It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
This guide provides suggested resources for researching the history of contagion in Europe. You will find recommended books held by the UIUC Library, relevant research databases, links to organizations and digitized primary sources, and more. Please also check back soon for resources on the impact of additional communicable diseases such as smallpox, HIV/AIDS, and others.
This guide does not have current information on the COVID-19 pandemic. For up-to-date information, please visit COVID-19 pages from the University, the State of Illinois, the CDC, or the WHO.
Early European Books contains works printed in Europe before 1701, drawing together a diverse array of printed sources, regardless of language, as well as works published further afield. This resource offers full-color, high-resolution facsimile images of some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books in Europe.
Gale Primary Sources cross-search interface provides access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. It contains a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more.
This database provides access to the: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspaper Collection, 19th Century UK Periodicals, American Historical Periodicals, Archives Unbound, Associated Press Collections Online, Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture, British Library Newspapers, Daily Mail Historical Archive (1896-2004), Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Financial Times Historical Archive, Indigenous Peoples: North America, International Herald Tribune Historical Archive (1887-2013), Liberty Magazine Historical Archive (1924-1950), 19th Century Collections Online, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Picture Post Historical Archive, Punch Historical Archive (1841-1992), Sabin Americana (1500-1926), Smithsonian Collections Online, The Economist Historical Archive, The Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003), The Independent Digital Archive, The Listener Historical Archive (1929-1991), The Making of Modern Law (multiple), The Making of the Modern World, The Sunday Times Digital Archive (1822-2006), The Telegraph Historical Archive (1855-2000), The Times Digital Archive, The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (1902-2013), U.S. Declassified Documents Online and U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs (1832-1978).
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper
Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1835 brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French and American Revolutions; colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, reviews of literature, the theater, and fashion throughout Europe; the origins and rise of Romanticism; political debates; gender, religion, influence of the press, and coffee house gossip and discussion.
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
World Newspaper Archive chronicles the history and politics of diverse peoples and cultures during the 19th and early 20th centuries. This expanding online resource was created in partnership between Readex, a division of NewsBank, and the Center for Research Libraries (CRL)-one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories-and includes historical newspapers published in Africa, Latin America, Slavic and East Europe, South Asia and other regions.
Global in scope, coverage includes agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, plant sciences, mycology and parasitology, food science, human health and nutrition. CAB Abstracts offers extensive coverage of journal and nonjournal literature from around the world including annual reports, general reports, books, conference proceedings, field notes and more. Over 7 million records with coverage dating back to 1973. Includes over 170,000 full-text journal articles and indexing for over 10,000 academic journals, books, conference proceedings and reports.
Health and Society in Video defines and explores today's latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society. This resource includes documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews
History of Science, Technology and Medicine reflects the influences these fields have had on society and culture throughout time, from prehistory to the present. Updated on a monthly basis, this essential database includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides citations from 1952 to the present to journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Major areas of coverage include culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organizations; mass phenomena and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business, education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; women's studies.
The resource tells the story of medical advances during warfare from the mid-nineteenth century to the outbreak of the influenza epidemic in 1918 and the discovery of penicillin in 1927. The wealth of documents cover multiple conflicts as well as interwar developments from a range of perspectives.
Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover the evidence of how war shaped medical practice across the centuries.
A comprehensive video subscription spanning a wide range of topics such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. AVON includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage.
Searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
Digitized primary sources from around the world, made available through a partnership between the Library of Congress, UNESCO, and various cultural institutions. Includes materials in multiple languages.