Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Vernacular Language Resources for East European and Eurasian Research: Interregional/Interdisciplinary Sources

Resources for the Region

Loading ...

Overview

There are many databases with interdisciplinary and interregional focus that are important for scholars in our area.  Some have been discussed under bibliographies (INION, Herder's East European resources, etc.)  There a number that many researchers are familiar with such as MLA, PsychInfo, Science Citation Index, Historical Abstracts, etc.  Among the databases available here that are both interdisciplinary and interregional are:

Although all the databases listed here include some portion of vernacular language materials, the percentage indexed varies enormously.  Even those with very good coverage in general, such as MLA, do not compare favorably with the national sources that are available.

Туркестанский Сборник = Turkestanskiǐ Sbornik. FULL TEXT

The UIUC Library recently purchased a digitized version of the Turkestanskii sbornik.  This collection covers an array of subject areas, including: history, ethnology, government, regional politics, etc.  More than five hundred volumes of clippings of articles from books, journals, and newspapers, published in Russian and Western languages.  A true gold mine for researching Central Asia before 1917 [Period of coverage: 1867-1917].  You can browse through individual volumes or start with the index.  You can access the Turkestanskii collection here.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Slavic Reference Service
Contact:
International & Area Studies Library
319a Main Library
University of Illinois
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, Illinois 61801
217-333-1349
Website