Dementia Friendly America (DFA) is a national network of collaborative communities, organizations and individuals committed to supporting people who live with dementia. DFA was launched by the National Association of Area Agencies on Aging and hopes to foster more informed and dementia friendly communities. Resources comprise advocacy tools, including a community toolkit that outlines specific steps on how communities can become more dementia friendly. DFA also maintains an excellent directory of supportive organizations in a variety of sectors, such as arts and cultural activities, disaster planning, libraries, housing, transportation, and much more.

The American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) is a medical society devoted to primary care and is comprised of 129,000 physicians and medical students worldwide. This webpage provides a basic overview of dementia, as well as a list of questions to ask a doctor about the condition.

The American Clinical Neurophysiology Society (ACNS) is a major professional organization in the United States that contributes to establishing and maintaining standards of professional excellence in clinical neurophysiology. This website contains information about their membership, meetings, education, practice, research, publications, and advocacy.

The American Academy of Neurology, the world’s largest association of neurologists and neuroscience professionals, publishes Brain & Life, a free patient-education magazine that focuses on neurology and everyday living. Monthly magazine issues can be read online with a wide gamut of neurology-related topics. An A-Z disorder list provides more specific overviews of neurological conditions and related magazine articles.

Bright Focus Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to funding scientific research to defeat several conditions, including Alzheimer’s disease. The site provides a disease toolkit for Alzheimer’s, which includes resources for understanding the disease, tips for keeping a healthy mind, resources for managing and living with the disease and tools for caregivers. Bright Focus also features the latest articles on important breakthroughs in Alzheimer’s research.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is the leading national public health institute of the United States and is a federal agency under the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). This webpage is a comprehensive introduction to Alzheimer’s disease and contains several resources organized by type, including a basic overview of the condition, data and statistics, advocacy for brain health and resources, including journal articles.

Leading Age is a non-profit organization focused on education, advocacy and applied research of ageing-related conditions. A practical site, Leading Age provides a searchable database of aging services, including assisted living, nursing care and home meal delivery.

The National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) is a part of the U.S. National Institutes of Health that performs and funds research for neurological disorders. This webpage provides information about what research is being done on dementia, as well as information about treatment, diagnosis, prognosis, and clinical trials. This resource also has a compilation of patient organizations and publications to consult for more information. Researchers looking for more specific information can find pages on variations of dementia, including lewy body dementia and semantic dementia.

"ALZConnected is a free online community designed for people living with dementia and those who care for them. Members can post questions about dementia-related issues, offer support, and create public and private groups around specific topics."
- from the website