Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Digital Collections at the University of Illinois: Home

The University of Illinois has digitized a variety of important collections and made them available online. This guide is a topical overview of the highlights.

More Electronic Resources

Looking for something that isn't here?

This page only contains highlights from materials that the University itself has had a hand in digitizing.

If you're looking for other electronic resources that the library subscribes to, you can search for it in Online Journals and Databases or browse the websites of our departmental libraries for the subject you're looking for. Or Ask a Librarian and let us send you in the right direction!

About this Guide

The University of Illinois has been involved in digitizing many important parts of its holdings, from large scale initiatives like the Google Books Project to specialized resources such as the Carl Sandburg papers, aerial photographs of Illinois counties, and French World War I posters. 

This guide is meant to give a sense of the range of these digital collections and to make it easier to discover ones that interest you. Below is a brief description of the different places on the library website where you can find these collections. The tabs at the top of this guide organize the individual collections by topic.

Many digitized images can be searched by accessing the Library's image search page, with the option of searching within specific collections.

Sketch of FlowersIllio Student PhotographBuilding in Chicago

Sources for Digitized Materials from the Library

This guide covers the most important digital collections at the University. Check out these other websites for more detailed information.

HathiTrust

HathiTrust is a large-scale digital library based on the collections of 100+ member institution, including books and materials digitized by the University of Illinois.

History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library (HPNL)

The History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library (HPNL) has digitized the serial runs of Illinois newspapers (the Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections) and agricultural newspapers from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries (the Farm, Field, and Fireside: Agricultural Newspapers Collection).

IDEALS

IDEALS collects, disseminates, and provides persistent and reliable access to the research and scholarship of faculty, staff, and students at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. The IDEALS collection includes dissertations, published and unpublished articles, conference presentations, and Power Point slides.

Illinois Harvest

Illinois Harvest provides organized and thematic access to digitized and born-digital resources about Illinois, created by Illinois scholars, and from the digital collections of The University of Illinois Library.

Internet Archive

Books that have been digitized from the University of Illinois are also available in the Internet Archive. As of 2015, nearly 61,000 titles were available, and the site is continually updated.

Library Catalog

Many, though unfortunately not all, of the library's digitized books and digitized collections are searchable in the library catalog.

Locally Digitized Collections

This website has links to digitized images from the unique non-book collections of the University Library, including photographs, maps, and works of art on paper.

University Archives

The University Archives hold over 29,000 cubic feet and 3 terabytes of records and personal papers related to the past and present of the University. Although the bulk of this material is print-only, the University Archives staff have also scanned hundreds of photographs and drawings that are accessible through their website.

Ask a Librarian

University of Illinois Library
Contact:
Main Library
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-2290
Website / Blog Page