These are databases which primarily contain citation information for articles, books, and other resources related to a certain subject. Sometimes, they also provide links to the full-text of cited items if it is available in a connected database.
Other Useful Guides
- Advanced Research at the Library - Citation ChasingDefines and decribes citation chasing.
Databases
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Anthropology Plus in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Index Islamicus in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.
Usage
For usage information, see the guide to EBSCO's search engine on the "Full Text Databases" section of this LibGuide.
- African Women's Bibliographic Database This link opens in a new window
- Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature This link opens in a new window
AfricaBib is a multi-collection databse which offers cataloging of African writing across a number of genres, formats, and time periods. It is the most extensive Africa-focused bibliographic database available to UIUC. UIUC has access to AfricaBib through multiple different collections, which are linked above.
Usage
To access AfricaBib's search function, click the link titled "To search the database click here".
Booleans:
Boolean searching is not supported on AfricaBib. All search terms separated by whitespaced are searched additively. In other words, each term is connected by an implied "AND" - all search terms must match for a result to appear.
Wildcards:
AfricaBib only supports the * wildcard, indicating zero or more unknown characters. Wildcards within quoted phrases are read literally and have no subtitution effect.
Quoting:
Quoted phrases are treated as a single search term, regardless of internal whitespace. An asterisk * inside a quoted term is read literally as an asterisk instead of a wildcard.
Further Notes:
- There are two different search forms available, the default search form and the extendes search form. To access the extended search form, first go to the default search form,then click "Extended search form" in the upper right corner.
- More information about how to use AfricaBib's search engine is available on AfricaBib's "Frequently Asked Questions" page