Kichomi By Euphrase Kezilahabi 

Call number 896392K525

Year of publication: 1974

UIUC Library catalogue https://rb.gy/dvvxhx

Kichomi, a book (Diwani) published in 1974, is a collection of poems by the celebrated Tanzanian poet Euphrase Kezilahabi. These poems offer a unique window into the thoughts of a new, educated generation at the time. They present a young man's perspective, deeply influenced by the era's political, educational, societal, and religious currents. The poem titles in the book, such as Jinamizi, Upepo wa Wakati, wimbo wa mlevi, and others, invite the reader to delve deeper into this intriguing perspective.

Matunda ya Azimio : Mashairi ya Mwamko wa siasa  edited by L.N Honero, T.Y Sengo and S.Y Ngole

Call number 896.392 M437

Year of Publication 1980

UIUC LIbrary Catalogue https://rb.gy/y0shhx

Matunda ya Azimio is a collection of poems, each a unique celebration of the tenth anniversary of Tanzania's Azimio la Arusha and the birth of Chama cha mapinduzi(CCM). In their distinct ways, the authors touch on various aspects of Azimio la Arusha, offering a glimpse into the daily life of an average Tanzanian citizen. The collection is a rich tapestry of fifty poems, each with a distinct voice, using a variety of styles to convey their message. Some of the major themes in the poems include socialism( Ujamaa), equity(usawa), and peace and Security. Some of the poets featured in this collection include Isdore B.Y. Mbalazi, R.A Mwanahewa, and Matei Herman, among others.

Ndimi zenye Ncha, edited by Dr. Omar Salum Mohamed 

ISBN 978-9976-59-690-8

Year of Publication: 2020

UIUC Library Catalogue: https://bit.ly/3XjZC3C

Ndimi Zenye Ncha is a collection of poems from several celebrated authors in Zanzibar, Pemba, Dar-es-salaam, and Arusha. Dr. Omar Salum Mohamed collected and edited these poems into this publication. The book has 119 poems with diverse language, style, and themes. This collection focuses on diverse communities that have different life experiences and challenges. The most unique feature of this collection is the use rich use of language and Swahili vocabulary. This has enabled the poets to uniquely pass their intended messages to the community. Leadership, family, and education are some of the dominating themes in the collection. Renowned poets whose works have been covered in the collection include Mohamed Khelef Ghassani, Omar Kombo Omar, and Bashiru Abdalla Kabezi. 

Mashairi yenye Nuru, edited by Jeremiah Elinaza Sendoro 

ISBN 978-9976-5294-1-8

Year of Publication: 2018

UIUC Library Catalogue: https://bit.ly/4aZlVih

Mashairi yenye Nuru is a collection of religious poems authored by Jeremiah Elinaza Sendoro. The poems derive their messages and themes from the Bible and speak about a person's spiritual life. The various religious themes in the collection of poems address themes of Charity, kindness, Death, and life.

 Diwani ya karne Mpya by Ken Walibora 

ISBN 9966 47 289 4

year of Publication 2007 

UIUC Library catalogue https://rb.gy/y9ytof

Diwani ya Karne Mpya, a collection of poems, is a testament to Ken Walibora's meticulous curation. He has brought together the works of both old and new poets in East Africa, covering 18 poems that span a wide range of themes and styles. This collection covers many themes related to the poets' environments. Some famous, celebrated poets covered in the collection include Ken Walibora, Said A Mohammed, Timothy Arege, Ahmed Darwesh, Paul Nabiswa, and Shabaan bin Robert.

Mvumo wa Helikopta by Kithaka wa Mberia 

ISBN 978-9966-40-9

year of publication: 2020 

UIUC Library catalogue https://rb.gy/16biwa

Mvumo wa Helikopta, a collection of poems by Kithaka wa Mberia, is a timely exploration of the political landscape in Kenya. As a prolific Swahili writer, Wa Mberia's works, including Kifo Kisimani, have always reflected the society he lives in. In this collection, he addresses the current challenges faced by the political leadership in Kenya, making it a must-read for those interested in Kenyan politics.

Nakuomba  by HRT Muzale 

ISBN 978 9987 27 2

Year of Publication 2009

UIUC Library Catalogue https://rb.gy/y0shhx

Nakuomba is a collection of Swahili poems by different authors covering diverse themes. Some of the major themes covered in the collection include Love(Mapenzi), patience(Uvumilivu), Religion and faith(Imani), and gender(Jinsia). The collection aims to help people read, discuss, and criticize themes in their daily lives. The poems are also meant to help young people be aware of the things happening in their surroundings. 

Waja Leo edited by Ken Walibora

ISBN 978 019 573561 1

Year of Publication 2012

UIUC Library Catalogue https://bit.ly/4bVBqsJ

'Waja Leo' is a collection of poems by twelve authors, edited by the esteemed Ken Walibora. Known for his insightful editing and a keen eye for diverse perspectives, Walibora has curated a collection that reflects the rich tapestry of human experiences. The poets in this collection hail from various backgrounds, with some writing their verses from East Africa, i.e., Kenya and Tanzania, and others from abroad. Notable contributors to this collection include Hassan Muchai, Ludovick Mbogholi, Emily Ondeko, and Jamal Mutua. The poems in this collection cover a wide range of themes, from leadership and day-to-day life to human experiences and hope, offering a diverse and thought-provoking read. 

