Selected Artists' Books at Ricker
Overview of the Artists' Book Collections
At Ricker
Ricker Library has a collection of artists' books and zines utilized by the students, faculty, & community in printmaking and graphic design, but also across studio art, art education, art history, industrial design, and architecture. On this page, you'll find examples of works in the collection that can be requested through the direct links to their catalog records.
Focus
Currently, Ricker Library is looking to focus the expansion of its collection to increase the range of construction techniques and methods represented. This is in tandem with collection development across Ricker that is focusing on collecting further materials by and about contemporary BIPOC scholars and practitioners across art, architecture & design in continuance with Ricker's Anti-Racism Commitments.
Suggestions & Feedback
What would you be especially curious to see? Are there works you would like to see re-contextualized? How would you want to engage these books with us? Please let us know through the form for Suggestions & Feedback at the start and end of this guide!
Where else to Look?
Of course, Ricker Library doesn't have an exclusive claim of any sort to artists' books. More can be found in:
The Rare Book & Manuscript Library
What does it mean when they're located in "Vaults/Closed Stacks/Non-Circulating"?
Mainly, that you will not be able to take the materials home with you! The materials are still available for use. When the works are noted as being in a Vault, or similarly, in Closed Stacks or even simply labeled as Non-Circulating, there's usually preservation concerns which have placed them into more controlled environments. They might be especially fragile or require special housing because regular shelving is impeded by their design. Please feel free to request them or to contact us with any questions you may have!
Videos of Artists' Books at Ricker
- Heads and Tails: Artist's Book Class Spring 2001 by Artists' book produced for a class taught by Bea Nettles at the College of Fine and Applied Arts at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Tails is printed upside down on the title page ; the last names of students are printed upside down on the title page. "Special Thanks to the University Printing Services and the Art and Design Computer Lab."Publication Date: 2001
- Ficciones = 盧构集 / 孙彦初; edit and design: 言由, 程音和. by "I found these photos which were taken by Chinese people in 1970s or 80s from antique markets. I use collaging or drawing to destroy or carry forward the stories in the photos. Maybe the original photos recorded true things which happened before, but were the new plots through my changes totally made up by me?"--Page 4.ISBN: 9881457483Publication Date: 2016
- Alfredo Jaar: Tonight No Poetry Will Serve by Tonight No Poetry Will Serve is the most comprehensive overview of the installations and photographs of Chilean-born, New York-based artist Alfredo Jaar (born 1956). It includes color reproductions of over 44 works, from 1974 to 2014, including such groundbreaking works as "Lament of the Images," "The Silence of Nduwayezu" and "The Sound of Silence." Also covering some of his most celebrated public interventions such as "The Cloud" and "The Skoghall Konsthall" as well as many of his lesser-known but milestone earliest works from Chile, this publication stands as the most encompassing survey yet of Jaar's cross-disciplinary, cross-border practice. Also included is the Adrienne Rich poem after which the exhibition was titled, "Tonight No Poetry Will Serve," an important source of inspiration for the artist.ISBN: 9527067057Publication Date: 2015
Artists' Books at the University Libraries
Sun Breaker by
"Published in conjunction with Stiler's exhibition at Locust Projects, Sun Breaker explores the tropical, modernist architecture native to Miami. Sun Breaker refers to brise soleil, a common architectural element in the tropics that reduces heat gain in buildings by deflecting sunlight. These sun-shading structures take the form of perforated surfaces that are both decorative and utilitarian, allowing for the free flow of light and air through a building's fac̜ade. In Sun Breaker, Stiler also creates a permeable structure for the viewer to look both at and through. This13-sided, free-form, accordion artist's book pairs imagery of Miami's iconic brise soleil architecture alongside perforated arrangements of cut paper shapes on a flat scanner bed. Stiler connects the light of the scanner and the punctuated sunlight streaming through patterned walls to illuminate a loose narrative that incorporates the female figure, an ongoing theme in the artist's practice."--Publisher's website (viewed Nov. 11, 2015).
Image from Exile Books: https://exilebooks.com/products/sun-breaker-by-ruby-sky-stiler
Publication Date: 2015
Radio graveyard orbit by
57 pages, 5 unnumbered pages : illustrations ; 23 x 11 cm + 18 unnumbered transparencies (some loose) + 8 loose slips of paper
Piece is spiral bound. Includes transparencies and slips of paper, some spiral bound into the piece, and others paperclipped to various pages.
Image from Sming Sming Books: https://www.smingsming.com/products/laressa-dickey-andrea-steves-radio-graveyard-orbit
Publication Date: 2019
Sacred Shanghai by
Sacred Shanghai by photographer and anthropologist Liz Hingley, explores the spaces, rituals and communities - in official, unofficial, public and private forms - that together weave the spiritual fabric of China's largest and most cosmopolitan city. After decades of suppression during the Mao era, China has been undergoing one of the great religious revivals of our time. Unsettled by the pace of development and globalisation, millions are turning to faith for meaning and hope inthe alienating mega cities that now dominate Chinese life.
ISBN: 9781910401385Publication Date: 2020
Flamingo in the Dark by
"This book is my visual autobiography, starting with my girlhood in Florida and starting over again with my daughter Rachel's first year. The work is loosely sequenced and includes portraits of myself and family and landscapes pieced together from memories. As the images are made for sharing, I felt that it would be helpful if I were to try to describe the major influences affecting my life and work."--Page [3].
Limited ed. of 2000 copies.
"All images in this book were produced from 1976-1979 using Kwik Print on vinyl."--Colophon.
ISBN: 0930810015Publication Date: 1979
Kara Walker: MCMXCIX by
Title from spine.
"This sketchbook was begun in Munich in 1999, when I was 29 years old. Like most sketchbooks it served as a portal between the real world and the realm of my imagination. It was never intended to be shared, but as it happens quite a bit of 'work' came out of this particular book, including the installation 'Insurrection! (Our Tools Were Rudimentary, Yet We Pressed On)', which is in the collection of the Guggenheim Museum. So there's that. That, however, is an exception to the rule, for the most part the pages reflect uneasy, unrefined, unfinished thoughts and anxieties, written and drawn with no objectives, no ulterior motives, and no filters. Kara Walker July 2017" -- artist's statement, inside front cover.
Publication Date: 2017
Autoconstrucción: a definitely unfinished, inefficient, unstable, affective, emotional, delirious, cheerful, affirmative, sweaty, fragmentary, empirical, weak, happy, contradictory, supportive, indecent, sensual, amorphous, warm, committed index by
Alphabetical order, old as words, implies a redefinition of experience, not in terms of the practice, but from an order imposed by the alphabet. Abraham Cruzvillegas retrieves the alphabetical order to organize a series of projects that would otherwise be bewildered. Vital experience converted into Method becoming Manifesto.
