Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Resources
These resources came from the University Library's Online Reference Collection. Please visit the portal for many more resources on biography, book reviews, dissertations, literary criticism, and much more!
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference offers over 160 fully searchable reference titles, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
Marquis Who's Who This link opens in a new window
Features over 1.3 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including government, business, science & technology, the arts, entertainment and sports. Biographical coverage including the following data elements: birth data, family, education and degree, career history, creative works, awards, military history, achievements, current memberships, interests/hobbies, and contact information.
Merriam-Webster Dictionary and Thesaurus
See Merriam-Webster Online for a good quick reference site from an authority in dictionary publishing.
New York Review of Books
Lengthy reviews from the well-respected print publication. The keyword-searchable archive covers 1983 to the present, but the full text of many articles is only accessible to subscribers.
NoveList This link opens in a new window
NoveList is an electronic readers' advisory resource which assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles from its database of over 135,000 works. It contains materials for all ages including picture books, children's "chapter" books, young adult titles and books for adult readers. Updated quarterly.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The definitive record of the English language. Chronological examples of usage make it especially good for researching the historical development of words.