LibGuides: Dementia: Academic Resources

Journals

Alzheimer’s & Dementia: Diagnosis, Assessment & Disease Monitoring (DADM)
Alzheimer’s & Dementia: Diagnosis, Assessment & Disease Monitoring (DADM) is an open access journal that concentrates on the discovery, development, and validation of assays, instruments, and technologies with the potential to facilitate accurate detection of dementia in its various forms and stages.
Dementia and Geriatric Cognitive Disorders
As a unique forum devoted exclusively to the study of cognitive dysfunction, Dementia and Geriatric Cognitive Disorders concentrates on Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s disease, Huntington’s chorea and other neurodegenerative diseases. The journal draws from diverse related research disciplines such as psychogeriatrics, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, morphology, etc.
Dementia and Neurocognitive Disorders
The Dementia and Neurocognitive Disorders (DND) is the official journal of the Korean Dementia Association and is published quarterly. DND contains manuscripts pertaining to clinical and transnational investigations of dementia and neurocognitive disorders that will allow clinician or researcher for dementia or neurocognitive disorders to enrich their knowledge of patient management, education, and clinical or experimental research.
Neurology
Neurology is the official journal of the American Academy of Neurology. It is peer-reviewed and publishes research on neurology that seeks to improve patient care, education, clinical research and professionalism.

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Academic Search Ultimate in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Alternate Access Link
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=asn
AgeLine This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: AgeLine in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). AgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. AgeLine is the premier source for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. AgeLine also includes information for professionals working in aging-related fields and for consumers. Original abstracts are generated for every citation, with index terms drawn from AgeLine's Thesaurus of Aging Terminology. AgeLine indexes over 200 journals, books, book chapters, and reports. Designed for researchers, professionals, students, and general consumers, this database addresses aging issues from individual, national, and global perspectives.
Alternate Access Link
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: CINAHL in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). CINAHL provides indexing for close to 3000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for most of the indexed journals are also included. Full text material includes many journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Alternate Access Link
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycInfo {reg} provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

A-Z Databases
Find the best library databases for your research. Filter by subject and content type.

Statistics

Check out our "Finding Statistics" guide for more information on finding statistics from multiple areas of study:

Finding Statistics
by Teaching, Learning, and Academic Support Library Last Updated Dec 4, 2024 459 views this year

National Center for Health Statistics
Provides a variety of health statistics and surveys. The information on this website is free and they also publish the National Vital Statistics Report.

Searching Tips

Here are some ways to use keywords in a more complex search:

- By using the word AND to combine keywords databases will yield a narrower and more specific set of results, since AND tells the database to retrieve articles that have both keywords in them.

- By using the word OR to combine keywords databases will yield a broader and more comprehensive set of results, since OR tells the database to retrieve articles that have either one of the keywords in them (rather than both).

Examples:

Dementia OR "Alzheimer's Disease"
Dementia AND Women
Dementia AND Carers OR Caregivers