Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Vernacular Language Resources for East European and Eurasian Research: National Bibliographies

Library Portals

These sources will provide easy access to the national libraries of the region and often their bibliographic sources as well.

National Bibliographies

 

The national bibliographic history for the countries of the Slavic world is complex to say the least.  It is often the case now that the National Library Catalogs act as access points for the national bibliography since they are the depositories of the countries publishing output.  Certainly they are a more convenient source for the scholar who wants to get an overall view of the publishing on a particular topic. The difficulty is that they lack retrospective depth and only reflect the countries publications for the last twenty to thirty years. 

Scanned card catalogs at many of the national libraries are helping to fill the gap.  Unfortunately, few are truly searchable and fall more into the category of browsable resources.  Nevertheless, they are enormously valuable when beginning research on  a topic or planning a research trip.

In some cases, such as Hungary for example, there are other avenues online.  The Hungarians have a real wealth of online resources for national bibliography.  The links on the table below will lead to detailed descriptions of the bibliographic sources, print and electronic for each of the countries listed.  Not all countries for the region are listed. 

 

National Bibliographies
Albania Belarus Bulgaria Bosnia/ Hercegovina Croatia
Czech and Slovak Republics

Estonia

Hungary Kazakh Kyrgyz
Latvia Macedonia Montenegro Poland Romania
Russia and Former Soviet Union Serbia Slovenia Ukraine Uzbek

Yugoslavia

 


 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Slavic Reference Service
Contact:
International & Area Studies Library
319a Main Library
University of Illinois
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, Illinois 61801
217-333-1349
Website