About this Page
This page offers a selection of texts, journals, and databases about Turkey (and the Ottoman Empire) available through UIUC or open access on the web.
Introductory & Broad-Coverage Texts
These books are a small sample of texts related to Turkey and the Ottoman Empire available at UIUC. To search for additional titles, including more specialized topics, please visit the Library Catalog.
Please hover over book titles for descriptions.
Encyclopedia of the Ottoman Empire by Call Number: Q. 956.01503 En192ISBN: 9780816062591Publication Date: 2008-12-01
Eternal Dawn by Call Number: DR590 .G56 2019; also available onlineISBN: 0198791216Publication Date: 2020-01-07
Patterns of Nationhood and Saving the State in Turkey by Call Number: DR434 .A44 2019ISBN: 9781138354142Publication Date: 2019-02-04
Turkey and the Politics of National Identity by Call Number: DR603 .T87 2014ISBN: 9781780765396Publication Date: 2014-11-26
Databases
- Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new windowThis collection of text, images, and videos explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others.
- Confidential Print: Middle East This link opens in a new windowThe collection covers Middle Eastern history from 1839-1969; countries included are: Afghanistan, Egypt, Sudan, Persia, Suez Canal, Turkey, Jordan, Arabia, Iraq, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, and Syria. The series originated out of a need for the British Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Some of these were one page letters or telegrams -- others were large volumes or texts of treaties. All items marked 'Confidential Print' were circulated to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.
- Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowThe Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies are multidisciplinary bibliographies of Europe, North Africa and the Near East (300-1500), founded in 1967 with the aim of providing a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. The bibliographies comprise 365,000 articles, all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location, and provide full bibliographical records.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Historical Abstracts with Full Text in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- Historiography of Early Modern Ottoman EmpireA collection of metadata focusing on historiographical writing of Early Modern Ottoman Europe (1500-1800). Includes published and unpublished primary sources as well as secondary material.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new windowColumbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video.
- Central and Eastern European Online LibraryProvides e-journals and e-books in the humanities and social sciences from Central and Eastern Europe. Includes related subject categories (e.g., Turkish literature) and the ability to filter by language.
- Online Bibliography of Ottoman-Turkish LiteratureAlso available in Turkish. This database references theses, books, articles, papers, and projects related to Ottoman-Turkish culture.
- Osmanlıca Makaleler Veri TabanıArticles on Turkish literature, history, and culture from the Center for Islamic Studies (ISAM) in Istanbul.
- OTürkDigital ArchiveAn archive of documents translated from Ottoman Turkish (particularly Arabic and Persian archive documents and manuscripts) to modern Turkish, covering 1040-1950. These documents support research into Islamic, Seljuk, Ottoman, and Turkish heritage and history.
- Periodicals of the Hakkı Tarık Us CollectionDigital archive of Ottoman periodicals. Part of a larger collection of books, journals, newspapers, and other materials held by Beyazıt State Library in Istanbul.
- Türkiye Makaleler BibliyografyasıIndex of articles in Turkish periodicals, including scanned articles as far back as 1923.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Index Islamicus in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: MLA International Bibliography in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches).Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from more than 200 scholarly journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences. Disciplines covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given. Searches can be conducted across the full text of all journals in the database.
Need Assistance?
Journals
In addition to the titles listed below, you can search for specific journals or articles using the library's Journal and Article Locator.
- Anthropology of the Contemporary Middle East and Central EurasiaCovers anthropological study of all societies and cultures in the Middle East and Central Eurasia.
- International Journal of Middle East StudiesIJMES focuses on the area encompassing the Middle East and adjacent geo-cultural regions from the seventh century to the present.
- Journal of Modern Turkish Studies (JMTS)/Modern Türklük Araştırmaları DergisiThe official e-journal of the Department of Modern Turkish Dialects and Literature at Ankara University, covering "Turkology and related fields."
- Turkish Historical ReviewCovers Turkish history from the 6th to the 20th century. Includes English, French, German, and other western European languages as well as Turkish, Arabic, Russian, and Balkan languages.
- Journal of Turkology/Türkiyat Mecmuası - Istanbul UniversityEnglish and Turkish articles covering Turkish literature, language, history, art, and culture.