Your Librarian
Not finding what you need? Contact Anna Liss Jacobsen for assistance.
Contact Us
Standards
About Standards
Standards are documented agreements containing technical specifications or other precise criteria to be used consistently as rules, guidelines, or definitions of characteristics, to ensure that materials, products, processes and services are fit for their purpose.
Most standards are not available for purchase by libraries in electronic format, but the Grainger Engineering Library holds a large collection of print standards, Standards are not in the library catalog, to determine if the library owns a standard, email your librarian, Anna Liss Jacobsen (ajacobse@illinois.edu). Purchasing standards takes time, so notify your librarian well in advance if you may need the library to make a purchase.
- ASTM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThe ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. From ASTM Compass, one can access ASTM's 12,500+ standards, the ASTM Digital Library that contains 1,500+ books, 16,800+ Journal Articles, and more than 47,000+ papers, chapters and articles, as well as online training courses and videos.
- ASME Digital Library This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts and full-text access to regularly published journals, conference proceedings, and e-books from The American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE digital library users. Browsable by books & e-books, conference publications, education and learning, journals and magazines, standards and by topic. Also provides links to IEEE standards, IEEE spectrum and other sites.
- AAMI StandardsStandards developed for the healthcare field, including for bioengineering. Currently the library only has print standards from AAMI, which you can find through our print database. If you need a print AAMI standard that we do not have, please contact the engineering library through our email, enginlib@library.illinois.edu.
- OSHA StandardsOSHA's Law and Regulations page includes current standards published by the organization. In the left-most column on the page, enter a standard number in the search bar or browse standards by category.
How to find standards
Follow these steps in order to find the standard you need. If at any step you find yourself needing help, you can visit us at the Grainger Engineering Library reference desk or send an email to enginlib@library.illinois.edu. We will be happy to assist you!
-
Do you know the exact title of the standard you need? (e.g. "I need standard SAE AIR 5797A-2018")
-
If yes, move on to step 2.
-
If not (e.g. "I know I need a standard regarding aircraft tires, but I don't know its exact title), follow the steps on the Finding Standard Names tab.
-
-
Do you know the version of the standard you need?
-
Check the date of publication: do you need the most recent revision, or a particular past version?
-
When you have determined the version you need, move on to step 3.
-
-
Determine the discipline that best describes the standard you're looking for using the following list. Use the link provided for that discipline to search for the standard in our digital holdings using the standard name you found in step 1.
-
If a physical standard is desired or digital holding was not found: Search the Grainger Engineering Library Print Standards database using the standard name you found in step 1.
-
If you locate it successfully, visit the stacks at Grainger Library to check out the standard. If you need any help, visit the circulation desk!
-
If you do not find it in this database, move on to step 5.
-
-
If you do not find the standard in the appropriate database above or if it is not available in full text:
-
Use the "Email Me" link in the sidebar, and we will determine whether we can purchase the standard. Do not purchase any standard yourself - we hope to connect you to the resources you need at no cost!
-
If you are interested in learning more about our policies regarding standards purchasing, please visit the Our Collection and Policies tab of the Standards LibGuide.
-