Online Resources
- Buddhist NexusA database devoted to the study of Buddhist texts and literary collection in Pāli, Sanskrit, Tibetan, and Chinese, with particular emphasis on the evolution of scriptures, formation of canons, and intellectual networks.
- 84000: Translating the Word of the BuddhaThe 84000 is a browsable catalogue of all the texts in the Kangyur (collected scriptures: Tibetan translations of Indian texts considered to be the word of the Buddha) and Tengyur. (collected treatises: the Tibetan translations of scriptural works by the great Indian Buddhist masters)
- Buddhist Canons Research DatabaseA project of the American Institution for Buddhist Studies and the Columbia University Center for Buddhist Studies
The Buddhist Canons Research Database is a resource that offers complete bibliographic information (with internal crosslinks and links to external resources) for the roughly 5,000 texts contained in the Tibetan Buddhist canon, and offers both general and targeted full text search access to those texts (approximately 15 million syllables).
The words of the Buddha were carried down through oral tradition after his death and later complied collections called suttas (Pali) or sutras (Sanskrit). These collections, plus the Vinaya Pitaka (monastic rules) and Abidhamma/Aabidharma (philosophical texts) compose the early Buddhist Canon (also known as the Pali Canon or Tripitaka)
Note! When searching for sutras in the catalogue knowing the Sanskrit and/or Pali name is useful
A non-exhaustive survey of books you can find at the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library
Pali Canon
In the Buddha Words (Selected texts of Pali Canon) Call No. BQ1192.E53 B63 2005
The Middle Length Discourses (Majjhima Nikāya) Call No. BQ1312.E5 N36 1995
The Numerical Discourses of the Buddha ( Anguttara Nikāya) Call No. BQ1342.E5 B63 2012
The Connected Discourses of the Buddha (Samyutta Nikāya) Call No. BQ1332.B63 E5 2000
The Long Discourses of the Buddha (Digha Nikāya) Call No. BQ1292.E53 W35 1995
The Therīgāthā Call No. BQ1452.E5 H35 2015
Some Mahayana Sūtras (later sūtras related to Mahayana Buddhism)
Lotus Sūtra (Saddharma Puṇḍarīka Sūtra) Call No: BQ2052.E5 W38 1993
The Heart Sūtra (Prajñāpāramitāhṛdaya) Call No. BQ1967.T35 2014
The Laṅkāvatāra Sūtra: Call No. BQ1722.E5 S89 1999
The Vimalakīrti Sūtra Call No. BQ2212.E5 W66 1997
These various sūtras are complied in different ways for each iteration of Buddhism in different regions. See Chinese Buddhist Canon, Korean Buddhist Canon, Tibetan Buddhist Canon etc.
In the Buddha's Words
The American scholar-monk Bhikkhu Bodhi, whose voluminous translations have won widespread acclaim, here presents selected discourses of the Buddha from the Pali Canon, the earliest record of what the Buddha taught. This book contains: Clear translations of the Buddha's original teachings Thoughtfully curated selections from the Pali Canon Chapters on the Buddha's life, rebirth, suffering, liberation, and practice A foreword by His Holiness the Dalai Lama
The Lotus Sutra
Since its appearance in China in the third century, The Lotus Sutra has been regarded as one of the most illustrious scriptures in the Mahayana Buddhist canon. The object of intense veneration among generations of Buddhists in China, Korea, Japan, and other parts of the world, it has had a profound impact on the great works of Japanese and Chinese literature, attracting more commentary than any other Buddhist scripture.
Therigatha
The Therigatha, composed more than two millennia ago, is an anthology of poems in the Pali language by and about the first Buddhist women.
Buddhist Scriptures: A Bibliography by ISBN: 9780824098483Publication Date: 1982-11-01Index of Buddhist Sacred texts. Print only- Bibliography on Buddhism by Call Number: 016.2943 H19BPublication Date: 1961Extensive bibliography of 15,073 numbered entries, arranged alphabetically. Covers Western-language books and articles.
ILLUSTRATED BUDDHIST TEXT
"ILLUSTRATED BUDDHIST TEXT , 1984.425,” Harvard Art Museums collections online, Oct 07, 2021, https://hvrd.art/o/199858.