Diwani ya Msikicho by Barrack Wandera

ISBN 978-1546694816

Year of Publication 2019 

UIUC Library Catalogue: https://bit.ly/3RqhdDt

Diwani ya Msikicho is a collection of poems authored by Barrack Wandera, a renowned teacher of English. This collection is unique because many of the poems were written by Barrack during high school.  The topics and themes covered in the collection are not just abstract musings but reflect the real-life experiences in Kenya, making them highly relevant to the society. The poems use diverse styles and language to convey the intended message. The poems aim to educate and warn the community against social evils and injustices, underlining the urgency and importance of the issues.

Utenzi wa Vita vya Maji Maji edited by Shani A. Kitogo and Mugyabuso M. Mulokozi. 

ISBN 9987 442 04 8 

year of Publication: 2006

UIUC Library Catalogue: https://bit.ly/4efHHkR

Utenzi wa Vita via Maji Maji is a collection of poems that delve into the historical significance of the Maji Maji War, a pivotal event in Tanzania's history during the struggle for independence. These poems were originally written by Abdul Karim Bin Jamaliddin.  This war, which began in 1905 and ended in 1907, took place in the south of Tanzania, from Dar es Salaam to Morogoro, Lindi, Mtwara, and Ruvuma. It is estimated that about 120,000 people from Tanzania lost their lives in this significant chapter of our history. This collection of poems, edited by Shani A. Kitogo and Mugyabuso M. Mulokozi, does a considerable job of documenting this history through poetry to keep this history alive for generations to come.

Tunu ya Ushairi, edited by Timothy Arege

   ISBN 978 019 5739

year of Publication 2013

UIUC Library Catalogue https://rb.gy/o69w21

Tunu ya ushairi is a collection of diverse poems edited by Timothy Arege. It encompasses many themes and styles, from the traditional to the contemporary, offering a rich and engaging reading experience. Some of the themes covered in the poems in this collection include corruption, Environment, Love and marriage, and patriotism. The collection also features poets such as Timothy Arege, Mwalaa Mranga Nyanje, Joseph Kiponda, and others.

Bara Jingine by Kithaka Wa Mberia 

ISBN 9966-9922-2-0

Year of Publication, 2001 

UIUC Library catalogue https://rb.gy/v4oktl

Bara Jingine is a collection of poems by Kithaka Wa Mberia, a significant portion of which were penned during the transformative decades of the 1980s and '90s. These poems, many of which have been recited and acted in the Kenya National Theatre and various universities and colleges, offer a unique perspective on the times they were written in. The poems address diverse themes of leadership on the continent.

Diwani ya Maombolezo edited by Samwilu Mwaffisi

ISBN: 978-9987-03-131-3

Year of Publication: 2021

UIUC Library Catalogue:https://bit.ly/4ciMSOS 

Diwani ya Maombolezo ya Mwalimu Nyerere is a deeply moving collection of poems, each a heartfelt tribute to Mwalimu Julius Nyerere, a beloved president in Tanzania. When Nyerere passed away, the nation mourned in the rich African tradition, finding solace and expression in poetry. This anthology, lovingly curated by Dr. Maurice Samwilu Mwaffisi, serves as a poignant reminder of the profound impact of Nyerere's leadership and his enduring legacy in Tanzania.

Jicho la Ndani by Said A Mohammed. 

ISBN: 9966 49 752 8

Year of Publication: 2002

UIUC Library Catalogue: https://bit.ly/3XnKi6a

Jicho la Ndani, a collection of poems by the esteemed Swahili author and scholar Said A. Mohamed, is a testament to his literary prowess. With a rich repertoire that includes Swahili novels( riwaya), plays(Tamthilia), and short stories(Hadithi fupi), Mohamed's work is a treasure trove for those seeking a deeper understanding of Swahili literature and African authors. Jicho la ndani, loosely translated as the inner eye, takes a unique approach in delving into self-reflection and self-introspection as a citizen in Tanzania, addressing themes of citizenship and patriotism. The poems use diverse styles and themes to deliver the intended message. 

Tasnia ya Ushairi edited by Timothy Omusikoyo Sumba, Dkt. Beverlyne Asiko Ambuyo and Nayara Alfred Lobawoi

ISBN: 979-8748-670-07-4

Year of Publication: 2021

UIUC Library Catalogue: https://bit.ly/4bVEXr6

Tasnia ya ushairi is a diverse collection of poems from several authors, each with a unique style and perspective. Edited by Sumba and others, these poems are aimed at helping high school and university students learn and appreciate poetry. Many of the authors are emerging Swahili poetry authors who have demonstrated a rich use of the Swahili language through their diverse styles and themes. The poems address many of the emerging issues and education in general drawing a picture of the reality of the societal problems. The poets are drawn from different countries: Kenya, Tanzania, and Lebanon. Some featured poets in the collection include Lilian Alvidsa, Bintul Zainabu, Mary Wanjiku, and Mercy Boyce among many others.