Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Basic Search Tools for Information Sciences Research: LISS

Introduces major reference tools and information search strategies for the information sciences.

Reasons to Use (LISS)

1 - LISS has the broadest historical coverage of any IS database.

2- Including the legacy EBSCO databases Library Lit and LISTA plus additional materials, LISS indexes over 1,000 periodicals -- just a click away from the bibliographic records.

3 - LISS covers a range of publication types, including scholarly journals, professional magazines, books, and library school theses, and many article types including features, news articles, book reviews, and more.

4 - Significant coverage of non-U.S. journals.

Library and Information Science Source (LISS)

  • indexes over 1000 periodicals
  • covers library science and information science
  • includes full text articles from around 440 periodicals
  • indexes scholarly journals, professional magazines, books, chapters, and library school theses
  • covers feature articles, short news articles, books, book reviews, and more
  • includes abstracts for recent years
  • has a searchable thesaurus of subject terms

Special features:

  • Searches can be limited upfront to peer-reviewed articles only, articles with full text only, and other options.
  • The Visual Search displays results as mapped topical clusters.
  • A search in the Image Quick View Collection retrieves charts, pictures, and other images from articles.
  • You can create “alerts” and be notified by email or RSS feed when new content of interest to you is added to the database. (You'll need to create an account first.)
  • Search results can be saved to "folders" and shared with others.
  • If websites are cited in an article, links are provided in the entry.
  • You can search LISS simultaneously with any Ebsco databases, by clicking on "Choose Databases."
  • “Discover” buttons link to full text in other electronic resources provided by the UI Library

Search Tips for LISS

Don't limit your search to full text only

  • Checking the boxes for "Full Text" or "PDF full text" will restrict the results to full text articles only within the LISS database itself.
  • If LISS lacks the full text of an article you need, follow the link to the UI Library's "Discover" service to locate full text in other electronic resources.

Play with subject headings and keywords

  • Consult the Thesaurus (on the top menu bar) to identify relevant headings. Subject headings in LISS may be simple words and phrases or compound terms, e.g. Cataloging / Evaluation or Copyright / Great Britain.
  • No heading in the thesaurus that matches your topic? Try keyword searching instead.  Don't specify a field, or specify "TX All Text Fields."
  • Try combining a general subject heading with a specific keyword, e.g. Cataloging as Subject and Toys as TX All Text Fields.
  • When you find a relevant entry, always look to see what headings have been assigned to it.

Browse Authors and Publications

  • Choose "Publications" or "Author Profiles" from the top navigation bar to browse alphabetical lists.
  • Select a particular publication to see its details, or an author's name to see get contact information, the journals they have published in, and relevant subject terms for their articles.

For an introduction to all the features of the LISS, connect to the tutorial below.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library
Contact:
SSHEL North (Room 100) & SSHEL South (Room 101)
Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
General Telephone: (217) 333-2305 Information Services Desk Telephone: (217) 244-1864
Website