Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Basic Search Tools for Information Sciences Research: INSPEC

Introduces major reference tools and information search strategies for the information sciences.

Reasons to Use INSPEC

1. INSPEC is the best IS database for more technological aspects of IS, including strong coverage of information technology, human-computer interaction, digital libraries, information retrieval, and bioinformatics.

2. INSPEC keeps track of your search history on its homepage, which can be very useful when remembering what research queries you have already tried.

3. INSPEC allows you to search across multiple databases at once, just make sure to uncheck any databases that are not relevant to your search.

INSPEC (a part of Engineering Village)

  • Indexes over 5,000 journals, conference proceedings, and other serial titles
  • Covers topics on information technology, human-computer interaction, information retrieval, and bioinformatics
  • Includes many publications in other languages
  • Begins indexing coverage from 1969
  • Provides many full-text articles often available as direct downloads
  • Includes bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts

Special features:

  • The search history for each session is available on the homepage
  • Facets can be viewed as charts and made downloadable
  • There is a separate eBook search tab
  • If you perform a search and find that you would like to narrow down your results, you can add a term right to the search you already have done without having to go back to the main search page
    • Add a term in the "Refine Results" column on the left hand side of the page

Search Tips

Make sure to uncheck all databases that you do not want to search

  • The default search will search all Engineering Village databases
  • Some potentially useful databases for IS are Compendex & NTIS

See cited-by count for certain articles, as well as author profiles

  •  "Tools in Scopus" box will be in the right column
    • Here you can see the number of times the article has been cited in articles housed in Scopus and author profiles
    • Cited-by numbers can be helpful in seeing the impact an article has and if it is respected in the field

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library
Contact:
SSHEL North (Room 100) & SSHEL South (Room 101)
Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
General Telephone: (217) 333-2305 Information Services Desk Telephone: (217) 244-1864
Website