The Design Justice Network challenges the ways that design and designers can harm those who are marginalized by systems of power.

We use design to imagine and build the worlds we need to live in — worlds that are safer, more just, and more sustainable.

We advance practices that center those who are normally excluded from and adversely impacted by design decisions in design processes.

We do this by following processes and creating work that is rooted in shared principles of design justice, growing our network of design practitioners and advocates, convening to maintain and deepen our connections, creating critical publications, and curating exhibitions.

Design Justice Network. “About Us.” Design Justice Network. Accessed February 25, 2021. https://designjustice.org/about-us.

A.B.O. is a collective of creators and activists who work to amplify the voices of LGBTQ prisoners through art. By working closely with prison abolitionist and queer advocacy organizations, we aim to keep queer prisoners connected to outside community and help them in the fight toward liberation. The profits we generate go back to incarcerated artists, especially those with little to no resources. Using the DIY ideology of "punk-zine" culture, A.B.O. was formed with the philosophy of mutual support, community and friendship. ​

Our collective is working towards compassionate accountability without relying on the state or its sycophants. A.B.O. believes our interpersonal and societal issues can be solved without locking people in cages. Our mission is to combat the culture that treats humans as disposable and disproportionately criminalizes the most marginalized amongst us. Through artistic activism, we hope to proliferate the idea that a better world means redefining our concepts of justice.

A.B.O. Comix. “Mission | A. B. O. Comix.” A.B.O. COMIX. Accessed February 22, 2021. https://www.abocomix.com/mission.html.

"Margarita Kruchinskaya aka Soft Thoughts (@softthoughtshr) is a nonbinary trans organizer and animator who makes zines, puppets and drag costumes. They are dedicated to connecting folx to foster creative partnerships & thrive on collaboration. They run Three Fifty (@threefiftycollective) a zine collective and distro.

Three Fifty is a collective focused on promoting the mediums of artists’ books, zines, comics, and other self-published printed matter by providing a distribution platform for independent artists. Rooted in the DIY spirit, Three Fifty aims to share artists’ work beyond the confines of the gallery, in order to improve equal and affordable access to the arts. The publications in Three Fifty’s catalogue are diverse in both content and style, working with themes and subjects including personal narrative, abstraction, poetry, socio-political issues, technology, queer and trans identity.

For More Information, please visit: https://instagram.com/threefiftycollective"

Smith, Andre. “Three Fifty Collective • Love City Arts.” Love City Arts (blog), November 11, 2019. https://lovecityarts.org/2019/11/11/three-fifty-collective/.

LIS Microaggressions, an online space for those working in libraries, archives and information fields to share our experiences with microaggressions within the profession. Inspired by recent grassroots social media movements, such as The Microaggressions Project, and I, Too, Am Harvard, this space aims to identify, acknowledge, and overcome the microaggressions that continue to exist in our profession and that are the real, lived, experiences of LIS professionals from marginalized communities today.

Email: LISmicroaggressions@gmail.com

Microaggressions in Librarianship. “About LIS Microaggressions.” Accessed February 22, 2021. https://lismicroaggressions.com/about.

Inga is a bookshop in Chicago with a focus on self-published and independently distributed artists' books on art, design, film, theory, and more. We program events semi-frequently, including readings, lectures, performances, in conjunction with the shop's stock and interests. We also publish books, bookmarks, and other editions.

Inga. “Inga - About.” Accessed March 12, 2021. https://i-n-g-a.com.

EXILE Books is an experimental artist’s bookstore and project space which recently moved to the Little Haiti neighborhood of Miami. We produce publications and site-specific events such as exhibitions, performances, lectures, fairs, and workshops in order to advance circulation and engagement with artist’s publications. EXILE seeks to establish a pervasive print culture in Miami by creating hubs for independent publishing that represent and serve our diverse community.

Launched in September 2014, EXILE Books traversed Miami as a pop-up artist’s bookstore for three years, establishing residency at over 20 locations. Conceived by visual artist and curator Amanda Season Keeley, EXILE is an experimental project activating public spaces through community engagement. Our collaborative nature is based on forming partnerships between arts and cultural organizations while providing a generative platform for artists and small presses to promote their print projects.

EXILE Books is made possible through the generous support of our sponsors and collaborators: Metabolic Studio, Florida Department of State Cultural Affairs, Miami's Downtown Development Authority, The Knight Foundation Arts Challenge, Printed Matter Inc., Feast Miami, Sonos, Wavemaker Grants, and The Miami Foundation.

