Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Book & Film Reviews: Book Reviews: Print Resources

This guide will help you locate book and film reviews in print and online.

Why Use Print Sources?

Online sources are often easy to access and search. However, sometimes print resources offer better coverage for a specific information need. Here are just a few times when it is a good idea to use print resources. 

  • To find older materials: Coverage for online sources varies widely, but many databases only cover publications from the second half of the 20th century onwards. 
  • To find materials from other countries or about a narrowly defined research area. 
  • To examine how certain kinds of information have changed over time. 

Using Print Sources

Arrangement

Print indexes and bibliographies can be arranged in a variety of ways. Indexes can be arranged chronologically, by subject, or alphabetically by author or title. This guide includes information about the arrangement of select resources in order to help with your search. The first few pages of any given resource will often include a few notes about the arrangement of entries and many entries can be cross-referenced using detailed indexes that allow you to search by author or title within the larger work.

Finding Full-text 

These resources will provide you with detailed, accurate citations for published reviews that you can use to locate the full-text of the article. For instructions on how to to this, consult our guide on how to Find a Specific Article.

 

Book Review Sources in Print

Below is a list of useful print sources for finding reviews covering a broad range of scholarly and general interest books. Additional sources, covering more narrowly-defined subjects, can be identified by searching the Library Catalog or consulting a librarian. These sources provide detailed citations of published reviews, but do not contain the reviews in full.

Ask a Librarian

University of Illinois Library's picture
University of Illinois Library
Contact:
Main Library
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-2290
Website / Blog Page