The ATLA Religion Database is a comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research. The file contains citations from international titles and 13,000 multi-author works in and related to the field of religion. It also includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, book reviews, and Doctor of Ministry projects from ATLA's print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR). Though coverage is from 1949 to the present, not all publications began in 1949.
This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains 787,165 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present... In addition to entries compiled since 1997, the online BAS includes the full data of all of the printed volumes of the BAS issued from the 1971 up to the 1991 volumes (published in 1997)... Through the 1991 printed volume, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992, however, have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases such as WorldCat..
Scholarly publication related to East Asian religions. Although many of the articles are in French there are some in English as well.
Each issue is published under a theme and contains articles related to said theme.
Useful for understanding standard romanization of Chinese used by the Library of Congress.
The Encyclopedia of Taoism by Fabrizio Pregadio (Editor)
Call Number: Non-circulating 299.51403 En192
Publication Date: 2008-01-10
The Encyclopedia of Taoism provides comprehensive coverage of Taoist religion, thought and history, reflecting the current state of Taoist scholarship. Entries are thoroughly cross-referenced and, in addition, 'see also' listings are given at the foot of many entries. Attached to each entry are references taking the reader to a master bibliography at the end of the work. There is chronology of Taoism and the whole is thoroughly indexed.
Note: 2 volume set. Second volume contains a very good extensive bibliography
A very good place to start research
Located at HPNL
Daoism Handbook by Livia Kohn (Editor)
Call Number: BL1925 .D36 2000
Publication Date: 2000-06-01
Thirty major scholars in the field wrote this new, authoritative guide to the main features and development of Daoism. The chapters are devoted to either specific periods, or topics such as Women in Daoism, Daoism in Korea and Daoist Ritual Music. Each chapter rigidly deals with a fixed set of aspects, such as history, texts, worldview and practices. Clear markings in the chapters themselves and a detailed index make this volume the most accessible key resource on Daoism past and present.
Historical Dictionary of Taoism by Julian F. Pas; Jon Woronoff (Editor)
Publication Date: 1998-06-04
Taoism is often described as the smallest and least known of China's historical "Three Teachings," which also include Confucianism and Buddhism. This book provides a readable overview while simultaneously giving sufficient detail about the intricate and beautiful complexities of Taoism. A lengthy introduction deals with the historical development of Taoism, including its current situation within the world. It outlines the basic teachings, concepts, and writings, and also describes their historical significance. It also presents viewpoints on the crucial debate concerning whether Taoism is a religion, a philosophy or both. The dictionary section of the book presents the concepts, persons, rituals, beliefs, and historically significant events of Taoism in great detail. The entries move fluidly between current teachings in Taoism and their historical antecedents. Also included is a helpful chronology of Taoist history as well as notes on the romanization of Chinese.
Taoism by Jennifer Oldstone-Moore
Publication Date: 2003-07-03
Illustrated, simple overview of Taoism. A good place to start if you don't have a background in Taoism.
Title Index to Daoist Collections by Louis Komjathy
Publication Date: 2005-06-30
Title Index to Daoist Collections is a catalogue of texts as they appear in various Daoist collections. It provides a title index to not only the Zhengtong daozang, the standard textual collection for Daoist Studies, but also to six other important collections of Daoist texts, namely, the Dunhuang manuscripts, Daozang jiyao, Daozang jinghua lu, Daozang jinghua, Zangwai daoshu, and Qigong yangsheng congshu. With regards to the Zhengtong daozang, this volume contains a combined title index using the numbers of the Concordance du Tao-tsang, Daozang zimu yinde, Daozang tiyao, fascicle-based system, and the volume and page number of each text as it appears in the reduced 36-volume edition. Easy to use, the Index gives access to all Daoist texts collected over the centuries and provides a clear, standardized way of referring to them.
(not in catalogue: available through ILL)