42 pages; Risograph printed, paper cover.
ISBN: 607974502XPublication Date: 2016
La pocha nostra manifesto for a post-democratic era by
"The Spanglish neologism Pocha Nostra translates as either 'our impurities' or 'the cartel of cultural bastards or traitors.' We love this poetic ambiguity. It reveals an attitude towards art and society: cross-racial, cross-trans-or-post-national, polygendered, post-ultra-retro-experimental, neoindio, or a remix of the same or none, ¿y qué? ¿Cuál es el pedo? After all, nation-States are dysfunctional and dated."--Back cover.
ISBN: 9786079759988Publication Date: 2018
Blackout by
Blackout is a set of six books, based on the original video work of Indira Allegra. Allegra studies the weave structure of police uniforms alongside statements made by families of those lost to police violence including: Aiyana Stanley-Jones (7), Tamir Rice (12), John Crawford III (22), Amadou Diallo (23), Tarika Wilson (26), Eric Garner (43), Yvette Smith (45), and Eleanor Bumpurs (66). -- Text from belly-band.
ISBN: 9780998500621Publication Date: 2017
White Gaze by
"This second edition of White Gaze includes a new introduction by Michelle Dizon and an afterword by Việt Lê. Dizon's introductory essay "The Sediment of Whiteness" speaks to the way that National Geographic's images have functioned and continue to function as an assertion of property and ownership, particularly as issues around appropriation and fair use have surfaced since the book's first release.
In White Gaze, artist and filmmaker Michelle Dizon works with an archive of National Geographic magazines to explore the mechanics of the "white gaze." Through a process of poetic subtraction, Dizon works with only the language on the original page to write a decolonial counterpoint to a way of imaging the world centered on the West. Her images lay the white gaze bare, unearth a genealogy of a racist visuality, and work in the gap between image and text to write against the grain of imperialist narratives. Artist and writer Việt Lê uses Dizon's images from White Gaze as a starting point for his poetic exploration of the legacies of war and imperialism. Lê's text performs a dual work, both contextualizing Dizon's images in the history of empire and unleashing a rhythmic play with language, both visually and aurally, to cut to the core of how meaning is produced. His text speaks to absence as much as presence with a story of war and empire told in fragments, phrases, words hanging on the page—an index of both the trauma and resistance experienced by those subjected to the violence of empire."
--From Publisher, Sming Sming Books
Publication Date: 2019
My Altered Body: The Assemblage of Gender, Pain and Trauma through the Queer Gaze by
"Personal stories of living while chronically ill and experiences in disability"--Publisher statement.
Publication Date: 2018
The A to Z of Conflict by
"'The A to Z of Conflict' is a tri-lingual artists' book by ten contemporary artists. It imagines what a commonplace children's ABC book would look like if all the entries were chosen in relation to words about conflict, and words born out of conflict. The project uses English, Sinhala, and Tamil, the three languages spoken in Sri Lanka, a country torn apart by a brutal civil war. From afar the compendium of entries testifies to the way language defines us linguistically, socially, and politically. Up close it reveals how the complex workings of language have the potential to conjoin and divide us. Each copy of The A to Z of Conflict is bound in one of six combinations, reflecting how three languages can be positioned without giving one language greater status over the other. Drawing on the history of language conflict in Sri Lanka, this artists' book serves as a collectivemeans to think about how language rights, exclusion, status, and planning might serve us betterin the future than they have in the past. Artists: Abdul Halik Azeez, Muhanned Cader, Arjuna Gunarathne, Nina Mangalanayagam, Nillanthan, Anomaa Rajakaruna, T. Shanaathanan, Anushiya Sundaralingam, ChandragupthaThenuwara, Kamala Vasuki." -- Idea books
Title from colophon.
ISBN: 9780955667473Publication Date: 2019
Book from the Ground: From Point to Point by
A book without words, recounting a day in the life of an office worker, told completely in the symbols, icons, and logos of modern life. Twenty years ago I made Book from the Sky, a book of illegible Chinese characters that no one could read. Now I have created Book from the Ground, a book that anyone can read. --Xu Bing Following his classic work Book from the Sky, the Chinese artist Xu Bing presents a new graphic novel--one composed entirely of symbols and icons that are universally understood. Xu Bing spent seven years gathering materials, experimenting, revising, and arranging thousands of pictograms to construct the narrative of Book from the Ground. The result is a readable story without words, an account of twenty-four hours in the life of "Mr. Black," a typical urban white-collar worker. Our protagonist's day begins with wake-up calls from a nearby bird and his bedside alarm clock; it continues through tooth-brushing, coffee-making, TV-watching, and cat-feeding. He commutes to his job on the subway, works in his office, ponders various fast-food options for lunch, waits in line for the bathroom, daydreams, sends flowers, socializes after work, goes home, kills a mosquito, goes to bed, sleeps, and gets up the next morning to do it all over again. His day is recounted with meticulous and intimate detail, and reads like a postmodern, post-textual riff on James Joyce's account of Bloom's peregrinations in Ulysses. But Xu Bing's narrative, using an exclusively visual language, could be published anywhere, without translation or explication; anyone with experience in contemporary life--anyone who has internalized the icons and logos of modernity, from smiley faces to transit maps to menus--can understand it.
ISBN: 9780262027083Publication Date: 2014
Cecilia Vicuña: About to Happen by
Vicuña makes art of gathered materials from the ocean, the river and the street. Beginning and ending at the edge of the ocean, Chilean-born artist and poet Cecilia Vicuña's (born 1948) artist's book serves as both a lament and love letter to the sea. Vicuña collects the detritus that washes up on shore and assembles out of the refuse tiny precarios and basuritas--little sculptures held together with nothing more than string and wire. About to Happen, which accompanies an exhibition at the Contemporary Arts Center New Orleans, traces a decades-long practice that has refused categorical distinctions and thrived within the confluences of conceptual art, land art, feminist art, performance and poetry. In an era of increasing climate change and economic disparity, Vicuña's nuanced visual poetics--operating fluidly between concept and craft, text and textile--transforms the discarded into the elemental, paying acute attention to the displaced, the marginalized and the forgotten.
ISBN: 9781938221156Publication Date: 2017
Ficciones = 盧构集 / 孙彦初; edit and design: 言由, 程音和. by
"I found these photos which were taken by Chinese people in 1970s or 80s from antique markets. I use collaging or drawing to destroy or carry forward the stories in the photos. Maybe the original photos recorded true things which happened before, but were the new plots through my changes totally made up by me?"--Page 4.
