Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Use Print Sources?
Online sources are often easy to access and search. However, sometimes print resources offer better coverage for a specific information need. Here are just a few times when it is a good idea to use print resources.
- To find older materials: Coverage for online sources varies widely, but many databases only cover publications from the second half of the 20th century onwards.
- To find materials from other countries or about a narrowly defined research area.
- To examine how certain kinds of information have changed over time.
Using Print Sources
Print indexes and bibliographies can be arranged in a variety of ways. Indexes can be arranged chronologically, by subject, or alphabetically by author or title. This guide includes information about the arrangement of select resources in order to help with your search. The first few pages of any given resource will often include a few notes about the arrangement of entries and many entries can be cross-referenced using detailed indexes that allow you to search by author or title within the larger work.
These resources will provide you with detailed, accurate citations for published reviews that you can use to locate the full-text of the article. For instructions on how to to this, consult our guide on how to Find a Specific Article.
Film Review Sources in Print
Below is a list of print resources that include information about film reviews and other writing about film. While the majority just provide detailed citations, several resources include the full-text of the reviews. This list includes general publications that are good starting points for research. Contact the the Literatures and Languages Library for more assistance.
Film Literature Index
This thirty-two volume set indexes a variety of film literature, including reviews, from a broad range of periodicals, including international sources. Later volumes have a separate section for television/video programs. Each volume covers one year of publications.
Film Review Index by
Publication Date: 1986-07-01
This two-volume set contains citations for film reviews from newspapers and other popular periodicals from 1882 to 1985. It is an excellent source for reviews written when a film was first released. Additional indexes make it easy to identify films produced in a certain year or in a specific country.
The New York Times Film Reviews
Includes full-text reproductions of film reviews published in the New York Times. Additionally, reproductions of articles listing the best and award-winning films from the year are included after the reviews.
Variety Film Reviews (1907-1996)
This twenty-four volume set includes full-text reproductions of all film reviews printed in Variety magazine between 1907 and 1996.