Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Agribusiness Markets & Management: Market Research

A collection of resources for students interested in agribusiness markets and management.

SWOT Analysis

SWOT Analysis: The backbone of any good strategic management plan. Try this online chapter from Business Environment, Revised Edition (2009) via Science Direct: Chapter 5: SWOT Analysis.

Good Books

Current books, encyclopedias, and documents in our collection related to business and agribusiness.

Agribusiness Markets Research

The boxes below suggest some excellent online resources to help you get started on research for companies, industries and economies in agriculture. 

These lists are by no means comprehensive; check out our full list of databases by going to our A-Z Databases page or by conducting a Journal Search in our catalog. Or stop by the reference desk at the Funk ACES Library--we'd be happy to help!

Global Economies & Trade

UN Comtrade
UN Comtrade is a database of over 170 countries who report to the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) their annual international trade statistics data detailed by commodities and partner countries.   Lag time is generally two years, and time series go back as far as 1962.

The "how to query" manual is here.

Another UN dataset of interest to political economists is the Monthly Bulletin of Statistics, which provides 100 economic trend indicators for over 200 countries.  Time series go back to 2000.

Article Databases

Other Databases of Interest

These are some other excellent databases related to business, economics and agriculture.

Some database coverage overlaps, but when you're aiming to be comprehensive in your research, it's a good idea to search more than one database.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Funk ACES Library
Contact:
200 ACES Library, Information and Alumni Center
1101 S. Goodwin, MC-633
Urbana, IL 61801
Reference Desk: 217-244-2249
Website

More ACES LibGuides

Click here to see what other ACE and Agricultural LibGuides are available.

Related UIUC Libraries

You may find additional resources that you need in libraries and departments outside the Funk ACES library.