Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Frozen Conflicts in Eurasia. Summer Research Laboratory Workshop: Databases

This guide is intended for the Frozen Conflicts in Eurasia workshop moderators and participants only. It is not a comprehensive guide to frozen conflicts in Eurasia.

Russian National Bibliography Database

EastView Russian National Bibliography: contains all 8 of the Russian National Bibliographic Publications, some retrospective to 1994

Newspapers of the North Caucasus, Abkhazia and South Ossetia


Newspapers of the North Caucasus, Abkhazia and South Ossetia
Covers 19 newspapers from the North Caucasus, one of the most volatile areas of Russia and the Former USSR. Includes the two disputed breakaway territories of Abkhazia and South Ossetia.

Russian Social Science & Humanities Journals Database

EastView Russian Social Science & Humanities Journals: 75 journals of the Russian Academy of Science on a variety of scholarly topics

Ukrainian Publications

Ukrainian Publications

The world's first database of newspapers and magazines of Ukraine (UDB-UKR) includes publications in Russian, Ukrainian, and English. They cover a broad range of political, economic, and cultural affairs of Ukraine. Topics include Ukraine's progress along the reform path, the view and positions of various political forces, changes in legislation, ethnic relations, and organizational trends in development of the armed forces. The database also includes news wire reports and other products of Ukrainian news agencies. An integral and unique part of this database is the Ukrainian Book Chamber's editions, which list everything published in Ukraine with detailed bibliographic description.

ABSEES

Publisher description: American Bibliography of Slavic & Eastern European Studies (ABSEES), produced by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Some of the many subjects covered include: anthropology, culture & the arts, economics, education, and geography. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada. Coverage for ABSEES ranges from 1989-present.

Central and East European Online Library (CEEOL)

 
 

The website Central and East European Online Library (CEEOL) is an online archive which provides access to scholarly journals and electronic books pertaining to Central and Eastern European topics. The site claims its history is rooted in the annual book fairs of Frankfurt am Main. It was developed by the Frankfurt cultural center Palais Jalta, and its related company Questasoft. Site content is provided by publishers and editors who are based in Central Europe, or by those based outside the region who deal with Eastern European histories; languages; literatures; and cultural, social and political themes related to the study of this area.

INION - Институт научной информации по общественн�...

INION

 1.  Public View -

INION catalogues (РОССИЙКАЯ АКАДЕМИЯ НАУК ИНСТИТУТ НАУЧНОЙ ИНФОРМАЦИИ ПО ОБЩЕСТВЕННЫМ НАУКАМ]. (Coverage: Early 1980s --), which contains approximately ~13.5 million records for materials in the social sciences. The institute's databases provide abstracts, keywords, subject headings, and author-title information for social sciences publications (approximately 140 languages). Researchers can freely access and search the institute's databases.  

Inion_description_image

2.  UIUC Electronic Resource (subscription based):

INION Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies - Identifies material in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe. Coverage includes books, manuscripts, dissertations, and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals. Author-title information is given in the original language of publication; abstracts and keywords are in Russian; subject headings are in both Russian and English.  Note: This database combines all the catalogues  listed in the public platform.  Researchers can view citations for articles, monographs, etc., in a single search. 

ISI Emerging Markets

Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS)

Formerly known as ISI Emerging Markets. Multilingual collection of news and information sources about the emerging markets of selected countries in Latin America, Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and North Africa. Includes full-text primary news sources, financial data, statistics, and legal information.

 

Ukrainian National Bibliography

Ukrainian National Bibliography
Subject
Bibliography, National -- Ukraine
Bibliography, National
Ukrainian literature
Ukraine
Article indexes
Bibliographies
Periodicals
Genre
Imprints
Bibliography
Periodicals.
Description
The Ukrainian National Bibliography is useful source (index) for identifying materials published in the Republic of Ukraine. Formats include books, journals, newspapers, theses and dissertations, reviews, maps, music, works of art, and periodicals from the Ukrainian Book Chamber.

 

Letopis Zhurnal'nykh Statei online (1956-1975)

The Indiana University Digital Library Program presents Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei, a digitized serial publication that indexes Soviet-era periodicals from 1956 to 1975.

The paper version, in publication since 1926, covers more than 1,700 journals, series, and continuing publications of academies, universities, and research institutes in the fields of humanities, natural sciences, and the social sciences, and it also covers the popular periodical literature.

Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei provides access to the periodical literature of an essential time in modern Russian history, beginning with the period of the Khrushchev "Thaw" following the 20th CPSU Congress and continuing through the first half of the so-called Brezhnev "Period of Stagnation". Virtually any student or scholar studying Russian political science, literature, or history between 1956-1975 will find Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei to be an invaluable resource.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts:

Publisher description:

Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The database is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. Over 1,700+ titles are being monitored for coverage; of these, 67% are published outside the United States.

 

 

 

  • Comparative politics
  • Developing nations
  • Disarmament
  • Economic policy
  • Electoral systems
  • Environmental policy
  • Government/Political systems
  • History and theory of political science
  • International relations/trade
  • Labor relations
  • Military policy
  • Methodology and research technology
  • Political behavior
  • Political economy
  • Political psychology
  • Politics and law
  • Politics and communication
  • Politics and religion
  • Politics and society
  • Public administration
  • Security and defense
  • Welfare systems

 

 

Donetsk and Luhansk Newspaper Collection

Donetsk and Luhansk Newspaper Collection

This database incorporates 10 rare newspapers from the self-proclaimed Donetsk and Luhansk (Lugansk, in local spelling) regions of Ukraine. Both Donetsk People's Republic and Lugansk People's Republic were established as independent state entities after local referendums conducted in May 2014 and organized by the separatists leaders. Although the results of the referenda have not been recognized neither by Ukraine, the EU or the United States, its direct result led to an all out war between the Ukrainian military and pro-Russian separatists resulting in thousands of deaths from both sides.