ISBN: 9881457483Publication Date: 2016
Feminisms of the Upper Air by
"Feminisms of the Upper Air explores the symbolic uses of the feminine in world religion and mythology, as well as art, literature, and philosophy. Its aim is to locate wisdom and value across examples of the eternal feminine. This collection is presented as a multiplicity, a gathering of spiritual feminisms that hover above an ungendered earth. Skirting Invisible Subjects is a walking essay in eight parts plus twenty-five fictionless fictions on religion, misogyny, and gender. An idea-field of #ChurchToo, partnership cultures, women priests, liberation theology, dating apps, hyper-masculinity, abortion polls, marriage, divorce, self-betrayal.... Mandorla-Modes of Transport is a visual meditation on feminine typologies and a compilation of ecstatic collage-work. As womb-space, heavenly surround, throne, and canopy, the mandorla is a gateway between two worlds. It is the almond-shaped hull and vessel that navigates waters beyond the sea and clouds beyond the sky"--Page 4 of volume covers.
Publication Date: 2019
La Autonomía es la Vida, la Sumisión es la Muerte by
Cover title.
Publisher information from dealer.
Edition of 85.
"La carpeta que ahora presentamos es la consecución de la campaña [La autonomía es la vida la sumisión es la muerte]. Es una producción entre 'Convergencia Malla' y miembros de la coopertiva Justseeds, impresa con la colaboración de la 'Escuela de Cultura Popular Mártires del 68.' La carpeta está integrada por un juego de 19 estampas impresas en serigrafía en papel marquilla de 50 x 32.5 cm a tres tintas"--Presentación.
Los colaboradores son: Argelia Leodegario, Bec Young, Elizabeth Mota, Fernando Martí, Gandhi Noyola, Iseo Noyola, Jesús Barraza, Joel Martínez, Kevin Caplicki, Lilian Guigue, Lucia Vidales, Mariana Sasso, Marshall Weber, Mazatl, Melanie Cervantes, Roger Peet, Salvador Alba, Thea Gahr, Yobani Mendoza.
Publication Date: 2014
Him by
Chronicle of a long night.
168 unnumbered pages all illustrations 23 cm
Printed in Risograph
Publication Date: 2019
Territorio y Libertad: Gráfica sin Fronteras by
Portfolio of 40 broadside prints.
Includes a title sheet, a list of artists sheet, and a booklet with artists statements.
Place of publication from Booklyn Artists Alliance website.
Limited edition of 100 portfolios.
Each print has signature of the artist.
"This portfolio of hand-pulled screenprints and block prints grew out of Gráfica Sin Fronteras, an encuentro (get-together) with members of Justseeds Artists' Cooperative, from all over the USA and Mexico City, and members of Escuela de Cultura Popular Martires del 68 in Mexico City, as well as other like-minded activist printmakers from other regions of Mexico."--Booklet.
"Thea Gahr ... coordinated the printing of the portfolio at M68 in Mexico City"--Booklet.
"Territory is not only the physical space itself, but the result of social relations: historic, cultural, political and economic relations. These give sense and meaning to the place and context where people live. Territories are mainly a power place, therefore, always subject to dispute, both materially and symbolically by different people who live and conceptualize territory in different ways. Generally speaking, freedom is understood as the opposite of slavery. It is a state of being often conditioned by structures of power like the state or the media, in which one think, speak, and make decisions under their own volition. Freedom embraces autonomy, which is based on the recognition that there are other world views, other cultures, other ways of managing of territory, in opposition to capitalism-driven governments and corporate controls."--Title sheet.
"Impresa/printed México, Oct.-Nov. 2018"--Title sheet.
Publication Date: 2018
Latent Space: Notes on Seeing Letters like a Machine by
Risograph printed, paper cover.
"In a landscape where the technologies governing our lives are increasingly obscured, this publication aims to reveal the underlying processes of a machine learning program. It seeks to mediate machine "sight" and human comprehension. The book documents the technical capabilities of an algorithm trained to analyze the formal patterns of the alphabet and imagine other letters from that knowledge. The resulting outputs -- letters without semantic value -- embraces and emphasizes the meaningless results of the machine: it is the human input and framework that imbues "sense" to these forms. Combining expository exercises with surreal typographic characters, this book is both a grounding text on the mechanics of machine learning and a visual celebration of formal possibility."--Back cover
"This publication is produced in conjunction with Federico Pérez Villoro's exhibition Más allá del mundo, hay letras at PEANA gallery in Monterrey, Mexico."--Colophon
Image from Printed Matter
El Río = The River: A Collaboration by
Imprint information from colophon.
"A poem made of photographs, and the depiction of that sequence with a poem made of words. Or rather, a broken bilingual, visual-textual attempt of conversation over the tensions in between a simple, ever-changing but always the same flow of water, and all the terrible complexities around, above, beneath it."--Gato Negro Ediciones website, viewed August 15, 2019.
"Translation by Robin Myers."--Colophon
"Artists' book printed in risograph."--Howard Karno Books, vendor.
Publication Date: 2018
Tercera Persona by
"Written in Braille, a discussion in him and her. Traces of a bad conversation avenida: misunderstanding, the impossibility of total communication, the impossible of the everyday. Verónica Gerber Bicecci (Mexico City, 1980) reduces the language to its greatest extent so that it is again that which we can not understand but which we know haunts us every day. Not knowing how to operate linguistically.--Black Cat Editions. " --Vendor translation of publisher's description.
Publication information from publisher's website (viewed on Jan. 13, 2020).
Printed in Risograph.
"Escrito en braille, una discusión en él y ella. Rastros de una conversación mal avenida: del mal entendimiento, de la imposibilidad de la comunicación total, de lo imposible de lo cotidiano."--Publisher's website (viewed on Jan. 13, 2020).
Text printed in braille (without the raised dots).
Publication Date: 2015
Earth and the Moon by
"The 360° book is a new revolutionary format that enables the artist to create a panoramic three-dimensional world. The book opens and expands into a dynamic circle of pages. Each page is finely crafted works of art, drawing the viewer from a scene of two dimensions to a three-dimensional world/diorama."--Container.
Package design by Kazushige Takebayashi.
Image from:
White Rabbit Express. “Ōno, Yūsuke,” 2016. https://cms.whiterabbitexpress.com/tag/yusuke-ono/.
ISBN: 9784861525513Publication Date: 2016
Her Perfume Tears by
Edition of 300 signed and numbered copies of which a special edition of 25 copies include an original artwork by Lizzi Bougatsos.
Her perfume tears consists of collages, artworks, poems, lyrics and archival ephemera from the the artist's life. Each copy in photo-illustrated wrappers, with an origami-folded pocketed newspaper dust jacket containing a zine of the artist's poetry and song writing process titled, Enchanted by her squalor.
