Data and Statistics
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)
"AHRQ’s HCUP is the nation's most comprehensive source of hospital care data, including information on inpatient stays, emergency department visits, and ambulatory surgery and service encounters, beginning in 1988. HCUP enables researchers, insurers, policymakers, and others to study healthcare delivery and patient outcomes over time, and at the national, regional, state, and community levels."
CDC - Surveys and Data Collection Systems
"The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) surveys people and healthcare providers to collect data about health and health care in the United States."
Provides data from multiple surveys, including information about the population and healthcare providers.
World Health Organization - Global Health Directory
Provides information and publications on a variety of health topics.
"Download publicly available data from The Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care. We offer access to decades worth of Medicare data, as well as supplemental materials including crosswalks and geographic boundary files."
This database is no longer being updated as of 2024 but the documents and data remain available.
American Hospital Association - Fast Facts on US Hospitals
Provides facts, data, and infographics on hospitals, hospital beds, and more.
National Center for Health Workforce Analysis (NCHWA) Health Workforce Analysis
"The National Center for Health Workforce Analysis (NCHWA) develops research reports that focus on issues affecting the U.S. health workforce."
"The American Hospital Directory® provides data, statistics, and analytics about more than 7,000 hospitals nationwide. AHD.com® hospital information includes both public and private sources such as Medicare claims data, hospital cost reports, and commercial licensors. AHD® is not affiliated with the American Hospital Association (AHA) and is not a source for AHA Data. Our data are evidence-based and derived from the most definitive sources."
Need More Help?
Grainger Engineering Library Information Center's STEM Entrepreneurship & Business Services can assist you in getting started with these and other resources. If you have any questions, please e-mail bis@library.illinois.edu.
