LibGuides: History 498C: The Foreign Gaze: Latin America in the Eyes of Travelers, 1750-1950: III. Periodicals

1. Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life

The two main article databases for history are:

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history, excluding North America, from 1450. Includes links to the full text of some articles. Complements America: History and Life. Indexes publications from 1954-present.
Alternate Access Link
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The main article database for researching American history. Use to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all periods of North American history. Includes some links to full text. Complements Historical Abstracts. Indexes publications from 1964-present.
Alternate Access Link

One or the other of these databases is usually the best starting place to search for scholarly articles in English on topics in history. America: History and Life covers articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all periods of North American history published since 1964. Historical Abstracts covers articles, book reviews, and dissertations published since 1954 on all aspects of world history, excluding North America, from 1450 to the present. The countries of Central America and the Caribbean are treated in both databases.

Use the Subject Browser in these databases to select your subject term(s). You can narrow your search by adding a keyword or using more than one subject term. Your search results display as short records, which you can expand by clicking on “Expand Record” at the bottom of the record on the right. The full entry shows you an abstract or summary of the article. Click on the “Discover” icon to find out if a record links to the full text of the article.

2. Other Article Databases

In addition to these two key databases, here are several multidisciplinary online article databases that provide indexing of articles on historical topics. Note that you can use many of these databases to find both primary and secondary sources related to the topic of this course.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
Identifies journal articles, books, book chapters, and conference papers on Latin American Studies. Indexes publications from 1935-present.
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) with HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
- This link opens in a new window
Two key article databases for Hispanic American, Latin American, and Caribbean Basin studies. Multi-disciplinary. Identifies journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, and Hispanics in the United States. While HAPI is an article index, PRISMA is a full text collection of scholarly journals. Together they cover a combination of peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed journals and periodicals. HAPI Indexes publications from 1966-present.

Victorian Database Online This link opens in a new window
Identifies books, journal articles, and dissertations on all aspects of 19th century British studies. Indexes publications from 1945-present.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
The backfile for Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, one of the oldest and most common article indexes. Identifies articles from general interest periodicals, including popular magazines such as "Life", "Look", "Colliers", "Ladies’ Home Journal", "Catholic World", "Good Housekeeping", "Saturday Evening Post", and "Country Life". Emphasis on American periodicals. Indexes publications from 1890-1982.
Alternate Access Link
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles from over 5,500 humanites and social sciences periodicals. Searches are by title keyword only--no subject headings. Complements Periodicals Archive Online. Indexes publications from 1665-present.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Identifies English-language articles from journals and magazines on Jewish religion and Jewish life. Indexes publications from 1988-present. Print edition extends coverage back to 1963.
Alternate Access Link
Eight Centuries This link opens in a new window
Combines "Index to Legal Periodical Literature, 1786-1922"; "Poole’s Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1907"; and several indexes for general and religious periodical literature of the late 19th century. Date coverage varies by file.

Article databases associated with other disciplines will also be useful for locating sources on travel. Your choice of these databases will depend on your particular topic. Some possibilities and their dates of coverage (as a reminder that you can find both primary and secondary sources in some of these databases as well) :

Hospitality & Tourism Index This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles, books, magazine articles, conference proceedings, country reports, trade publications, industry profiles, book reviews, pamphlets, and reports on all aspects of the hospitality and tourism industry. Indexes publications from 1965-present.
Alternate Access Link
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Combines two files: Anthropological Index (1957-present), and: Anthropological Literature (Late 19th century-present). Identifies articles in anthropology, including some treatment of subjects like archaeology, material culture, demography, museum studies, economics, psychology, folklore, and religious studies.
Alternate Access Link
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and chapters from essay collections on all aspects of Religious Studies. Indexing for some journal titles extends back into the 19th century. Indexes publications from 1949-present.
Alternate Access Link
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles, books, websites, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiches on political, social, public policy issues. Indexes publications from 1915-present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
1823-present. Full text content from thousands of journals published by major science publishers.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Geosciences Institute, GeoRef contains citations and abstracts to more than 3,500 journals in 40 languages as well as new books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered. Major areas of coverage include areal geology, economic geology, engineering geology, environmental geology, extraterrestrial geology, geochemistry, geochronology, geophysics, hydrogeology and hydrology, marine geology and oceanography, mathematical geology, mineralogy and crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology, stratigraphy, structural geology, surficial geology

3. Full Text Article Databases

There are also several major collections of full-text online journals. In these databases you can browse individual issues of journals, or you can do a search across the entire database.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The full text of over 1,500 scholarly journals, with coverage back to the first issue for each, in some cases as far back as the 17th century. Recent issues of most journals in this database are embargoed by journal publishers, so to be certain you are also identifying the most recent publications, use an article index like Historical Abstracts or America: History, and Life.

Several key historical journals are included, such as

Ethnohistory
Journal of Interdisciplinary History
Journal of Latin American Studies
Journal of Modern History
Past and Present
Journal of the Royal Geographic Society of London
Business History Review

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Over 600 scholarly journals, with emphasis on recent ten years of issues. Originally intended as a complement to JSTOR.

Here you will find, for example,

French Colonial History
Ethnohistory
Journal of Interdisciplinary History
Journal of Social History
Journal of Women’s History
Radical History Review
Journal of Colonialism and Colonial History
Victorian Studies

Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1665-present. Over 700 European and American periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
1740-1940. Over 1,000 titles. Probably the single most important digital collection of early American periodicals. Includes the sub-collection American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries, which is particularly strong in trade and labor periodicals.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of influential British periodicals (literary, political, religious, and more) published between 1680 and 1940.
19th Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Periodicals published in Great Britain from 1800-1900. Many periodicals reproduced in full color. Series 1: New Readerships (emphasizing women, children, humour, leisure, and sport). Series 2: Empire (emphasizing travel, anthropology, economics, evangelism, colonialism).

Browse periodical titles by subject in these last three collections. Some travel periodicals from these collections:

Illustrated Travels: A Record of Discovery, Geography & Adventure
Our Ocean Highways: The Monthly Geographical Record and Travellers' Register
Stories of Pluck: A High Class Weekly Library of Adventure at Home and Abroad, on Land and Sea
Vacation Tourists and Notes of Travel
Journal of Travel and Natural History
The Argosy : a magazine of tales, travels, essays, and poems
Journal of the Royal Colonial Institute

Church Missionary Society Periodicals This link opens in a new window
26 periodicals published between 1804 and 2009 by Britain's Church Missionary Society, the Church Missionary Society Mid-Africa Ministry, and the South American Missionary Society. No subject index for individual articles.
National Geographic Magazine This link opens in a new window
1888-present.