Publication Date: 2014
Reciprocal Score by
Reciprocal Score corresponds to an exhibition by the same name, comprised of Charlotte Posenenske's D and DW square tubes series and my own woven paintings, which took place at Indipendenza in Rome in 2015. The four pop-up volumes in this book are scale models of the four cardboard components in Charlotte Posenenske's DW series. In preparation for the show I made models of these pieces with the same bristol used here. The rubber stamp designs are drawn from componentry in the weavings: brick-like building blocks, oval holes, and two- and three-dimensional renderings of fretwork designs common to Rome (and visible in almost every part of the world.) Diagonal Press.
Accordion fold book tied with cotton twill ribbon.
Image from:
Printed Matter. “Tauba Auerbach - Reciprocal Score.” Printed Matter. Accessed May 10, 2021. https://www.printedmatter.org/catalog/43679/.
Publication Date: 2015
Close Cover Before Striking by
Photo-engravings used as matchbook covers which "probably date from the post art deco period, perhaps the early thirties."--Preface.
44 unnumbered pages : chiefly illustrations ; 7 cm
Image from:
Oak Knoll Press. “Close Cover Before Striking on Oak Knoll.” Oak Knoll Press. Accessed May 6, 2021. https://www.oakknoll.com/pages/books/117676/close-cover-before-striking.
Publication Date: 1997
Concentrics by
A collaborative work between book artist Denise Bookwalter and poet Jay Snodgrass. Letterpress printed purple text over green abstract illustration of swirling lines. Accordion-fold format, opens vertically. Housed in a brown envelope stamped with the Small Craft Advisory Press origami logo.
1 folded sheet ([6] printed panels, with 5 pages) : illustration (letterpress) ; 8 x 23 cm + 1 envelope
Denise Bookwalter's Artist Statement: "My work is the result of my perpetual pursuit of knowledge and understanding. As a child I realized quickly that the accumulation of information far exceeded the quantity that a dedicated classroom teacher had patience or time enough to teach me. I approach my work initially as a scientist approaches their research. I first gather information from primary sources. As the search images develop I follow a considerably less linear path and am attracted by the unexpected and overlooked. The disregarded records, figures or facts merge and become the atypical moments that facilitate my knowledge of materials, technology and objects. These moments nourish intuition and lead to invention. The combination of research, information and play is the subject of my work. My recent research threads included vintage knitting patterns, origami and experimental machines and vehicles of unheralded aviation pioneers like Australia's Lawrence Hargrave and Brazil's Alberto Santos-Dumont." (from artist's website, accessed 29 May 2013).
Image from:
Vamp & Tramp, Booksellers, LLC. “Small Craft Advisory Press,” April 20, 2017. http://www.vampandtramp.com/broadside/s/small-craft-advisory-press.html#concentrics.
Publication Date: 2012
Tea-leaves & Fishes by
28 leaves : illustrations ; 11 x 26 cm
8vo.
Concrete poetry
Publication Date: 1966
Heads and Tails: Artist's Book Class Spring 2001 by
Artists' book produced for a class taught by Bea Nettles at the College of Fine and Applied Arts at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
Tails is printed upside down on the title page ; the last names of students are printed upside down on the title page.
"Special Thanks to the University Printing Services and the Art and Design Computer Lab."
Publication Date: 2001- Alfredo Jaar: Tonight No Poetry Will Serve by
Tonight No Poetry Will Serve is the most comprehensive overview of the installations and photographs of Chilean-born, New York-based artist Alfredo Jaar (born 1956). It includes color reproductions of over 44 works, from 1974 to 2014, including such groundbreaking works as "Lament of the Images," "The Silence of Nduwayezu" and "The Sound of Silence." Also covering some of his most celebrated public interventions such as "The Cloud" and "The Skoghall Konsthall" as well as many of his lesser-known but milestone earliest works from Chile, this publication stands as the most encompassing survey yet of Jaar's cross-disciplinary, cross-border practice. Also included is the Adrienne Rich poem after which the exhibition was titled, "Tonight No Poetry Will Serve," an important source of inspiration for the artist.
ISBN: 9527067057Publication Date: 2015
- La Sagesse des Poissons. I-VII by
"Prints, monoprints, and collages reproduced in this book were created by Dennis Rowan in the etching studio of the School of Art and Design, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2002. Cover design, title page and colophon by Debra Bolga ; BInding by Lincoln Bookshop, Urbana, Il ; printing by Dixon Graphics, Champaign, Illinois . This book is printed on lustro dull cream, 100LB cover"--Colophon of each volume.
An engraved copper plate with a graphic of a lionfish is attached to the box.
Publication Date: 2002
Homunculus: The Refuser by
From artist's website:
edition: 250
numbered
20 pages
Screenprint / RIsograph
comic/zine game book
w/ 3 panel pullout horizontal / vertical double centerfold.
5 color screenprinted pages, 3 color riso pages.
*Riso pages printed by Colour Code Printing & Perfectly Acceptable Printing
**look for soundtrack accompaniment soundz from - DNA Boulevard Mania - post-haste! https://soundcloud.com/user-25844347
Publication Date: 2017
Taboo by
Published on the occasion of the 6th Menabrea Art Prize 2016.
ISBN: 9788899776060Publication Date: 2017
Modern Love by
"People used to tell me, if you keep on writing maybe you'll make a name for yourself," New York-based artist and writer Constance DeJong (born 1950) wrote in Modern Love. "They were right: My name's Constance DeJong. My name's Fifi Corday. My name's Lady Mirabelle, Monsieur Le Prince, and Roderigo. Roderigo's my favorite name. First I had my father's name, then my husband's, then another's. I don't know. I don't want to know the cause of anything." Modern Love, DeJong's first book, was published in 1977 by Standard Editions, an imprint co-founded by DeJong and Dorothea Tanning. In 1978, the text was adapted into a 60-minute radio program accompanied by the "Modern Love Waltz," a piano composition by Philip Glass. In this new edition, DeJong's debut novel is brought back into print, her dissonant shifts of voice and inimitable staccato rhythm made available to a new generation of readers.
ISBN: 9780991558520Publication Date: 2017
Hawk/Dove by
Housed in a copper paper folder with circular title label closure; title transcribed from text printed on inside of folder.
"I have spent hours photographing headstones of American veterans, using their family names to write about war and peace. The sheer number of individuals who have dedicated their efforts, and in many cases given their very lives is extraordinarily moving. Several of the graves documented in this book date back to the Civil War and the beginnings of our national cemetery system, and some are as recent as this year, 2013. Bea Nettles."-- Folder.
