal, and environmental health. While One Health has received considerable press, its benefits remain unclear because its effects have not been quantitatively described. We systematically surveyed the published literature and used social network analysis to measure interdisciplinarity in One Health studies constructing dynamic pathogen transmission models. The number of publications fulfilling our search criteria increased by 14.6% per year, which is faster than growth rates for life sciences as a whole and for most biology subdisciplines. Surveyed publications clustered into three communities: one used by ecologists, one used by veterinarians, and a third diverse-authorship community used by population biologists, mathematicians, epidemiologists, and experts in human health. Overlap between these communities increased through time in terms of author number, diversity of co-author affiliations, and diversity of citations. However, communities continue to differ in the systems studied, questions asked, and methods employed. While the infectious disease research community has made significant progress toward integrating its participating disciplines, some segregation—especially along the veterinary/ ecological research interface—remains.
International Journal of Epidemiology
Tropical Medicine and International Health