Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital repositories archive and preserve online information, often including a significant amount of "grey literature", or hard to find items that don't appear in normal research resources. Often they include digital copies of journal articles, either in their final published form or in earlier drafts. Other kinds of documents that are often found in digital repositories are unpublished conference papers, slide sets, research reports, data sets, audio-visual files, and older print materials that have been scanned and digitized.
Several digital repositories focus on LIS and related fields. The two most relevant are:
Digital Library of Information Science & Technology is a repository that contains mostly North American documents
E-prints in Library and Information Science is a repository that contains mostly European documents
In contrast to a discipline-focused repository, an institutional repository collects and preserves content from a single campus or organization. The UI's repository is IDEALS (Ilinois Digital Environment for Access to Learning and Scholarship). IDEALS includes several GSLIS publications, such as Library Trends, as well as the work of scholars at GSLIS and the University Library.
Library Trends is an essential tool for librarians and educators alike. Each issue thoroughly explores a current topic of interest in professional librarianship and includes practical applications, thorough analyses, and literature reviews.
OpenDOAR is the Directory of Open Access Repositories, and you can use their search interface to search all repositories simultaneously.
A great many digital repositories can be searched at once though Worldcat's OAIster, although more difficult to use.
Follow these links to search OpenDOAR or OAIster:
For some hard-to-find topics, dissertations provide the only scholarly coverage. You can find University of Illinois Dissertations in our institutional repository, IDEALS. For other dissertations:
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
PQDT is a comprehensive collection of citations to dissertations and theses worldwide from 1861 to the present day. Full-text is available for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some of the older graduate works. PQDT is also the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. Also included are the citations to British and Irish dissertations and theses (PQDT: UK & Ireland) since 1761 and abstracts for content since 1986.
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library
, Children’s Literature
, Gender & Women’s Studies
, Health & Medicine
, Labor & Employment Relations
, Political Science
, Social Work
, Speech & Hearing Science
, Sports & Kinesiology