Contact Us
State Government Information
Find resources for information about and by state-level governments.
Illinois
Resources specifically about the State of Illinois Government.
- State of IllinoisOfficial website of the Illinois State Government. Includes a list of agencies, services, and departments.
- Electronic Documents of Illinois(Illinois State Library) Provides permanent public access to official publications in electronic form.
- Office of the Illinois Secretary of StateIncludes information about state services, forms, publications, news, and links to departments. Provides access to Illinois State Library, Illinois State Archives, and Illinois Blue Book.
- Illinois General Assembly(Legislative Branch) Includes information about and links to State Senate, State Representatives, legislation, reports, regulations, statutes, and administrative code.
- Illinois Courts(Judicial Branch) Includes information (such as opinions, rules, reports, policies, and forms) for state’s supreme court, appellate court, and circuit court.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window(UIUC Subscription) Find newspaper articles, editorials, opinion pieces, and reports about state events and issues.
General Resources
Resources for finding information about other state governments.
- Library of Congress: State and Local Government InformationProvides general state government information and links to each state's government websites.
- State Constitutions, Statutes, and Related Legislative InformationLegal Information Institute (through Cornell University Law School) - provides links to state government websites and legislative documents (including constitutions, statutes, bills, court rules, and more).
- State Agency DatabasesGuide to publicly searchable databases from state agencies. Includes guides for each state and subject guides for types of agencies.
- State Blue Books and EncyclopediasGuide including state informational resources, often called "State Blue Books".
- State, Local, and Tribal Governments(USA.gov) Provides contact information for state governments, state officials, courts, and more.