LibGuides: History 200F: Class and Citizenship in Postwar America: the Rise and Fall of the American Working Classes: VII. Other Source Collections

1. Digital Collections

You'll find a wealth of source material on the Internet, often in digital collections from libraries, archives, museums, and government organizations. The trick is how to find them. Google is an option, but you might also consider trying directories and catalogs that specialize in scholarly resources. We recommend the following:

Below are a few examples of the kind of material you can find online.

Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey
The Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey was published in 1942 by the Chicago Public Library Omnibus Project of the Work Projects Administration of Illinois. Its purpose was to translate into English and classify selected news articles appearing in the Chicago area foreign language press from 1861 to 1938. The project consists of a file of 120,000 typewritten pages translated from newspapers of 22 different foreign language communities in Chicago.

Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
Books, brochures, audio recordings, cartoons, diaries, court reports, interviews, letters, speeches, videos, and more.

Produced by historians Kathryn Kish Sklar and Thomas Dublin. It includes an online journal and more than 1,600 primary source documents and several hundred images. Also included are a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. women's history, and a series of subject-based teaching strategies. The database is searchable by movements, authors, sources, a controlled vocabulary of subject terms, and other parameters.

American Decades: Primary Sources
1900-2000. Selected primary sources, organized by decade and then sub-organized by broad topics: Arts, Business & Economy, Education, Fashion & Design; Government & Politics, Law & Justice, Lifestyles & Social Trends, Media, Medicine & Health, Religion, Science & Technology, and Sports.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Digitized texts, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, archival sources, and sheet music that document the history of the United States, including African American history, religion, immigration, and urban history.

CCC: Civilian Conservation Corps (1933-1943): the New Deal's Depression-Era Ecological Movement by Broward County Library (Fort Lauderdale, Florida)
Online exhibit from a collection of books, pamphlets, posters, banners, clothing, memory books, newspapers and newsletters, certificates, games, matchbook covers, menus, patches, pillow cases, posters, and postcards.

Youngstown State University Oral History Project
Oral histories by residents of northeastern Ohio. Several oral histories on labor, strikes, and the steel industry.
Working Lives Oral History Project
Oral histories, with audio recordings and transcripts, or working African Americans in Birmingham, Alabama prior to World War II.
Harvard University's Open Collections
Includes 1800 books and pamphlets, 9,000 photographs, 200 maps, and 13,000 pages of archival material. Collections include: "Women Working, 1800-1930", "Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930", " Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics", and "Islamic Heritage Project".

Muncie Labor Oral History Project
Oral history interviews with former labor union members in Muncie, Indiana, as well as with local business and civic leaders.
Southern Oral History Program: Series E1: Labor
Interviews that focus on the growth and development of organized labor in the southeast from 1940 to the present.

Black Thought and Culture
Colonial times to the present. Non-fiction works, including interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, books, pamphlets, and letters, with brief, biographical entries for all authors. Some of the documents were previously-unpublished. Supports browsing by date, event, and other subjects.
Readex AllSearch
Search multiple sub-collections from a single interface: Early American Imprints, series I (1639-1800) and Series II (1801-1819), Afro-American Imprints, the U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980), and the American State Papers (1789-1838). Also includes America's Historical Newspapers and African American Periodicals. Search by keyword or subject term.
more...less...
Formerly called Archive of Americana, the collection now includes non-Americana as well.
Washington State Society and Culture Collection
Images from the Western United States and the Pacific Northwest region. Topics include women's issues, labor, government, ethnic groups, utopian colonies, social and leisure activities, and Japanese internment camps. Ca. late 1800s to 1950s.
Braceros in Oregon Photograph Collection
Photographs of Oregon's Bracero workers, Mexican citizens that were allowed to work as farm laborers throughout the U.S., ca. 1942 through 1947. Browse collection by topic, or perform keyword searches.

