Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Career Corner

Company Research Flow Chart

Visual depiction of a BIS Librarian's suggested search strategy for finding company information using the Three Easy Steps to Find Company Information.

For resources under each step, visit the Three Easy Steps to Find Company Information.

Private Companies

Consult sources below for information about private companies:

Also, check article databases:

Company Research Chart

The chart below displays databases with company information that the Library subscribes to annually. The chart provides the broad topics which are available within each database. To access the database desired, click on the database title to take you to the database. If you are off campus, you will be required to type your Illinois Net ID and password first for authentication.

Database Company Information Revenue/ Financials Industry Codes New Products Announcements Competitors Investment Analysis SWOT Analysis Comparisons News
Business Source Ultimate        
Data Axle            ✔      
Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS)        
Hoover's  
IDTechEx          
Mergent Online      
Nexis Uni    
PrivCo        
ProQuest One Business            ✔        
Statista          

International Companies

 Mergent

Provides international company data: more companies from more countries than any other international database, with global searching across databases; international annual reports: hard-to-get, timely annual reports on all companies available in PDF format; corporate visibility: expanded, in-depth, and detailed descriptions of public companies as they appear in the Mergent Manuals (aka Moody's Manuals), which were first published in 1918.


Hoover's

Includes extensive international company information including annual reports, SWOT analysis, industry codes, company executives, and news articles.  Use this database to build a company list and search for company, industry, and people profiles.  Hoover's gives access to best in class data made up of approximately 84 million private and public companies, including subsidiaries.

Insider Information

 

Glassdoor (FREE)

Great insider information including salaries, employee reviews, interviews (many real interview questions).

Image source: https://media.glassdoor.com/brand-logo/green-stacked-logo/glassdoor-logo.png

                                                                                 


Firsthand (formerly Vault)

Over 10,000 companies. Insider information about a company's culture and reputation.  Subscription required for access and available through Gies and Engineering Career Services.