Photographs of last names from headstones that can be used as parts of speech, arranged to form poetic sentences or phrases. In a dos-à-dos binding; the words appear on the recto only of one sheet, which is folded accordion style and attached at each end to a board; one board has title label "Hawk" and the other has title label "Dove." The "hawkish" phrases appear on one half of the sheet; but the book must be reversed to read the peaceful phrases which appear on the other half of the sheet.
Library's copy is no. 11 of 13 copies printed; signed by the author.
Acquisition made accessible thanks to the generous support of the Frederick J. and Margret L. Worden Endowment.
Publication Date: 2013
Reading Dick and Jane with Me by
Visual Studies Workshop Press, paperback, 24 pages, 8 1/2 x 7 inches, stapled single signature, printed offset
Edition size: 1000. 1989.
Reading Dick & Jane with Me, is an artist’s book created to interrupt the authority of old elementary school textbooks called ” The Dick and Jane Readers.” These textbooks of the 1940’s and 1950’s, used to teach reading, presented a white upper middle class suburban family as normal life for most Americans. Although the average American at that time was working class, the artist as a young girl thought these depictions meant that her family must be an aberration outside normal family life. Simple, repetitive sentences are constructed to simulate the rhythm of the old readers. Fragments of snapshots of the artist’s brothers and sisters and children from her neighborhood stand in for elementary school students who now “talk back.”
ISBN: 0898220599Publication Date: 1989
Ana Mendieta by
A poem about Cuban artist Ana Mendieta.
Body of book consists of 10 pages of heavy brown paper, with affixed collages of illustrations and calligraphic text (using papers of various types and colors); small pieces of eggshell are also affixed to two pages and a beige powdery substance to one. Main text is printed from calligraphy on two folded sheets of grained sand-colored paper (approx. 75 x 19 cm. unfolded), one for the Spanish version and one for the English version; each sheet is separately pasted at top, one just under the other, to p. 9. Heavy black wrappers with affixed collages; the shape of a woman is cut out of the front wrapper and string woven through holes surrounding the cut edges. The page with the powdery substance shows through the cutout shape.
Limited ed. of 200 copies.
One of a series of handmade books published by Ediciones Vigía.
ISBN: 9789592400962Publication Date: 200?
No hay Cuchillo sin Rosas: Historia de una Editorial Latinamericana y Antología de Jóvenes Autores = Kein Messer ohne Rose : Geschichte eines lateinamerikanischen Verlages und Anthologie junger Autoren. by
Cover is hand painted cardboard.
"Tirada de 2000 ejemplares"--T.p. verso. Edition of 2000.
Spanish texts with Spanish and German introductions.
ISBN: 3937158162Publication Date: 2007
Cartas Amadas by
"Cuadernos Papiro, editorial de libros arte sobre papel hecho a mano elaborado con fibras vegetales utilizando linotipo fabricado por Mergenfmaler, linotype Co. del año 1900 y prensas Gordon and price de 1816"--Colophon.
Cover title.
Cover has embossed title and publisher. Text reproduced on coarse paper glued together with a tie laced through flap. The book contains a dried flower.
Publication Date: 2002
Ritual del Pez | The Fish's Ritual by
Spanish and English.
Poems.
Printed on coarse paper and hand illustrated.
Cover has embossed ill. and imitation wooden hinges.
"Cuadernos Papiro, editorial de libros arte sobre papel hecho a mano elaborado con fibras vegetales utilizando linotipo fabricado por Mergenfmaler, linotype Co. del año 1900 y prensas Gordon and price de 1816"--Colophon.
Publication Date: 2001
Speaking of Book Art by
interviews with British and American book artists; Ron King, Ian Tyson, Joan Lyons, Betsy Davids, Sas Colby, Telfer Stokes, Kathy Walkup, Susan King, Helen Douglas, Johanna Drucker, Paul Coldwell, Susan Johanknecht, Alisa Golden, Julie Chen, Karen Bleitz
ISBN: 0962637254Publication Date: 1999- La Canción del Agua: Poesía Escogida by
Mimeographed reproduction of italic typescript with manuscript titles and colophon, drawings, and borders on individual leaves of coarse brown and speckled, cream-colored sketching paper. White paint applied by hand on illustrations on brown paper; pink tissue-paper front endpaper. Stapled to (cardboard) boards and tied with white yarn to brown paper wrappers. Decorated-paper collages on wrappers; white crocheted "fan" mounted on front.
Part of a collection of handmade chapbooks, most with cords for hanging (literatura de cordel), published by Ediciones Vigía under the auspices of the Cuban Ministry of Culture.
Publication information from colophon.
"Consta de doscientos ejemplares numerados ... Cada ejemplar consta de un abanico tejido a crochet por la artesana Irma Medina"--Colophon.
Library copy is no. 81.
Gift of Robert Wedgeworth.
Publication Date: 1993
- Soluções Providenciais: Por Jovens e Adultos da Pedra Lisa by
"Soluções providenciais é resultado de trabalho colaborativo do coletivo Dulcinéia Catadora com moradores da Pedra Lisa, morro da Providência, e colaboradores"--Colophon.
Saddle stitched to corrugated cardboard cover. Title hand-painted on page [1] of cover.
Publication Date: 2013
- Artist Book Show: Between You and Me by
"Overseas artist exchange book art exhibition."
Gift of Bea Nettles.
Text in English and Korean.
Publication Date: 2011
Freedom of the Presses by
The artist's book as activist tactic: a toolkit Freedom of the Presses is at once a textbook and a toolbox for using artists' books and creative publications to further community engagement and social justice projects. Far from being a staid survey of an art historical practice, Freedom of the Presses intervenes in an ongoing discussion about art and activism in the present day by considering the place of the art book in the 21st century. The publisher, Booklyn, has been involved in this conversation since 1999, when a group of six artists decided to band together to promote contemporary artists' books and publications. Booklyn's focus has always been voracious, encompassing street art, punk and activist culture alongside more conventional artists' books. This restless energy is present in Freedom of the Presses, which brings together a provocative mix of humorous, intimate and scholarly writing in order to expand how we think about the concept, content, design, production and distribution of artists' and activists' publications today. Aimed at a global community of librarians, publishers and readers, it offers models of how to reimagine contemporary artists' bookmaking as a socially engaged, political practice. With essays by Kurt Allerslev, Tia Blassingame, Sarah Kirk Hanley, FLY-O, Karen Eliot, Richard J. Lee, Florencia San Mart n, Ganzeer, Suzy Taraba, Stephen Dupont, Bridget Elmer, Janelle Rebel, Marshall Weber, Anton Wurth, Xu Bing, Deborah Ultan and Aaron Sinift, Freedom of the Presses enacts the dialogue it calls for, inviting artists and activists to weigh in on the place of artists' books in the most pressing social, political and cultural issues of our time.
