National Archival Portals
- Bulgarian Archival PortalClickable map of Bulgarian archives. Each link provides contact information for the archives of the region.
- HRVATSKI DRŽAVNI ARHIVLinks to information pages on the regional archives of Croatia. Basic descriptions and contact information are included.
- Česka archivni společnostLinks with extensive information to Czech archives. Many include access to search engines. The English language pages also supply extensive discussion of accessing materials in Czech archives
- :: Rahvusarhiiv ::List of links to Estonian archives provided by the central Estonian ministry for archival materials.
- National Archives of HungaryGovernment guide to Hungarian archives. Pdf guide to the archives is available here.
- Latvijas Valsts arhīvi - Laipni aicināti!Central access site for Latvian archives. The site includes links to the Latvian national archival database as well as to sites on the national and regional archives. The latter includes information for contacting the archive directly.
- Lietuvos Archyvų Departamento svetainėDepartment of Archives in Lithuania with extensive information on accessing Lithuanian archives. This includes links to specific archives, search interfaces for a national database and contact information for the archives.
- Државен архив на Република Македонија - ДоMacedonian State Archives website.
- Archives of PolandRich set of resources including a clikable map of Poland connecting to the resources of the regional archives.
- Архивы РоссииVery extensive Russian archival portal. There are links to archival sites, databases, information on printed guides and a wealth of other resources.
- Arkhiv SrbijeSerbian archival portal with links and contact information, extensive information on archival history and full text of many archival documents.
- Arhiv JugoslavijeArchives of Serbia and Montenegro.
- Statne ArchivyPortal to the archives and search interfaces of the archives for Slovakia. Includes links to individual archives.
- Arhiv Republike SlovenijeArchives of the Republic of Slovenia. Links and bibliography of guides for the archives of the country.
- Archives of UkrainePortal to the archives of the Ukraine with contact information and links whenever possible to the individual regional archives.
How do I find an archive? Then what?
The first two links below are world-wide portals to archival materials. The remaining resources focus on using the archives and the specialized information you need to take advantage of their rich resources.
- UNESCO Archival PortalThe UNESCO portal has additional materials that can be helpful if you are seeking government regulations regarding archives, library archives and more.
- Repository of Primary SourcesNot a comprehensive list but an easy introduction to major regional resources on archives.
- Archives Made EasyThis site is sponsored by the London School of Economics website with very practical information on archive use for archives all over the world. Individuals file reports on working conditions, transportation, technology and many other topics
- ArcheoBiblioBaseLargely describes individual archives but does give a good idea of working conditions in Russian archives in general.
- RusArchivesOfficial portal for Russian archives with links to regional and federal websites, full text of many archival guides, search access to many materials in the archives.
- School of Russian and Asian StudiesSample letters of introducation and other useful information for working in the Russian archives with a couple of caveats. Still a useful source
- Reading archival materialsIf you have not worked with archival materials you might want to come prepared. Olga Glagoleva has published a book that can help you with handwriting and it can be a real problem. Take a look at the samples she provides.
Fond, Opis, Delo???
So what do you ask for when you get to the archives: papers, books? As with most other fields the terminology is highly specialized and you need to be familiar with it before you get there. There are alot of very useful sources for this. Many are actually in the archival guides. Below are two that you might find helpful.
http://www.iias-trieste-maribor.eu/index.php?id=68&L=1
Subject Guide
Slavic Reference Service
Contact:
Slavic Reference Service
International and Area Studies Library
Room 317
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, Illinois 61801
International and Area Studies Library
Room 317
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, Illinois 61801
217-333-1349
Website
Favorites