General Tools and Databases
This section covers tools and databases that cover resistance movements in general. For resources pertaining to more specific movements, please see the "Resources by Movement" tab.
Newspapers and News Databases
Be sure to check the HPNL Library Newspaper Database for access to specific newspapers. You should also consult the guide on Finding Current News or the guide on Historical Newspapers depending on your news needs.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowAccess World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text articles for over 210 publications of the alternative and independent presses, from 1970 to current.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowIncluded are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires and newspaper columns, as well as TV and radio news transcripts. Provides cover-to-cover full text for over 20 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc. Also contains selected full text from more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, The New York Daily News, The San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, and more.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowA four-year project to digitize over one million pages from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries spanning the 1960's to the 1980's. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press
Websites
- Social Movements and CultureSocial Movements and Culture is a gateway to all sorts of information on contemporary social movements ranging from Globalization to Gay/Les/Bi/Queer movements. It includes links to activist organization websites, as well as online articles, bibliographies, course syllabi, and glossary of theoretical approaches to understanding social movements. Hosted by the American Studies Department at Washington State University at Pullman.
- Radical in ProgressTo be a radical–to be an activist fighting for policy change and social justice–is to be a work in progress. It means being on a life-long journey of self-education; learning more about systems of oppression, how you carry them with you, and the strategies to push for policies that promote social justice.
But knowing where to start on your journey of self-education can be difficult. The abundance of information can be overwhelming, and our time to self-educate limited. Additionally, many activists – especially young and impressionable activists – have turned to social media platforms like Instagram and TikTok for information, theory, and modes of practice. Unfortunately, many are unreliably sourced, present opinion as fact, and can grossly oversimplify complicated situations. Knowing where to start and how to navigate the abundance of information is a challenge. That’s where Radical in Progress comes in.
Other Library Resources
This guide refers primarily to selected sources of descriptive datasets and statistical sources in the fields of social sciences, health, and education and areas within the social sciences, such as crime, population and demography, and arms control.
Guide to researching roles for the Reacting to the Past module on American Revolution, women's suffrage, labor rights, Greenwich Village ca. 1913, and the Chicago Democratic National Convention protests in 1968.
Guide to researching roles for the Reacting to the Past games on the Chicago Democratic National Convention protests in 1968, and the Watergate scandal.
- Music, Politics, and the Public Sphere (Class): Course ReadingsThis guide is a syllabus for another course, but it is a great source for books on music and its role in social movements.
Databases
- Revolution and Protest Online This link opens in a new windowRevolution and Protest Online provides comprehensive, comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of political processes through the lens of revolutions, protests, resistance and social movements. This collection examines the most studied and important events and themes related to revolution and protest from the 18th century through the 21st century. This collection includes video, images, and printed materials like personal papers, organizational and government documents, journals, books, reports, videos, monographs, and speeches.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowProvides information on social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowThe PAIS Archive includes carefully selected resources to help users identify and locate information about significant political, economic, social and cultural issues affecting international and local communities, countries, governments and society. Its broad topical scope and retrospective coverage complement more specialized databases that cover the humanities, health care, agriculture, sociology, history, and many other disciplines, providing historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies. Also, the PAIS Archive database contains references to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics, and the original historical subject headings have been retained within the file for enhanced searching capabilities.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides citations from 1952 to the present to journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Major areas of coverage include culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organizations; mass phenomena and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business, education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; women's studies.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Women's Studies International in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Provides citations and some abstracts to the core areas of Women's studies. Includes material from Women studies abstracts (1984-present), Women's studies bibliography database, Women's studies database (1972-present), New books on women and feminism (1987-present), Women of color and southern women (1975-present), The history of women and science, health, and technology: a bibliographic guide to the professions and disciplines (1970-1995), Women's health and development: an annotated bibliography (1995), Women, race, and ethnicity: a bibliography (1970-1990), WAVE: Women's audiovisuals in English: a guide to nonprint resources in women's studies (1985-1990) and the MEDLINE subset on women (1964-2000). Covers journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites and grey literature.
- Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide. The collection takes a case study approach, providing primary and secondary materials for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than 30 additional subjects. This database provides access to books, primary documents, audio, maps, images, and video.