Books, EXILE. “About | Exile Books.” EXILE Books, 2021. https://exilebooks.com/pages/about.

Dale Zine, established 2009 in Miami, is an independent printer and publisher with the goal of
giving a platform to multimedia artists and designers. With humble beginnings as a zine collaboration about Garfield, Dale has broadened into something of an open cultural space for the Miami community, with offerings ranging from all- age zine workshops to our independent radio show, pop-up events, and most recently a storefront in Downtown Miami. Collaborations of note include those with Tim Biskup, Matt Furie, Legowelt, Friendswithyou, to name just a few of our over 75 titles and counting. You can find our work in Miami, Tokyo, LA, New York, Beijing and online at DaleZine.com

In addition to publishing our own original content, we also host a series family oriented art workshops that focus on the creative empowerment of the children (Dale Kids). Plugging in with some of the city’s premier international philanthropic organizations (Lincoln Road, the Knight Foundation, Bas Fisher Invitational, the Andy Warhol Foundation, and the Soho House, among many others) has been completely vital to our outreach efforts. In 2019 we also full-filled a life long dream of producing a short film for Sesame Street which aired on season 49, episode 6 titled M is for Magician.

Visit us at our flagship location in the 777 mall in downtown Miami. Truly unique in the South
Florida, the Dale Zine shop is all about getting to know our city’s independent voices in a fun
friendly environment through the most low key format ever, the zine.

Check in with us at DaleZine.com for info on upcoming events and workshops with Mana
Contemporary. We really dig meeting new people! See you soon!

www.dalezine.com
@dale_zine


If you have any questions or want to submit a zine, write us at dalezine305@gmail.com

Follow us on Instagram @Dale_Zine and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/DaleZine/

Dale Zine. “About Dale Zine.” Accessed February 22, 2021. https://dalezine.com/About-Dale-Zine.

Wasted Ink Zine Distro (WIZD) is a small-press distribution center, storefront, and library that houses local and international zines. WIZD represents over 250 artists and provides a hub for creativity and community impact. WIZD contains an on-site zine library with over 700 titles to read through to gain inspiration and understanding. WIZD hosts and supports over 50 zine and literary events each year ranging from zine workshops to the Phoenix Zine Fest.

Wasted Ink Zine Distro is a community event space run solely by a passionate queer, disabled zinester named Charissa Lucille and a great community. In addition to curating and maintaining this collection, we also host a number of literary events including zine making workshops, zine release parties and rotating art shows.

Wasted Ink Zine Distro provides people with alternative forms of media with publications about a myriad of different topics ranging from, educational and woman’s studies, personal and political activism, music and punk history, photography, art and more. WIZD is constantly growing and expanding and receiving more material every week.

Wasted Ink Zine Distro. “About Wasted Ink Zine Distro.” Accessed February 22, 2021. https://www.wizd-az.com/about.html.

Laurel Doody Library Supply was founded to help with the challenges facing artists publishing on a small scale. The project works to distribute these rare and careful publications beyond artists’ social circles, while providing for their long-term safekeeping.

Once a year, the project assembles a group of artist books and exhibition-related material and donates full sets to seven public archives in France, the United States, Puerto Rico, and New Zealand. In exchange, these partner archives agree never to deaccession the works and to tag them as part of the Laurel Doody Library Supply collection: an archive within archives. The annual deposit includes collected ephemera from artist-run galleries, audio recordings on vinyl, and self-published zines. These selected materials serve as a method of preservation, following a conversation as it unfolds through art. With this effort in mind, the project commissions a new artist book each year.

The Library Supply continues the legacy of Laurel Doody, a project space run out of an apartment in Miracle Mile, Los Angeles for twelve months in 2015–2016, with the intention of both tracing a loose network of friends, spaces and shows and extending these ongoing conversations to a wider audience.

Laurel Doody Library Supply. “Statement.” Accessed March 1, 2021. https://ldlibrarysupply.com/statement.

Boo-Hooray is dedicated to the organization, stabilization, and preservation of the 20th and 21st century cultural movements, specializing in ephemera, photography, and book arts. We publish books, catalogs, artists’ books and LPs, as well as stage exhibitions all over the world.

“Boo-Hooray.” Boo-Hooray, 2021. https://www.boo-hooray.com/.