Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Aerospace Engineering Online Government Document Resources
The National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA)
The National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA) was a federal agency created in 1915. NACA was the precursor to NASA. This database contains full text of all NACA reports from 1917 to 1958.
The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) Aircraft Accident Database
The NTSB aviation accident database contains information from 1962 and later about civil aviation accidents and selected incidents within the United States, its territories and possessions, and in international waters. Generally, a preliminary report is available online within a few days of an accident. Factual information is added when available, and when the investigation is completed, the preliminary report is replaced with a final description of the accident and its probable cause. Full narrative descriptions may not be available for dates before 1993, cases under revision, or where NTSB did not have primary investigative responsibility.
The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) Aviation Accident Reports
The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) Aviation Accident Reports contains information from 1962 and later about civil aviation accidents and selected incidents within the United States, its territories and possessions, and in international waters. The NTSB issues an accident report following the investigation. The reports listing is sortable by the event date, report date, city, and state.
Online Government Document Resources
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
More than 50 percent of the research records in DTIC’s collection are available through the R&E Gateway — an access-controlled knowledge management repository available to authorized DoD personnel, defense contractors, federal government personnel, government contractors, and select academic institutions. The R&E Gateway requires Common Access Card (CAC) login or registration. Access to unclassified, unlimited information, including many full-text, downloadable documents are available to the general public through this website.
DoD Scientific and Technical Reports Collection (STINET)
The Defense Technical Information Center provides selected full-text and bibliographic records of unclassified, unlimited technical reports. The site also includes reports that have been received and processed since 1985.
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
The NTRS is a valuable resource for researchers, students, educators, and the public to access NASA's current and historical technical literature and engineering results.
Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)
OSHA Publications - most available as HTML or PDFs.
Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL)
Search U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1975 and digitized by the TRAIL Working Groups.
Print Government Document Resources
University Library print and microfiche collections of Government Documents.