ISBN: 9780692166789Publication Date: 2019
Handmade in Cuba by
Handmade in Cuba is an in-depth examination of Ediciones Vigía, an artisanal press that published exquisite books crafted from simple supplies during some of Cuba?s most dire economic periods. Vividly illustrated, this volume shows how the publishing collective responded to the nation?s changing historical and political situation from the margins of society, representing Cuban culture across the boundaries of race, age, gender, and genre.In this volume, poets and scholars reflect on the unique artistic direction of Rolando Estévez, who oversaw the creation of over 500 handmade books and magazines between 1985 and 2014. They highlight the beautiful designs and unusual materials selected, including fabric, metals, wood, feathers, and discarded items. Through diverse perspectives, including an interview with Estévez himself, the essays showcase the unlimited inventive possibilities of books as objects, as sculptural pieces, and as installations. Even in the age of technology, Estévez generated enormous excitement and admiration for these hand-crafted books, and this volume offers the first inside view of this important alternative publishing space.Contributors: Ruth Behar | Juanamaría Cordones-Cook | Gwendolyn Díaz | Erin Finzer | William Luis | Nancy Morejón | Kim Nochi | Carina Pino Santos | Kristin Schwain | Elzbieta Sklodowska
ISBN: 9781683401520Publication Date: 2020
Tarefas Infinitas: Quando a Arte e o Livro se Ilimitam by
[48 pages] : illustrations (some colour), photos ; 25 cm+ 1 booklet (24 pages ; 21 x 15 cm)
Catalogue of an exhibition held simultaneously at the Centro de Pesquisa e Informação, August 9 - October 27, 2018 and Biblioteca Brasiliana Guita e José Mindlin, August 10 - September 15, 2018.
Originally exhibitied at the Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian, this exhibition was amplified with selections from the Biblioteca Brasiliana Guita e José Mindlin.
1 booklet (24 unnumbered pages).
Publication Date: 2018
Hand, Voice & Vision: Artists' Books from Women's Studio Workshop by
Hand, voice & vision: artists' books from Women's Studio Workshop is a traveling exhibition, held at the Grolier Club and 5 other locations, December 8, 2010-Winter 2013.
Includes index.
Tip-in: "Illustration for page 105: Women's Studio Workshop artist's book details" (1 p.).
ISBN: 1893125785Publication Date: 2010
Beatriz Milhazes: Jardim Botânico by
"The first U.S survey for artist Beatriz Milhazes ..., it gathers together more than 50 examples of her paintings, prints, collages, and artists books made during the first three decades of her career"--Page 6, foreword.
ISBN: 9780989854641Publication Date: 2014
Things That Dream by
Published in conjunction with the exhibition at the Stanford University Libraries, April 19-July 8, 2012. Bilingual English and Spanish text, generously illustrated with double-page color images from each of the sixteen one-of-a-kind books of poetry by Pablo Neruda and Federico García Lorca that are the focus of the exhibition. The books are the fruit of a five-year collaboration between poet and model Mary Julia Klimenko, artist Manuel Neri, calligrapher Thomas Ingmire, and design binder Daniel E. Kelm and fellow mechanics at the Wide Awake Garage.
ISBN: 9780911221480Publication Date: 2012
Threads Talk Series by
Nonfiction. Art & Artists' Books. Poetry. Typography. THREADS, a series of talks devoted to the art of the book, includes poets, artists, and publishers. It explores and enriches relationships between various strands of book culture that are often approached in isolation: poetry and writing; visual and performing arts; collaboration; design; printing; independent publishing; literary history; critical theory; and material culture. The premise for the series was very similar to the kind of interdisciplinary approach to the book that has interested us all along. A book is never more successful than the relationship between its parts; the philosophical and material connections between writing, art, design, typography, translation, and distribution is more significant than excellence in any isolated area. The talks were originally recorded before a small studio audience, then made available to the public on PennSound, and are now collected here in written form for the first time. THREADS began in March 2009 and concluded in October 2012. There were twelve speakers: Alan Loney; Charles Alexander; Simon Cutts; Buzz Spector; Jerome Rothenberg; Cecilia Vicuña; Jen Bervin; Kathleen Walkup; Johanna Drucker; Keith Smith; Richard Minsky; and Emily McVarish.
ISBN: 9781887123846Publication Date: 2016
The Book on Books on Artists Books by
Arnaud Desjardin's The Book on Books on Artists Books is a bibliography of books, pamphlets, dealer catalogues and other printed materials on artists' books that takes stock of a wide variety of publications on artists' books since the early 1970s to assess the historical documentation of distribution, circulation and reception in the field. Together, these materials constitute a unique history of the overlooked ephemera produced by the exhibiting, publishing, disseminating and collecting of artists' books during the last 40 years. Desjardin's criterion for inclusion was to include only informational material on artists' books, rather than critical writing or theoretical texts. Consummately researched, with more than 600 entries, The Book on Books on Artists Books constitutes a groundbreaking bibliography that will prove essential for scholars, librarians and fans of artists' books.
ISBN: 9780956173881Publication Date: 2014
Fluxbooks by
Dispensing with the official role and elitist nature of the conventionally conceived art object, Fluxus artists' books sought to occupy more clandestine, subversive positions by shirking conventional modes of conception and distribution, breaking all commercial ties and operating as salvos in the struggle to bridge art and life. These books offered artists fuller autonomy in the production of their own work and opportunities for broader distribution, and became central to the amorphous movement. Using inexpensive printing processes such as stenciling, photocopying and offset printing, Fluxus artists became their own publishers, gallerists and curators. As books took on the character of events, expected to do more than merely contain thoughts and images, they exceeded the structure of the traditional book format and mutated into bo tes, containers, binders and boxes. Fluxbooks, the first detailed study of the artist's book within the Fluxus movement, presents Fluxus as the site of some of the most productive and irreverent transformations of the book medium in art history. Drawing on the Luigi Bonotto Collection and including works by George Maciunas, Wolf Vostell, John Cage, Alison Knowles, Dick Higgins, George Brecht, Allan Kaprow, Jackson Mac Low, Gy rgy Ligeti and many others, this extensively illustrated volume presents the publications with minimal critical commentary, allowing the books themselves to narrate their nature and development.
ISBN: 9788867491148Publication Date: 2018
No-ISBN: on Self-Publishing by
A book about extraordinary books that deliberately withdraw from the international book trade; A register containing 1,800 recent publications printed on paper, circulating without an International Standard Book Number (ISBN).A catalogue of micro- and alternative fairs held on four continents, an outline of media history, and manifestos from current avant-garde artists interspersed with texts on the international boom of artists' books, written by active practitioners of self-publishing.This first, richly illustrated reader has been compiled by a team of editors uniting the areas of conceptual art, media theory, and cultural studies. It thus offers a navigational aid in the discovery of new, uncharted terrain.Rather ironically, this book has an ISBN.
