- The Soka Gakkai Dictionary of BuddhismContains a useful guide to Sanskrit/Pali Buddhist terms in Japanese (and English explanations).
Please note it is created by the Soka Gakkai, a Nicheren Buddhist Sect in Japan, and should not be considered a scholarly resource for translations of or discourse on Nichiren's works. - Japanese Journal of Religious StudiesPeer reviewed scholarly journal of religion study in Japan. Especially useful for current scholarly thought and trends
- Japanese Classical Literature Full-Text Database This link opens in a new windowFull text search of 556 works of the old Japanese edition of "Classic Literature of Japanese Literature" published by Iwanami Shoten. The databases have been reorganized, please follow the directions as appropriate.
Books
Religions of Japan in Practice by Call Number: 200.952 R2792ISBN: 0691057893Publication Date: 1999-03-28Religions of Japan in Practice is a compendium of relationships between great minds and ordinary people, abstruse theories and mundane acts, natural and supernatural powers, altruism and self-interest, disappointment and hope, quiescence and war. It is an indispensable sourcebook for scholars, students, and general readers seeking engagement with the fertile "ordered disorder" of religious practice in Japan.
Available print and online
A Cultural History of Japanese Buddhism by Call Number: BQ678 .D43 2015ISBN: 9781405167000Publication Date: 2015-06-15A Cultural History of Japanese Buddhism offers a comprehensive, nuanced, and chronological account of the evolution of Buddhist religion in Japan from the sixth century to the present day. Traces each period of Japanese history to reveal the complex and often controversial histories of Japanese Buddhists and their unfolding narratives Examines relevant social, political, and transcultural contexts, and places an emphasis on Japanese Buddhist discourses and material culture.
Journals
Japanese Language Databases
- CiNii This link opens in a new windowAn open-access database with information about articles, books, journals, and dissertations published in Japan.
- J-Stage This link opens in a new windowRepository of open-access papers published in Japanese academic association publications.
- National Diet Library Online This link opens in a new windowThe online search and request service for the national library of Japan. Provides free access to digitized materials.
- INBUDSIndian and Buddhist Studies Treatise Database.
Database of articles, books, and journals regarding Indian studies and Buddhist studies mostly published in Japan. - IRDBInstitutional Repositories DataBase. IRDB is a database of resources that have been uploaded to the institutional repository of universities throughout Japan. Contains numerous journals and dissertations relevant to research of Japanese language scholarship.
Bibliographies
- A bibliography on Japanese Buddhism byCall Number: 016.29432 B47BPublication Date: 1958"[Books and articles] on Japanese Buddhism written mainly in European languages up to the month of July, 1958."