Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Illinois Prairie Organizations
The organizations below engage in prairie restoration and preservation activities within Illinois, and maintain websites that provide information about prairies and prairie conservation.
Tallgrass Prairie in Illinois
Produced by Illinois Natural History Survey (INHS) prairie expert Dr. Ken Robertson, this web site provides information on prairie history, restoration, landscaping, and biodiversity.
Tallgrass Prairie in Illinois - Links to Prairie Web Sites
This page includes a list of prairie web sites compiled by Dr. Ken Robertson of the Illinois Natural History Survey. The compilation includes over 60 web sites.
Prairie Establishment and Landscaping (PDF)
This prairie resource by William E. McClain of the Division of Natural Heritage with the Illinois Department of Natural Resources includes information ranging from the origins of the prairie to using prairie plants in landscape design.
Illinois Plant Information Network
Illinois Plant Information Network (ILPIN) was designed to provide many different types of information about ALL of the vascular plant taxa found in Illinois.
Corridors for Tomorrow
The Illinois highway corridor system can provide habit for the species that comprise the rich native biodiversity of Illinois. This project is entitled Corridors for Tomorrow. The Illinois Interstate highway system is the third largest in the nation, with about 1,900 miles of corridors, 370 interchanges, and 31 open or proposed rest areas. Associated with this system is about 135,000 acres of land. These corridors are in state ownership and are subject to far less pressure from economic and ownership changes than most land in the state.
Chicago Wilderness Consortium
Alliance of more than 160 public and private organizations who work together to protect, restore, study, and manage the precious natural ecosystems of the Chicago region for the benefit of the public.
Grand Prairie Friends
Grand Prairie Friends is an all-volunteer, not-for-profit, conservation organization and land trust composed of people from many walks of life who share a commitment to preserve and restore tallgrass prairie and woodlands in east-central Illinois.
The organizations below engage in prairie restoration and preservation activities outside of Illinois, and maintain websites that provide information about prairies and prairie conservation.
Nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting the ecological and cultural significance of the American prairie through education, outreach, and public engagement.
Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center (NPWRC)
This site is operated by the U.S. Geological Survey. Excellent searchable database of publications written by NPWRC personnel, including plant and wildlife topics and a biological resource finder.
Iowa Prairie Network
An all volunteer network of people dedicated to the preservation of the prairie heritage in the state of Iowa.
See http://iowaprairienetwork.org/education/literature/bibliography.shtml for a "Prairie Bibliography".
Missouri Prairie Foundation
For 47 years, the Missouri Prairie Foundation has been conserving Missouri's Prairies and other native grasslands, some of the most imperiled habitats on the planet.
Tallgrass Prairie Center
The Tallgrass Prairie Center is a strong advocate of progressive, ecological approaches utilizing native vegetation to provide environmental, economic, and aesthetic benefits for the public good. The Center's areas of interest include roadside vegetation management, native Source Identified seed development, and prairie advocacy. The Center primarily serves the Upper Midwest Tallgrass Prairie Region and aims to provide a model for similar efforts nationally and internationally.
Konza Prairie Long Term Ecological Research Network
The Konza Prairie Biological Station is part of the Long Term Ecological Research Network. From the website: "The Konza Prairie LTER Program is a comprehensive, interdisciplinary research program designed to provide an understanding of ecological processes in mesic grasslands, particularly tallgrass prairie, and contribute to conceptual and theoretical advances in the field of ecology.