ISBN: 9783863358198Publication Date: 2016
A Century of Artists Books by
Published to accompany the 1994 exhibition at The Museum of Modern Art, New York, this book constitutes the most extensive survey of modern illustrated books to be offered in many years. Work by artists from Pierre Bonnard to Barbara Kruger and writers from Guillaume Apollinarie to Susan Sontag. An importnt reference for collectors and connoisseurs. Includes notable works by Marc Chagall, Henri Matisse, and Pablo Picasso.
ISBN: 0870701517Publication Date: 2002
The Book as Instrument by
Stéphane Mallarmé (1842-98) was a French Symbolist poet, theorist, and teacher whose ideas and legendary salons set the stage for twentieth-century experimentation in poetry, music, theater and art. A canonical figure in the legacy of modernism, Mallarmé was also a lifelong champion of the book as both a literary endeavor and a carefully crafted material object. In The Book as Instrument, Anna Sigrídur Arnar explores how this object functioned for Mallarmé and his artistic circle, arguing that the book became a strategic site for encouraging a modern public to actively partake in the creative act, an idea that informed later twentieth-century developments such as conceptual and performance art. Arnar demonstrates that Mallarmé was invested in creating radically empowering reading experiences, and the diverse modalities he proposed for both reading and looking anticipate interactive media prevalent in today's culture. In describing the world of books, visual culture, and mass media of the late nineteenth century, Arnar touches upon an array of themes that continues to preoccupy us in our own moment, including speculations on the future of the book. Enhanced by gorgeous illustrations, The Book as Instrument is sure to fascinate anyone interested in the ever-vibrant experiment between word and image that makes the page and the multi-sensory pleasures of reading.
ISBN: 9780226027012Publication Date: 2011
Booknesses: Artists' Books from the Jack Ginsberg Collection by
Booknesses is a full-colour catalogue of the 258 book objects, historical and contemporary from both South African and international artists represented in one of the largest and most comprehensive exhibitions of artists books ever to have been held internationally. The catalogue contains essays by David Paton, Keith Dietrich, Pippa Skotnes, Robbin Ami Silverberg and Kim Berman in conversation with Jack Ginsberg and is edited by Robyn Sassen. It adds extensive new knowledge to the book arts in South Africa. 0The catalogue showcases one aspect of the remarkable Jack Ginsberg Collection of Artists Books, which is internationally respected and is unique on the African continent. The Foreword, by Federico Freschi (Dean of the School of Arts of the University of Johannesburg) is followed by an Introduction by Robyn Sassen.0Included with the catalogue is a separate 48-page booklet from the 1996 exhibition of Ginsberg's collection at the Johannesberg Art Gallery.00Exhibition: University of Johannesburg, Auckland Park, South Africa (21. - 26.03.2017).
ISBN: 9780869707968Publication Date: 2017
Material Noise by
An argument that theoretical works can signify through their materiality-their "noise," or such nonsemantic elements as typography-as well as their semantic content.In Material Noise, Anne Royston argues that theoretical works signify through their materiality-such nonsemantic elements as typography or color-as well as their semantic content. Examining works by Jacques Derrida, Avital Ronell, Georges Bataille, and other well-known theorists, Royston considers their materiality and design-which she terms "noise"-as integral to their meaning. In other words, she reads these theoretical works as complex assemblages, just as she would read an artist's book in all its idiosyncratic tangibility. Royston explores the formlessness and heterogeneity of the Encyclopedia Da Costa, which published works by Bataille, Andre Breton, and others; the use of layout and white space in Derrida's Glas; the typographic illegibility-"static and interference"-in Ronell's The Telephone Book; and the enticing surfaces of Mark C. Taylor's Hiding, its digital counterpart The Real- Las Vegas, NV, and Shelley Jackson's Skin. Royston then extends her analysis to other genres, examining two recent artists' books that express explicit theoretical concerns- Johanna Drucker's Stochastic Poetics and Susan Howe's Tom Tit Tot. Throughout, Royston develops the concept of artistic arguments, which employ signification that exceeds the semantics of a printed text and are not reducible to a series of linear logical propositions. Artistic arguments foreground their materiality and reflect on the media that create them. Moreover, Royston argues, each artistic argument anticipates some aspect of digital thinking, speaking directly to such contemporary concerns as hypertext, communication theory, networks, and digital distribution.
ISBN: 9780262042925Publication Date: 2019
Artists' Books in the Modern Era 1870-2000 by
Almost every well-known painter and sculptor has created at least one book with original illustrations since the late nineteenth century. Publishers have engaged the imaginations of the finest writers, designers, printers and artists - among them Picasso, Malevich, Kandinsky, Kokoschka and Matisse - to collaborate on the creation of the vibrant publications created here in six sections: the evolution of the modern book in the decades before and after 1900; the momentum of Modernism in the twenties; the key role of Picasso; the influences of Dada, Surrealism, the Second World War and its aftermath; the shift of cultural power to the United States; and the new trends of the contemporary era.
ISBN: 088401102XPublication Date: 2001
The Book As Art by
Artists' books have emerged over the last 25 years as the quintessential contemporary art form, addressing subjects as diverse as poetry and politics, incorporating a full spectrum of artistic media and bookmaking methods, and taking every conceivable form. Female painters, sculptors, calligraphers, and printmakers, as well a growing community of hobbyists, have played a primary role in developing this new mode of artistic expression.The Book as Art presents more than 100 of the most engaging women's artist books created by major fine artists such as Meret Oppenheim, May Stevens, Kara Walker, and Renee Stout and distinguished book artists such as Susan King, Ruth Laxson, Claire Van Vliet, and Julie Chen. Culled from over 800 unique or limited-edition volumes held by the National Museum of Women in the Arts, these books explore the form as a container for ideas. Descriptions of the works are accompanied by colorful illustrations and reflections by their makers, along with essays by leading scholars and a lively introduction by the most famous book artist in our culture, best-selling author Audrey Niffenegger. The exquisitely crafted objects in theThe Book as Art are sure to provoke unexpected and surprising conclusions about what constitutes a book. The Book as Art accompanies the exhibition of the same name at the Museum of Women in the Arts in Washington, D.C., beginning in October 2006.
