Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Accounting Research Toolbox

Selected Resources for Illinois College of Business Accountancy Faculty and Students

How to Find Papers

The following resources below can be used to locate papers which may or may not be published in journals and to locate other avenues in getting your papers presented or published.

Illinois Working Papers

The Bureau of Economic and Business Research at the COB maintains an online list with links to full text of working papers of Illinois faculty (and their researchers) since 2000. Abstracts are supplied for WP published in the years 1995-1999.

Many of the papers from this time period and earlier are also available through the Bureau of Economic and Business Research Faculty Working Paper collection in the University of Illinois insitutional repository IDEALS. You can search this collection or browse by authors, contributors, subjects, titles, series, or date.

You can also search the Classic Online Catalog for papers before 1995 or to locate hard copies. Type the words "BEBR Faculty Working Paper" and select "Start of Title" in the Search By: box.

NBER Working Papers

Click above for online full-text access to NBER working papers.

Papers Invited

Papers Invited is a searchable database of calls for papers, posters and publications from professional bodies, universities, journal editors and other conference organizers. It is particularly rich in announcements of scientific meetings. 'Calls for papers' are classified by specific disciplines found within these broad classifications:

  • Generalities, Library Science & Journalism;
  • Philosophy, Religion and Mythology;
  • Psychology and Other Related Fields;
  • Geography and History;
  • Management and Related Areas;
  • Social Sciences;
  • Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering;
  • Human Biology, Medicine and Health Sciences;
  • Engineering and Technology;
  • Computers and Information Technology.

After registering, each user may elect to receive email notifications about events within specified disciplines or according to specific keywords. Other features include a personalized inbox and calendar. An advanced search option may be used to find events based on abstract deadline, event dates, locations, or keywords. The Student's Corner allows students to find conferences or publications that invite their participation as well as student volunteer opportunities.

Registration (free for UIUC affiliates) is required for individual users in order to receive the E-Newsletter informing you of periodic updates or the addition of calls for papers in specific areas of interest to you.

SSRN

Contains thousands of titles and abstracts of working papers. NBER working papers are also listed in the service and as Illinois has a subscription to NBER, it links directly to the paper.

Directions for signing up:

  • Click the SSRN link above
  • In the top bar of the homepage, click the Subscribe button
  • A new window will open. Click the "Subscribe/Unsubscribe to Journals" link near the bottom of the page
  • Type in your e-mail address where it says "New Members: Create a free SSRN User HQ membership" and click "Join SSRN"
  • Fill out your personal information and create a password
  • Login with your user name (your U of I Net ID) and the password you create

Now you can sign up for which sections/journals you wish to look at: Entrepreneurship, Legal, Economics, Accounting, Financial Economics, and Management.