Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National Academies Press
The National Academy Press (NAP) was created by the National Academies to publish the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. Some titles that may be of interest to animal scientists are those in the Nutrient Requirements of Domestic Animals Series. Some of the animals included in the series include but are not limited to beef cattle, dairy cattle, swine, sheep, and poultry.
Includes "The Biotechnology Directory", "The Biotechnology Guide", "Nature Biotechnology", and "Nature Publishing Group Reference".
National Center for Biotechnology Information Bookshelf
Contains a growing collection of biomedical books. The text of books on the bookshelf is searchable by entering search terms in the text box provided.
The Online Books Page
This Penn State page has links to over 200 online biological science books.
A to Z Databases
Search for databases alphabetically, by subject, type, or vendor.
Library catalog search for print and online course reserves.
Find books, journals, and more across our library and I-Share libraries. Suggested subject headings to search under: livestock, animal industry, laboratory animals, domestic animals.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Search for dissertations from the U.S. and Canada. Full-text available in PDF format for 1997- . Abstracts available from 1980.
UIUC IDEALS Digital Repository
IDEALS collects, disseminates, and provides persistent and reliable access to the research and scholarship of faculty, staff, and students at UIUC. All theses and dissertations deposited from Fall 2010 onward are available in IDEALS.