Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off Campus Access
As a student or faculty member of U of I you can access all of the library's databases, e-journals, and e-books from anywhere in the world. But, you need to first "prove" that you are affiliated with University of Illinois by either logging in with your NetID and password or by using a VPN (Virtual Private Networking).
These freely available resources aggregate user-generated reviews, as well as critics' reviews published in online sources. They are a good place to find reviews of recently released movies or to get a sense of popular opinion about a film. You can also find trailers, trivia, and forums discussing the film.
Film Review Databases
Below is a list of film databases the Library subscribes to, which cover broad range of years and subject matter. Many of these resources offer full-text reviews within the database, while others provide detailed citations for further research. Contact the Literatures and Languages Library for more assistance with your film research.
FIAF International Film Archive Database This link opens in a new window
The online version of the International Index to Film Periodicals is a comprehensive citation index to important film periodicals. It includes detailed citations for reviews, feature length articles on various topics, and biographical information about relevant figures.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
This database contains citations and full-text articles from periodicals covering the film and television industries and includes many film reviews.
Search Tips: To limit your search to film reviews, search for the movie title (in quotes) in the first box, type "MOTION pictures -- Reviews" in the second box and select "SU Subject" from the drop down menu.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Performing Arts Periodicals contains citations and full-text articles from over 100 periodicals that cover film and other performing arts.
Search Tips: To limit you results to film reviews, search for the film title (in quotes) and select "Reviews" from the Document Type menu. Performing Arts Periodicals allows you to limit to specific kinds of reviews, including Favorable reviews and Mixed reviews. To get the most complete results, select all relevant categories.
Film Reviews in Other Databases
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database contains citations and full-text film reviews across a number of fields. It is a good starting point for finding film reviews in core scholarly journals.
Search Tips: To limit your search to film reviews, search for the movie title (in quotes) in the first box, type "MOTION pictures -- Reviews" in the second box and select "SU Subject " from the drop down menu.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography indexes a broad range of humanities journals. In addition to the conventional film reviews, this database is likely to contain scholarly articles about a particular film.
Search Tips: select "MD Media" in the dropdown box to the right of the first search field, and use "film" as your search term. Then select "SU Subjects-All" in the second drop down menu and type the name of a film or director.