Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Animal Sciences: Major ANSC Databases

Resources for the Department of Animal Sciences

Article Databases

Agricola

Contains bibliographic records of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Areas covered include, but are not limited to animal science, aquatic science, fisheries, and feed science. PDF Guide available.


Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS)

The major database for life sciences. Provides citations and abstracts to articles in more than 6,000 research journals in the life sciences, including the fields of biochemistry, biology, botany, cell biology, medicine, microbiology, molecular biology, physiology, and zoology. PDF Guide available.


CAB Abstracts

Coverage includes but is not limited to all aspects of agriculture, veterinary, and animal science. It contains references from over 10,000 scholarly, professional, and commercial journals, and a limited number of book chapters, theses, proceedings and technical reports. PDF Guide available.


PubMed

PubMed is the free, online version of Medline, the National Library of Medicine (NLM)'s bibliographic database. It contains over 12 million references from 4,600 biomedical and life sciences journals published in the U.S. and 70 other countries. Subjects covered include but are not limited to all aspects of human and animal health (medicine). Basic and Advanced Guides available.


Scopus

Scopus is an abstracts and citations database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources. It indexes over 18,500 journals and includes a number of trade publications, book series, and conference proceedings. Scopus is interdisciplinary. In addition to life science publications, it covers physical sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and also includes some records from the arts and humanities. Basic and Advanced Guides available.


USDA/CRIS (Current Research Information System)

CRIS is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's (USDA) documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry.


Web of Science (Core Collection)

Provides the most current index to over 8000 of the world's leading scholarly research journals in all disciplines; includes abstracts. Updated weekly. Avail: 1982 - present. Includes a unique "cited reference" feature, to find articles that have cited a given article. Some of the disciplines covered include Agriculture, Veterinary Science, and Zoology. Basic and Advanced Guides available.

Statistical Databases

Agricultural Statistics

An annual publication from a collaboration of the National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) and the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) which serves as a reference work on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns. Sorted by year (1994-2012) and topic, including grain and feed, dairy and poultry statistics, and fertilizers and pesticides.


Bureau of Labor Statistics

The BLS is the primary fact-finding organization for the U.S. government for labor economics and statistics. Data is organized into four main categories: Prices, Employment and Unemployment, Compensation and Working Conditions, and Productivity. However, users can manually search through more refined subcategories or use a simple keyword search to find materials.


ProQuest Statistical Insight (Statistical Universe)

Access statistical information from U.S. Federal agencies, states, and private organizations, including nearly 1 million individually indexed tables.


USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System (ESMIS)

Includes over 2500 reports and datasets covering U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Created as a collaborative project between the Albert R. Mann Library at Cornell University and various agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture.