Finding Zines in The Library
Zines can be found throughout the library system in libraries like
- Ricker Library of Architecture and Art
- Rare Books and Manuscripts Library
- Main Stacks
- International and Area Studies Library
Ricker is currently the only library with a central collection of zines but the list is growing.
Finding Zines In The Catalog
Doing a keyword search for zines is not the most effective search strategy. A more useful way to find zines is by searching for a subject in the U of I Collection, then filtering your results using the tools on the left hand column. Many of the zines in catalog can be found by selecting "zines" on the "genre" or "subject" filters.
Some other Keyword Search Terms that relate to zines or may be used instead of "zine" include:
- Author books
- DIY Publishing
- Independent Publishing
- Alternative Media
- Comics/Comix
- Experimental Books
- Altered Books
- Fanzines / Fan Magazines
- Graphic novels
- Social Conditions
- Photobooks
- Monographs
- Punk culture
- Independent media
- Alternative media
- Underground (press, comic books, media, publications, strips, etc.)
Tips for Searching for Zines
- Though many zines are self-published, a large amount are then spread or published through a distributor. By searching for specific "distros," you can see most of their zines located in our collection. For example, try Wasted Ink Zine Distro.
- Note that some collections may come up as an individual record, rather than several records for each item. For example, there are records at Ricker that are collections of zines that were all completed for a class final, and thus added to the library together. This may also apply to specific zine series released as volumes or zines released together.
- Additionally, Zine-making is often more social in nature than the traditional book writing process. Zines can be collaborative projects with many contributors adding to the pages of a single issue. It's not unusual for them to be part of an exchange where copies of a zine are sent to others. Zines are also commonly made in groups around a common topic, so to understand the work fully, you might also need to know the context of its creation.
- Of course, you can also always ask for support! We're here if any questions come up for you. The Ask A Librarian chat box will get you in direct contact with a librarian at UIUC, and if instant messaging isn't for you, you can email rickerlibrary@library.illinois.edu!
Zine Topics
Though many zines revolve around social issues and alternative culture, there is a myriad of topics you can find zines on including:
- Sports
- Gambling
- Video Games
- Food
- Roe v. Wade (Abortion)
- AI
- Discussions on the government
- Enviromentalism
- Technology
- Aliens, ghosts, and other supernatural things
- Conspiracies
- Music, arts, and culture
- And so much more!
Noticed we're missing a zine topic in our collection? Make your own!
Zines at the University Libraries
-
[Collection of zines by students of the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign] Zines created by students of the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.This collection includes zines from students in ARTS 405 Special Topics in Printmaking and ARTS 205 Introduction to Printmaking. This collection also includes a Zine Swap 2018 flyer. Institutional organizer for the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign was Emmy Lingscheit. Overall organizer was Sage Perrot. The 2018 Zine Swap! included 128 total participants from 9 institutions. Each participant submitted an edition of 25 zines, and received a random assortment of 15 zines. [1] A day in the life of an art teacher / Jade Victoria Browning [2] How to ball / Edwin Capuli [3] How to tame your labrador / Sarah Christiansen [4] The chess board / Adiran Dizon and Donna Dimitrova [5] Transformation / Annalise Dunsmore [6] Night life / Kathleen Patricia Durkin [7] How to stop mansplaining / Lindsay Endres [8] Thoughts of dog / Kate Garvey [9] [Untitled] / Ozzie Gong [10] Odd / Andrew Harlan [11] [Untitled] / Anna Henderson [12] Welcome : what to do when you have guests over / Eunji Jung [13] The lonely sasquatch / Alyssa Knights -- [14] I was listening to Letterkenny while attempting arts-works / Brock Landsdrum -- [15] A step by step guide on the stitching, repairing, or otherwise mending of damaged or broken hearts / Evelyn Li [16] The misadventures of roomba / Emmy Lingscheit [17] How to tier in games efficiently / Edgar Madrigal [18] Dude, you're projecting / Jada Marriott -- [19] Back-pocket business + interview reminders for art majors like me who didn't learn any of this (or did and are very forgetful) / Katrina Monreal [20] Prayer / Guen Montgomery [21] Find / Megan Myrie [22] Easing eczema / Marielle Riley [23] Bring the queer empire right to your doorstep / Max Rowland [24] How to ghost someone / Alyssa Solis -- [25] [Untitled] / Adam Souhrada [26] The art of coffee making / Kristy V Wong [27] The observations of a one year old cat that I took care of over the summer for one month / Amanda Yu [28] Sweet sweet potato! / Tiffany Zhang -- [29] Zine Swap 2018.Publication Date: 2018
-
[Collection of zines by students of the University of Minnesota] Zines created by students of the University of Minnesota. Institutional organizer for the University of Minnesota was Edie Overturf. Overall organizer was Sage Perrot. The 2018 Zine Swap! included 128 total participants from 9 institutions. Each participant submitted an edition of 25 zines, and received a random assortment of 15 zines. Contents: [1] The wisdom & teachings of Fuego / Lamia Abukhadra and Emma Brunette [2] How to build a wall in your local community / Lamia Abukhadra and Prerna [3] Pearls of wisdom / Chase Barney [4] USA / Eliot Berven [5] Am I a menopause activist?? / Emma Brunette [6] Uncharted territory / Genevieve Desotelle [7] Where is my body? / Emma Friend [8] Cognitive distortions are a b*tch / Tilde Hamer [9] Coping mechanisms / Natalie Klemond -- [10] Real visions / Brittany Kieler [11] Manual for proper cat care : according to my cat / Minty Lemberg [12] What's under my skull / Maggie McClun [13] Historying the past: contextualising histoy & self / Sam Peck [14] Goats, parrot, s, and propoganda / Roger O. Jr [15] Findings : from along the way / A.E. Orbovich [16] Bitchcraft : a zine on female ambition & resisting the disease to please / Tessa Portuese [17] Come play scent / Dillon Rapp [18] Who is the superior being / Jenna Richardson [19] Look me in the guts: tell me what it means / Kathryn Schulz.Publication Date: 2018
-
[Collection of zines by students of the Kansas City Art Institute]. by Zines created by students of the Kansas City Art Institute. Institutional organizer for the Kansas City Art Institute was Ani Volkan. Overall organizer was Sage Perrot. The 2018 Zine Swap! included 128 total participants from 9 institutions. Each participant submitted an edition of 25 zines, and received a random assortment of 15 zines. [1] Quarter machine / Astrid Anaya [2] Flower series / Morgan M. Elliot [3] Hanz / MacKenzie Fulmer [4] Cute lizards on the internet / Rj Junger -- [5] [Untitled] / Alyza Perez [6] Ambition [7] Fairy rests [8] Septem mortalibus peccatis [9] [Untitled] [10] Whatever.Publication Date: 2018
-
Karbala fired resistance stories
by
This zine is to uplift the perspectives of often untold Muslims - the radicals, queers, fabulous and fierce folks - through adding narratives of navigating the spectrum of practice, belief, ideology, sect, gender and islamophobia. This zine is about resistance and resilience, and telling us the stories for ourselves with all their edges, contradictions, beauties and gems. Volume 2 is inspired by the yearly traditions of muharram and the stories of karbala which exemplify social justice, resistance to oppression, courage to change and strong solidarity. It touches on topics including anti-imperialist politics, loneliness, reclaiming identity, and the impact of war, xenophobia, and racism. Filled with artwork, poetry, and writings from as far away as Mexico City, the zine is split into two sections. "Raised Fists" focuses on the impacts of war, especially from the point of view of Muslims separated from their homelands. "Open Hearts" shows how visible queer and trans Muslims are making pathways within their families, communities, and histories.
Image from Oakland North: https://oaklandnorth.net/tag/totally-radical-muslim-zine/
Publication Date: 2013 -
Evil Child
by
Cover title.
Edition and publication information taken from Booklyn website.
"Evil Child is a 20-page zine following the story of a corrupted .zip file that has turned into a fairy ring. By weaving folktales of changelings with the author's childhood internet experiences, Evil Child navigates a certain queer anxiety."-- Booklyn website (viewed April 30, 2021)
Image from Printed Matter: https://www.printedmatter.org/catalog/51383/
Publication Date: 2018 -
Juntos
by
"Juntos explores the intersections of Black and Mexican identity in life and in struggle. Featuring interviews with T's family, original poetry, and foundational texts in Black and Mexican liberation, this zine provides a narrative of Blaxican unity and conflict that leads up to the culmination of Tanya's investigation into Black/Mexican relations."--Creator's website.
Image from Creator's website:
https://tcalvin.com/zines-and-chapbooks
Publication Date: 2021 -
This goth bitch. Issue No. 4
by
Collages, illustrations, and comics by MV Garcia, Cemetery Centerfold and naming rituals by Sexilia Labia, and interview with horror hostess and spooktacular drag queen Mistress Azrael, an overview of Atsushi Sakurai of Japanese goth band BUCK-TICK and more. Etsy.
Image by Quimbys: https://www.quimbys.com/store/8646
Publication Date: 2016 -
A very basic guide to low-tech risograph printing.
by
Cover title.
"Originally created for Risograph Workshops at the Compound Gallery in Oakland, CA. Amy Burek"--Back cover.
image from Awkward Ladies Club: http://www.awkwardladiesclub.com/shop/a-very-basic-guide-to-low-tech-risograph-printing
Publication Date: 2019 -
An Attempt at a "Compositionist Manifesto"
by
Written as an essay, 'An Attempt at a «Compositionist Manifesto»' points out the need for the manifesto as a genre, and its total coincidence with contemporaneity despite the opposite thinking being dominant. Using the Communist Manifesto as a model based on the common speech, Latour constructs a Manifesto using the different meanings of the word «compose» in order to think about a new world: one that is composed and decomposed into heterogeneous elements. For the author the manifesto is the composite of the world that we need to imagine.
Risograph printed, paper cover.
ISBN: 6079745054Publication Date: 2016 -
Constantly
by
A poetic meditation rendered in beautiful pastels and black line on managing and struggling to get through the small tasks of every day. The claustrophobia of thought and the crippling of anxiety make any house haunted, any body possessed.
ISBN: 9781927668726Publication Date: 2020 -
PPP: The Zines of Paper Rad
by
Image from:
Delema Books. “PPP: The Zines of Paper Rad,” 2015. https://delemabooks.com/Shop.
ISBN: 9780692486450Publication Date: 2015 -
Cory Arcangel: the Source Digest
by
A compilation of Issues 1-10 of The Source, an archival zine series published by Arcangel Surfware between 2013 & 2016
ISBN: 9780996636087Publication Date: 2017 -
Tuli Kupferberg: Yeah
by
This volume collects all ten issues of the classic 1960s zine Yeah, edited by Fugs pioneer and poet Tuli Kupferberg and his wife Sylvia Topp, as facsimile editions. Originally published by Kupferberg and Topp's Birth Press between 1961 and1965, the magazine was, according to Kupferberg, "a satyric excursion; a sardonic review; a sarcastic epitome; a chronical of the last days," and throughout its pages he acts as both editor and artist, threading the needle of leftist politics with the sharp wit for which he became known as one of the founders of the counterculture rock heroes The Fugs. The magazine began under the shadow of the Cold War, with Kupferberg and fellow poets contributing poetry, drawings and collages that protested the social problems of the time: nuclear war, white supremacy, the Cold War and the Vietnam War, among others. Around issue seven, the magazine shifted toward an aesthetic that most closely resembles the cut-and-paste zine style of the '70s and '80s. In these issues, Kupferberg collages articles, images and advertisements in book-length meditations that bite and snap at the American dream with the artist's trademark sarcasm. The magazine ended with the infamous "Kill for Peace" issue, which lampooned American patriotism on the eve of America's escalated involvement in Vietnam.
ISBN: 9780990689690Publication Date: 2017 -
Books & Zines
by
Chiefly illustrations mostly without text; stapled; RISO black + white.
Publication Date: 2017 -
No Age and Brian Roettinger
by
"For over a decade designer Brian Roettinger has been collaborating with Los Angeles duo No Age (Dean Spunt and Randy Randall) on albums and side projects resulting in an expansive audio/visual body of work. Having all grown up on underground music, they forged a friendship at DIY Venue The Smell, collaborating in a creative manner that seemed inevitable to both Roettinger and the band. What started in 2007 with a series of five No Age EP's, has grown and evolved into a visual power trio of sorts, with each project responding to or reacting against the last. From a CD case that is really more like a zine, to hand assembling an entire run of LP's, Roettinger and No Age have always looked for ways to defy conventions of album packaging while retaining a sense of urgency that has become central to each of their practices. No Age & Brian Roettinger: Graphic Archive 2007-18 is the most recent addition to this on-going collaboration, an artist book-meets-lexicon of the long running creative collaboration." -- printedmatter.org.
ISBN: 9781732056169Publication Date: 2018
-
Standing Under the Estate of Art, Understanding the State of Art
by
Cover title. On cover, "Standing under the estate of art" is crossed out in red pen.
Publication Date: 2010-2018? -
-
Cycling
by
Cycling is the second book in the Women's Health Chapbook Series, following Tip of the Iceberg: A Book About the Clitoris. The Women's Health Chapbook Series is a non-fiction family of books that make information about your body accessible and fun.
ISBN: 9780982822425Publication Date: 2010 -
The Book of Boy Trouble
by
A collection of the best of the first 10 years of the popular alternative zine Boy Trouble - the world's first forum for alternative gay comic artists. Boy Trouble is a zine with a unique character - gay comics with attitude, ranging from sex, love and longing to alienation, porn shops, drugs and punk rock. With the first edition of Boy Trouble now regarded by many as a defining moment in the public recognition of alternative gay male comic book artists, this is an equally important milestone - a first collection of one of the most important and influential gay boy zines around.
ISBN: 1931160457Publication Date: 2006 -
A5 (Mumbai, India) byPublication Date: 20??
-
-
Hear Us Emerging Sisters: HUES by Bimonthly, Sept./Oct. 1998-Mar./Apr. 1999Publication Date: 1992-1999
-
H2so4. Journal by Semiannual. Available in other form: Print version: H2so4.Publication Date: 1993-2004
-
-
Zines+ and the World of ABC No Rio
by
"By straddling the line between functional brochure and works of art realized in book form, the zine has retained its popularity even as the internet has largely become the preferred method of self-publishing. Zines+ and The World of ABC No Rio, organized by Jason Lujan, is an exhibition that goes beyond the mere form of the zine, which is usually a cheaply-made and priced publication, often in black and white, mass-produced via a photocopier, and bound with staples. The exhibit presents and explains a range of these self-same printed materials, mixing both artists' original creations with items from the ABC No Rio zine library archives, covering subject matter from arts-community history to political commentary. The zines will be shown in the context of art in book form. The overall aesthetic reflects a Do-It-Yourself approach, firmly rooted in a downtown New York scene that celebrates volunteerism, art, and activism. The zine form lends itself as a tool for community activism and empowerment. And, through this exhibition that community's voice, the Lower East Side downtown scene, is clearly articulated"--Center for Book Arts website, viewed September 8, 2014.
Publication Date: 2014 -
Writing a Riot
by
Riot grrrls, punk feminists best known for their girl power activism and message, used punk ideologies and the literacy practice of zine-ing to create radical feminist sites of resistance. In what ways did zines document feminism and activism of the 1990s? How did riot grrrls use punk ideologies to participate in DIY sites? In Writing a Riot: Riot Grrl Zines and Feminist Rhetorics, Buchanan argues that zines are a form of literacy participation used to document personal, social, and political values within punk. She examines zine studies as an academic field, how riot grrrls used zines to promote punk feminism, and the ways riot grrrl zines dealt with social justice issues of rape and race. Writing a Riot is the first full-length book that examines riot grrrl zines and their role in documenting feminist history.
