LibGuides: Crohn's Disease: Academic Resources

Journals

Gut
Leading international peer-reviewed medical journal about gastroenterology. With an easily navigable interface, the journal has thousands of articles about Crohn’s and Inflammatory Bowel Disease with the most current research.
Inflammatory Bowel Diseases
Monthly peer-reviewed medical journal on inflammatory bowel disease published through the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation. Articles focus on the most current IBD scientific research.
Journal of Crohn's and Colitis
Peer-reviewed medical journal on inflammatory bowel disease published through the Oxford University Press by the European Crohn’s and Colitis Organisation. The journal publishes monthly issues centered on the most current IBD research.
Seminars in Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Intended to familiarize gastroenterologists & primary care physicians with the presentations, courses, complications, & management of ulcerative colitis & Crohn’s disease.

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
(Academic Search Ultimate classic*) A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. *(best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches)
Alternate Access Link
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=asn
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: CINAHL in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). CINAHL provides indexing for close to 3000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for most of the indexed journals are also included. Full text material includes many journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Alternate Access Link
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

A-Z Databases
Find the best library databases for your research. Filter by subject and content type.

Statistics

Check out our "Finding Statistics" guide for more information on finding statistics from multiple areas of study:

Finding Statistics
by Teaching, Learning, and Academic Support Library Last Updated Dec 4, 2024 138 views this year

National Center for Health Statistics
Provides a variety of health statistics and surveys. The information on this website is free and they also publish the National Vital Statistics Report.

Searching Tips

Here are some ways to use keywords in a more complex search:

- By using the word AND to combine keywords databases will yield a narrower and more specific set of results, since AND tells the database to retrieve articles that have both keywords in them.

- By using the word OR to combine keywords databases will yield a broader and more comprehensive set of results, since OR tells the database to retrieve articles that have either one of the keywords in them (rather than both).

Examples:

Crohn's OR Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Crohn's AND Women
Crohn's AND Teens OR Children