Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

How to Find Articles

How and where to find articles using the Library website.

Database Linking

Any time you want to save a link to an article you need to make sure that it is persistent and will work when you try to use it later. Database links in the top of the address bar are not permanent and will not work if you try to use them again. You can create persistent links either by:

  • Creating a URL containing the Library Proxy Prefix and the Persistent Link to the Record or Search.
  • Find the persistent link provided by the database on the article's information page.

DOIs

Some databases, including Web of Science and Scopus, provide DOIs instead of persistent links. “DOI” is an acronym for Digital Object Identifier, which is a unique electronic address assigned to a document in a large central database. DOIs work like any other persistent link you’ll find in a database

An example of a DOI from JSTOR is: 10.2307/1351651, as shown below:

JSTOR DOI example

The easiest way to get back to an article using its DOI is to search for it on the Library Website's Journal and Article Locator.

You can also access an article using its DOI by combing: 1) the Library Prefix, 2) the DOI HTTP string (http://dx.doi.org/), and 3) the DOI itself. It will look like this example: http://www.library.illinois.edu/proxy/go.php?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.2307/1351651.

Specific Databases

Different databases call persistent links different names, such as "stable URLs,” “durable links,” “bookmarks,” or even identify persistent links with an icon. Although each database is slightly different, the strategy for finding persistent links is generally the same. 

EBSCO

EBSCO databases include Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, EconLit, and ERIC. To create a persistent link in an EBSCO database:

Step 1: Search for an EBSCO database from the Library's Online Journals & Databases page.

Step 2: Enter search terms and click on an article of interest.

Step 3: Select Permalink from the menu on the right of the article's information page.

Step 4: Copy and paste the link which appears at the top of the page into a document or email message.

JSTOR

Step 1: Search for JSTOR from the Library's Online Journals & Databases page.

Step 2: Enter search terms and click on an article of interest.

Step 3: Copy and paste the “Stable URL" listed with the other citation information.

JSTOR Stable URL example

ProQuest

Step 1:  Search for a ProQuest Database from the Library's Online Journals & Databases page.

Step 2: Enter search terms and click on an article of interest.

Step 3: The persistent link to the article can be found under the Abstract/Details tab, labeled as Document URL.

LexisNexis Academic Universe

To link to an article in LexisNexis, you have to build a permanent URL by adding the Library Proxy Prefix (http://www.library.illinois.edu/proxy/go.php?url=) to the persistent link provided from the article's information page.

Step 1: Search for LexisNexis Academic Universe from the Library's Online Journals & Databases page.

Step 2: Enter search terms and click on an article of interest.

Step 3: Click on the clipboard and link icon, located in the top right-hand corner of the window. The icon is highlighted in red below.

LexisNexis persistent link icon

Step 4: In the pop-up window that appears, follow the directions provided to save the persistent link. You need to highlight the link provided, then right-click and select “Copy Link Location” or “Copy Shortcut.” You can then paste the link to a document or email message.

U of I Classic Catalog

The links you find in the VuFind Catalog are already persistent, so you can just copy and paste the URL for a particular record without having to worry about it breaking in your next session. In the Classic Catalog, however, all of the record URLs are temporary, so you’ll need to use the persistent link listed with the record's citation information.

Example of classic catalog record, arrow pointing to persistent link