LibGuides: Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD): Academic Resources

Journals

PTSD Research Quarterly (RQ)
This newsletter is produced by the National Center for PTSD. Each issue contains a review article written by guest experts on a specific topic related to PTSD with a bibliography with abstracts and a list of annotated citations.
Journal of Traumatic Stress
Peer-reviewed journal that focuses on biopsychosocial aspects of trauma.
Trauma, violence & abuse
Peer-reviewed journal that covers all topics related to violence, trauma, and abuse with particular strength in relation to children.

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study, which makes it a great place to start the beginning stages of your research.
Alternate Access Link
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to anyone interested in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO{reg} provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
PtSDpubs is free database that contains over 45,000 article citations about post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health conditions caused by traumatic events. Produced by the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and sponsored by the United States Department of Veteran Affairs.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Includes information on mental health.
Alternate Access Link
Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline is a website that features the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, fifth edition (DSM-5) and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references. This resource also includes books, journals, medication information handouts for patients, clinical and research news, self-assessment tools, and previous editions of the DSM.

A-Z Databases
Find the best library databases for your research. Filter by subject and content type.

Statistics

Check out our "Finding Statistics" guide for more information on finding statistics from multiple areas of study:

Finding Statistics
by Teaching, Learning, and Academic Support Library Last Updated Mar 15, 2024 217 views this year

National Center for Health Statistics
Provides a variety of health statistics and surveys. The information on this website is free and they also publish the National Vital Statistics Report.

Searching Tips

Combine keywords for a more complex search. Use the word AND to combine key words together and OR to search for one term or the other.

Examples:

Post-traumatic Stress Disorder OR PTSD
PTSD AND Trauma
Traumatized Populations AND Mental Health Services
Veterans
PTSD OR Post-traumatic Stress Disorder AND women
Post-traumatic Stress Disorder AND children

If you want to research historical documents on PTSD, try using the term "shell shock." While no longer used in medical or military discourse, shell shock was used to describe the PTSD like trauma World War I veterans experienced.