ISBN: 9781433150777Publication Date: 2018 -
Punk, Fanzines and DIY Cultures in a Global World
by
Since the 1970 and 1980s, fanzines have constituted a zone of freedom of thought, of do-it-yourself creativity and of alternatives to conventional media. Along with bands, records and concerts, they became a vital part of the construction of punk 'scenes', actively contributing to the creation and consolidation of communities. This book moves beyond the usual focus on Anglophone punk scenes to consider fanzines in international contexts. The introduction offers a theoretical, chronological and thematic survey for understanding fanzines, considering their contemporary polyhedral vitality. It then moves to consider the distinct social, historical and geographic contexts in which fanzines were created. Covering the UK, Portugal, Greece, Canada, Germany, Argentina, France and Brazil, as well as a wide range of standpoints, this book contributes to a more global understanding of the fanzine phenomenon.
ISBN: 3030288757Publication Date: 2019 -
The Newsstand
by
This book documents and encapsulates the story of The Newsstand, a pop-up retail space conceptualized and produced by Alldayeveryday and curated by Lele Saveri. The most comprehensive anthology of contemporary zine culture of New York and beyond, including more than a thousand contemporary artist publications and independently produced zines, books, and artworks. The Newsstand was a pop-up conceptual retail store that transformed an ordinary subway hub into a mecca for independently published magazines, books, comics, and zines. Located within Brooklyn's Metropolitan Avenue L/G stop in 2013, the temporary space hosted events and art exhibitions in which the artists, acting as guest clerks, were given carte blanche to transform the space. In November 2015, The Newsstand will be re-created and built to scale at the Museum of Modern Art, New York, including the zines and books sold in its original location. The Newsstand catalogue features images of the zines, books, and ephemera sold; documentation of the events and exhibitions; images of the guest clerks and artists; essays by leading cultural figures; and interviews with the publishers, artists, commuters, MTA workers, and police officers influenced by The Newsstand. Designed in the style of a zine, this book documents not only a prolific time within independent publishing, but also the thriving community that supports it.
ISBN: 9780847847556Publication Date: 2016
The following databases are great places to search for journals, articles, essays, and reviews:
-
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window Based on a merger of databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson, and including many unique sources that were never previously available, this database covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. This database features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
-
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window This database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Features full abstracts and indexing from art journals published from the late 1960s onwards. Also incorporates book records, including those drawn from the collections of the Tate Library and the Bibliothèque Dominique Bozo, Musée LAM. Coverage: 1974 - current
-
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window Design and applied arts index (DAAI) is the leading source of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. An indispensable tool for students, researchers, and practitioners worldwide, DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
These are some specific examples of materials you can find through them:
-
Zine Authors' Opinions about Public and Academic Library Collections of Their Work byPublication Date: 2019
-
(Im)Patient Narratives: Peer-to-Peer Health Information Transfer in the LGBTQ+ Community via Zines from the Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) by This project examines how queer and trans zines have complicated the notion of traditional patient narratives and provides insight into the issues that LGBTQ+ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer/questioning) populations face when accessing healthcare information and resources. Historically, information about queer and trans identities has been suppressed in the United States, reflecting dominant social values that pathologize queer identities. Using health-related zines housed at the Queer Zine Archive Project as a case study, this project investigates how queer and trans zines about healthcare have resisted these homophobic and transphobic ideologies. The analysis reveals that queer and trans zinesters use their feelings of impatience with the medical industry to fuel communal solutions to accessing and providing health care information. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]Publication Date: 2020
-
Artist Books and Art Zines: Past and Present by The paper is a study of art zines, related ephemera and artist books as well as their historical and conceptual relevance in the study of art. The aim is to look into the precursors and influences to the same and how zines, especially art zine and artists' books evolved to their contemporary state. Zines are magazine/ books like, though more content-specific, primarily self- published and are produced in limited editions. On the other hand, artists' books can be self published or gallery/ patron sponsored with limited or sometimes no copies to maintain the exclusivity. The paper will look into similar examples from art history, before the contemporary terms were formulated, in order to understand their origin, conceptual and contextual relevance in the history of visual art. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]Publication Date: 2020