LibGuides: Turkish Studies: Statistics, Digital Collections, and Additional Resources

Podcasts & Blogs

Keyman Modern Turkish Studies Program Podcast
"Conversations with scholars of contemporary Turkey about their academic work and its social and political implications."
Ottoman History Podcast
Covers the Ottoman Empire,, the modern Middle East, and the Islamic World.
TURKEYSource
Analysis and insights from the Atlantic Council in Turkey.

Turkey - OECD Data
Turkish Statistical Institute
Turkish government agency for statistics.
Historical Sources for Turkish Statistics
Compiled by the International & Area Studies Library.

Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS) This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as ISI Emerging Markets. Multilingual collection of news and information sources about the emerging markets of selected countries in Latin America, Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and North Africa. Includes full-text primary news sources, financial data, statistics, and legal information. U of I users may click the "Go" button under Guest Access to start using the database, OR register a personal account for a more customized experience.

Abdul-Hamid II Collection
Books and serials gifted to the LOC by Sultan Abdul-Hamid II in 1884.
Middle East/North Africa Government Institutions Web Archive
Core collection includes Turkish government/Turkish language websites.
Political Islam Web Archive
A collection of websites from Islamic political parties and political Islamist organizations from several countries including Turkey (March 2013 - May 2015).
Koç University Digital Collections
Includes photographs, video, newspapers, maps, manuscripts, and more.
Millî Kütüphane (National Library of Turkey)
Digital collections from the National Library of Turkey/Millî Kütüphane.
Jacob M. Landau Collection
Contains both primary and secondary source material on the late Ottoman Empire and modern Turkey. Provides link to digitized titles.

Turkish Studies Symposium
A yearly event held by the European Union Center at UIUC.
Turkish Culture and Events
Turkish language and cultural events from the Department of Linguistics.
Center for South Asian & Middle Eastern Studies
Promotes teaching and learning for faculty and students involved in South Asian & Middle Eastern Studies through study abroad programs, grant funding, educational events, etc. as well as an undergraduate minor and MA program.