ISBN: 1568986092Publication Date: 2006
Blurred Library by
Literary Nonfiction. Art. Despite the fact that the field of artists' books has grown steadily since the mid-sixties, the discourse has been largely under- theorized. BLURRED LIBRARY: ESSAYS ON ARTISTS' BOOKS, is a stunning collection of the most revered essays by Tate Shaw, the Director of Visual Studies Workshop. For years, Shaw's contributions to the field of artists' books as a theorist, artist, writer, historian, and teacher have been celebrated internationally, but have largely gone undocumented, until now. Shaw's versatility as a scholar and artist allow him to take a holistic approach to his subject that is historical, conceptual, anecdotal, contemplative, and engaging. BLURRED LIBRARY is an indispensible contribution to the field of artists' books, essential reading for emerging and seasoned artists and scholars alike. Lavishly illustrated throughout by photographer Doug Manchee.
ISBN: 9780986004063Publication Date: 2017
Artists and Their Books, Books and Their Artists by
This stunning volume illuminates the current moment of artists' engagement with books, revealing them as an essential medium in contemporary art. Ever innovative and predictably diverse in their physical formats, artists' books occupy a creative space between the familiar four-cornered object and challenging works of art that effectively question every preconception of what a book can be. Many artists specialize in producing self-contained art projects in the form of books, like Ken Campbell and Susan King, or they establish small presses, like Simon Cutts and Erica Van Horn's Coracle Press or Harry and Sandra Reese's Turkey Press. Countless others who are primarily known as sculptors, painters, or performance artists carry on a parallel practice in artists' books, including Anselm Kiefer, Annette Messager, Ed Ruscha, and Richard Tuttle. Artists and Their Books / Books and Their Artists includes over one hundred important examples selected from the Getty Research Institute's Special Collections of more than six thousand editions and unique artists' books. This volume also presents precursors to the artist's book, such as Joris Hoefnagel's sixteenth-century calligraphy masterpiece; single-sheet episodes from Albrecht Dürer's Life of Mary, designed to be either broadsides or a book; early illustrated scientific works; and avant-garde publications. Twentieth-century works reveal the impact of artists' books on Pop Art, Fluxus, Conceptualism, feminist art, and postmodernism. The selection of books by an international range of artists who have chosen to work with texts and images on paper provokes new inquiry into the nature of art and books in contemporary culture.
ISBN: 9781606065730Publication Date: 2018
The following databases are great places to search for journals, articles, essays, and reviews:
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window Alternate version: Art & Architecture Source in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Based on a merger of databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson, and including many unique sources that were never previously available, this database covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. This database features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window This database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Features full abstracts and indexing from art journals published from the late 1960s onwards. Also incorporates book records, including those drawn from the collections of the Tate Library and the Bibliothèque Dominique Bozo, Musée LAM. Coverage: 1974 - current
- Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window Design and applied arts index (DAAI) is the leading source of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. An indispensable tool for students, researchers, and practitioners worldwide, DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
These are some specific examples of materials you can find through them:
- Journal of Artists Books by A peer-reviewed forum for critical dialogue & review of contemporary & historical artists' books.Publication Date: 1994 to Present
- The Bonefolder: An E-Journal for the Bookbinder and Book Artist by Peer-reviewedPublication Date: 2004-
- Journal: Art on Paper by Earlier title : On paper : the journal of prints, drawings and photography. Available in other form: Art on paper (New York, N.Y.) Earlier title : On Paper 12 volumes : illustrations ; 28 cmPublication Date: 1998-2009
- Journal: Art in Print byPublication Date: 2011-2019
- The Futures of Books: Technologies and Forms by Students often approach discussions about the future of the book with a narrow conception of "the book": "book" means "codex." By reading theoretical and historical studies of the book, writing critiques of artists' books, and creating handmade books, students can examine and question their assumptions about the essential qualities of "the book." This paper describes a sequence of assignments designed to move students toward analysis of the relationships between forms and content in a variety of printed books, artists' books, and electronic books. Students come to understand more fully the historical reasons for the development of the codex form and to think more broadly about technologies and formal possibilities of "the book." [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR] Copyright of International Journal of the Book is the property of Common Ground Research Networks and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)Publication Date: 2009
- La Bestia's Guide to the Birth of the Cool (2014) by The article discusses the Enrique Chagoya's La Bestia's Guide to the Birth of the Cool(2014) color lithograph with chine glue and gold powder on handmade Amate paper published by Shark's Ink, Lyons, CO.Publication Date: 2015
- The Flagbook Bind-O-Rama byPublication Date: 2006
- Artist Books and Art Zines: Past and Present by The paper is a study of art zines, related ephemera and artist books as well as their historical and conceptual relevance in the study of art. The aim is to look into the precursors and influences to the same and how zines, especially art zine and artists' books evolved to their contemporary state. Zines are magazine/ books like, though more content-specific, primarily self- published and are produced in limited editions. On the other hand, artists' books can be self published or gallery/ patron sponsored with limited or sometimes no copies to maintain the exclusivity. The paper will look into similar examples from art history, before the contemporary terms were formulated, in order to understand their origin, conceptual and contextual relevance in the history of visual art. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]Publication Date: 2020
- Call and Response: Teaching with Artists' Books at the Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago by The article discusses the Joan Flasch Artists’ Book Collection in the Flaxman Library at an the School of the Art Institute of Chicago in Chicago, Illinois. Topics include acquisitions for the library and considerations as to why a certain work is included or not, an overview of the collection's history, and the use of the collection by the public.Publication Date: 2019
- The Digital Archive of Artists' Publishing (DAAP): An email conversation with Ami Clarke and Lozana Rossenova by Gustavo Grandal Montero (ALJ):Could you give an overview of the main aims and context of the project?Ami Clarke (AC): The Digital Archive of Artists' Publishing (DAAP) is an interactive, user-driven, searchable database of artists' books and publications, that acts as a hub to engage with others, built by artists, publishers and a community of creative practitioners in contemporary artists' publishing, developed via an ethically-driven design process, and supported by Wikimedia UK and Arts Council England. The project is inspired by the site of Banner Repeater's public Archive of Artists' Publishing on Hackney Downs train station, with 11,000 people passing a day, in response to the need for a similarly dynamic approach to archiving in an online context. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]Publication Date: 2021
- Composting in the Herbarium by Since the early modern period, European and Euro-American botanists and natural historians have used printed books and herbarium specimens to teach practitioners how to see plants. These scientific modes of vision, however, obscured other ways of knowing and looking. This essay, which emerged from a series of conversations between a painter (Melissa Oresky) and a historian (Keith Pluymers) about the pasts of and potential futures for these visual materials and Oresky's production of an artist's book Finder (2020), argues that we might begin to reimagine these materials without forgetting their histories through the process of composting. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]Publication Date: 2020
- Samplings: South African Artists' Books byPublication Date: 2019