2. Print Collections

Report on Progress of the WPA Program by United States. Work Projects Administration.
Call Number: 331.8 UN382R
The Blue Eagle by National Recovery Administration
Call Number: 330.5 UNBL
Looking for the New Deal : Florida women's letters during the Great Depression by Elna C. Green
Call Number: 973.917 L872
ISBN: 1570036586
The Depression and New Deal : a History in Documents by Robert S. McElvaine
Call Number: 973.91 M154d
ISBN: 0195104935
Slaves of the Depression : Workers’ Letters About Life on the Job by Gerald Markowitz and David Rosner
Call Number: 331.250973 SL16
ISBN: 0801494648
Down & Out in the Great Depression : letters from the "forgotten man" by Robert S. McElvaine
Call Number: 973.91 D757
ISBN: 0807840998
Franklin Roosevelt and the New Deal by C. P. Hill
Call Number: 973.917 F854
ISBN: 0713118636
New Deal Thought by Howard Zinn
Call Number: 320.973 Z66N
Roosevelt’s Peacetime Administrations, 1933-41 : a Documentary History of the New Deal Years by G.H. Bennett
Call Number: 973.917 R67Wroosev
ISBN: 0719065658
Except to walk free; documents and notes in the history of American labor by Albert Fried
Call Number: 331.0973 F91E
ISBN: 0385029470
Depression, recovery, and war, 1929-1945 by Alfred B. Rollins, Jr.
Call Number: 973.91 R65D
American Labor: A Documentary Collection by Melvyn Dubofsky (Editor) and Joseph A. McCartin (Editor)
Call Number: 331.0973 Am355
ISBN: 0312295650
Publication Date: 2004
America’s Working Women: A Documentary History, 1600 to the present by Rosalyn Baxandall, Linda Gordon, Susan M. Reverby
Call Number: 331.40973 Am351995
ISBN: 0393036537
Publication Date: 1995
Black Workers Remember: An Oral History of Segregation, Unionism, and the Freedom Struggle by Michael Keith Honey
Call Number: 331.6396073 H757b
ISBN: 0520217748
Publication Date: 2001

3. Microform Collections

Papers of the Women's Trade Union League and its Principal Leaders by Edward T. James
Call Number: FILM 331.4 P186
131 reels. Collection focuses primarily on the years 1903-1925, but includes material through 1950.
The Daily Worker
Call Number: FILM 335.00977131 L149o3
Press Conferences of Franklin Delano Roosevelt
Call Number: FILM 973.917 R67pr
Papers of the NAACP. Part 10, Peonage, Labor and the New Deal, 1913-1939
Call Number: FILM 305.896073 N21 pt.10
Now available online in ProQuest History Vault.
Papers of the NAACP. Part 13, NAACP and Labor, 1940-1955
Call Number: FILM 305.896073 N21 pt.13a
The Papers of the NAACP contain several sections that might be useful for projects on labor in postwar America. Parts 10 and 13 are two of several potentially relevant sections.
Now available online in ProQuest History Vault.
American Civil Liberties Union Archives, 1950-1990: Series 4: Legal Case Files
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: FILM 323.0973 Am35aser.4
See original finding aid at Princeton University Library, which includes a searchable subject index to cases. Microfilm guide then keys cases to reel numbers.
American Civil Liberties Union Archives, 1950-1990: Series 3: Subject Files
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: FILM 323.0973 Am35a ser.3
Microfilm (356 reels) of archives at Princeton University.
American Civil Liberties Union Archives: The Roger Baldwin Years, 1917-1950
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: FILM 323.0973 Am35a
ISBN: 0842041508
Microfilm (293 reels) of the ACLU archives at Princeton University (the largest repository of ACLU records in the nation). Key topics in this series include conscientious objectors labor,, freedom of speech, academic freedom, and censorship.
American Labor Unions' Constitutions, Proceedings, Officers' Reports and Supplementary Documents
Call Number: MFICHE 331.87 AM372
Publication Date: 1886-1982
Recessions, Depressions, and Economic Panics in American History: Collection of Sources
Call Number: FILM 338.5420973 R243
ISBN: 0890930120
Guide.
Records of the Women’s Bureau of the Department of Labor, 1918-1965 by Dale Grinder (Editor)
Call Number: FILM 331.40973 Un3r
ISBN: 0890938709
Publication Date: 1991
Part 1: Reports of the Director, Annual Summaries, Major Conferences, Speeches, and Articles; Part 2: Women in Worold War II, Series A. Unpublished Studies and War Community Surveys.
The Black Power Movement. Part 4, The League of Revolutionary Black Workers, 1965-1976 by Ernie Allen, Jr.
Call Number: FILM 323.1196073 B5614
ISBN: 1556559356
The Strike Files of the U.S. Department of Justice, 1894-1920 by United States. Dept. of Justice.
Call Number: FILM 331.892973 UN32S
ISBN: 155655219X
Guide.
Minutes of the Executive Council of the American Federation of Labor by American Federation of Labor. Executive Council.
Call Number: FILM 331.88 A1E
ISBN: 1556553773
Publication Date: 1893-1955
55 reels.