LibGuides: History 498C: The Foreign Gaze: Latin America in the Eyes of Travelers, 1750-1950: IV. Newspapers

1. Major Historical Newspapers Online

These titles contain digital facsimiles of the original newsprint and are keyword searchable. More titles

Times Digital Archive, The This link opens in a new window
The Times of London. The Sunday Times available on a separate platform. Part of Gale News Vault.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881-2014) This link opens in a new window
1881-1993. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-2013) This link opens in a new window
1849-1993. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003) This link opens in a new window
1874-1922. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010) This link opens in a new window
1922-1993. Part of ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005) This link opens in a new window
1934–2005. Part of ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1909-2010) This link opens in a new window
1910-1975. Part of ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010) This link opens in a new window
1931–2003. Part of ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010) This link opens in a new window
1893-1988. Part of ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010) This link opens in a new window
1911-2002. Part of ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal (1889-2010) This link opens in a new window
1889-1999. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851-2018) This link opens in a new window
1851-2013. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post (1877-2005) This link opens in a new window
1877-2000. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

2. Historical Newspaper Collections Online

Many newspapers are embedded in larger collections of online resources or in microfilm collections. The Center for Research Libraries maintains a list of International Newspaper Digitization Projects. Examples of online collections include:

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of titles, with especially strong coverage of the earliest American newspapers, but also strong coverage of the early 20th century. Includes the following sub-collections: Early American Newspapers, Series I through VII (1690-1922); 20th Century American Newspapers (1923-1993); Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980); African American Newspapers, Series I-II (1827-1998); Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection (1799-1977); and Caribbean Newspapers (1718-1876). Part of the Archive of Americana.
19th Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Library has Part I: 1800-1900 (47 newspapers, including the Illustrated Police News, the Morning Chronicle, and the Graphic, as well as radical papers like the Northern Star, and the Examiner); Part II: 1800-1900 (22 newspapers, including the London London Standard and the Morning Post); Part III: 1741-1950 (35 newspapers, including the Leeds Intelligencer, the Hull Daily Mail, the Northampton Mercury, the Poor Law Unions’ Gazette, and the Westmoreland Gazette); and Part IV: 1732-1950 (23 newspapers including Stamford Mercury to what is possibly the oldest magazine in the world still in publication, the Scots Magazine, the 23 newspapers including the Aberdeen Journal and Dundee Courier). Part of Gale News Vault.

Chronicling America
American newspapers published during 1836-1960. Also includes the U.S. Newspaper Directory with information about American newspapers from 1690 to the present.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Mostly scattered issues of over 300 Hispanic-American newspapers. Purports to be largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project" collection at the the University of Houston. Part of America's Historical Newspapers and the Archive of Americana.

Latin American Newspapers (World Newspaper Archive)
335 newspapers from twenty-two countries in nineteenth century and early twentieth century Latin America. The nineteenth century runs tend to be spotty, while twentieth century runs are nearer complete (and the collection contains no issues past 1923). Click here to view a complete title list for Latin American Newspapers (World Newspaper Archive). Part of World Newspaper Archive.
more...less...
Be aware that much of the OCR in this collection is very low quality, and keyword searches are therefore not reliable.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of titles.
World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Modules currently available include Latin American Newspapers, African Newspapers, and South Asian Newspapers.

3. Newspapers on Microfilm

UIUC Library has an extensive collection of historical newspapers on microfilm. Historical newspaper titles on microfilm can be found by searching the UIUC Library Newspaper Database. This database features searching by place and date of publication.

An important source for foreign newspapers on microfilm is the Center for Research Libraries, in Chicago. Use their Newspaper Catalog to browse records by place of publication. CRL microfilms can be requested through Inter-Library Loan.

4. Viewer Scanners

In addition to the traditional microfilm viewer printers, the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library owns several ScanPro microfilm scanners. With these devices, you can convert microfilm and microfiche to PDF files that can be easily saved to a USB drive, printed, or emailed free of charge.