"Numerous early charters in the cartulary identify other twelfth-century nuns and their relatives, and shed light on the founding of the abbey, its royal and private patronage, and its extensive real estate holdings. Other documents in the volume are excellent sources for women’s literacy and culture, religious practices in the diocese of Lincoln, social relations between the nuns and the larger community, and the local urban and rural economy in Oxfordshire and nearby counties [...] In the text, documents dating from about 1225 or earlier are printed in full, in the original Latin, with English introductions and notes; later documents have been fully summarized in English, with complete witness lists."--Publisher description.

1 vol.: 1. A true account of the great tryals and cruel sufferings [excerpt] / Katharine Evans and Sarah Cheevers -- 2. An account of her experiences during her visits to New England, 1661 and 1663-65/6 / Elizabeth Hooton -- 3. A brief account of some of my exercise from my childhood ; ’Testimony concerning her dear husband’ [excerpt] ; A Letter from me, to my dear grandchild Springett Penn [excerpt] / Mary Penington -- 4. A relation of the labour, travail, and suffering [excerpt] / Alice Curwen -- 5. An account of the birth, and education, with the services and sufferings for the truth’s sake [excerpt] / Elizabeth Andrews -- 6. Strength in weakness manifest [excerpt] / Elizabeth Stirredge -- 7. A relation of Margaret Fell [excerpt] ; ’The testimony ... concerning ... George Fox’ [excerpt] ; The examination and trial of Margaret Fell [excerpt] / Margaret Fell -- 8. An apostate-conscience exposed [excerpt] / Anne Docwra -- 9. A legacy, or widow’s mite [excerpt] / Alice Hayes -- 10. A letter ... to Anthony William Boehm [excerpt] / Elizabeth Webb -- 11. ’A Memorable Instance of Divine Guidance and Protection’ / James Dickinson and Jane Fearon.
Indexed.

6 vols. "Taken together, the six volumes represent a ground-breaking and substantial contribution, not only to the field of women's writing, but to current understanding of the intellectual culture of the later eighteenth century. The collection makes available, for the first time, an array works (including manuscript letters) previously unavailable to scholars" (From the Notes & Queries review by Karen O'Brien)

Single women --England --Hereford --History --17th century --Sources. Single women --England --Hereford --Economic conditions --17th century --Sources. Home economics --England --Hereford --History --17th century --Sources.

1 vol. "As works designed for mothers to instruct their children within the home, early modern mother-directed catechisms, like traditional catechisms, use the question-and-answer format to present the basic tenets of the Protestant faith [...] This collection demonstrates that these catechisms provide valuable insight into constructions of early modern maternity, and more broadly, into the degree of power and authority accorded to women in the early modern Protestant family. It includes nearly all of the extant catechisms the editor was able to locate which were designed expressly for mothers and published between 1550 and 1750." (From the publisher's description)

1 vol. Indexed. "Both its exacting introduction and its thorough collection and consideration of the letters of Dorothy Percy Sydney make Brennan, Kinnamon, and Hannay's edition an asset to Sydney scholars around the world. Its modernized spellings promise to reveal the importance of Dorothy's writing to all levels of researchers" (From the Notes & Queries review by Hannah Leah Crummé)

1 vol. Indexed. "Though all but three of Robert Sidney's 332 extant letters to his wife Barbara Gamage Sidney have been in the Sidney family archive, they have never previously been fully transcribed or edited. This edition of the surviving letters, which Sidney wrote to his wife when they were separated for long periods by his official duties at various continental locations, provides a wealth of information about the Sidneys' family life. They touch on matters such as family illnesses, the children's education, court gossip, finances, and the construction of additions to Penshurst Place, the seat of the Sidney family." (From the publisher's description)

1 vol. Indexed. "(Parker) fully annotates the collection, and includes appendixes on matters relevant to the families [...] He has added a brief abstract of each letter and a useful bibliography, revised some notes, and reorganized and expanded his introductory essay [...] Parker has provided students and scholars an important source, nicely situated in its social context, and a pleasure to read" (From the Sixteenth Century Journal review by Diane Willen)

1 vol. The complete surviving works of the London printer-author Elinor (Blanckes) James (c. 1645-1719).

1 vol. "Elizabeth Cellier, the scandalous celebrity known as the 'Popish midwife', became the focus of a large number of pamphlets in 1680: accounts of her two trials, her self-vindication, Malice Defeated, her opponent Thomas Dangerfield's rejoinder, and various anonymous satiric attacks against her. She was tried twice: the first time for the more serious charge of treason, and the second for libel, for publishing Malice Defeated [...] Her writings exhibit her remarkable determination to publish her accusations of judicial torture and her advocacy of the licensing of midwives as professional women, as well as exemplifying the importance of the printing press for enabling women to participate in the political public sphere" (From the publisher's description)

1 vol. Indexed. "In 1574, Christopher Barker published a volume of prayers and poems collected and composed by Elizabeth Tyrwhit, an intimate member of Katherine Parr's circle, governess to the princess Elizabeth, wife of a Tudor court functionary, and a wealthy widow [...] In the volume's introduction, Felch provides background on Tyrwhit's life and family, including new information unearthed in her research; and sets Tyrwhit's work within the context of sixteenth- century English prayerbooks." (From the publisher's description)

"each (volume) contains an excellent introductory essay to the documents as a whole, and individual commentaries provide context for each selected text. The index is adequate and the facsimiles are of varying quality, but even undergraduates will have little difficulty mining the jewels in this collection [...] lack of integration between the texts and the informed endnotes produced by the various editors" (From the Sixteenth Century Journal review by Whitney A.M. Leeson)

1 vol.: London Court of Arches records, 1667-1675 -- Two: London Court of Arches records, 1690-1706 -- London Court of Arches records, 1715-1735 -- St. Margaret Westminster settlement examinations, 1718-1725 -- St. Margaret Westminster settlement examinations, 1726-1735.
Indexed.

1 vol. Extensive commentary. Fox's translation of the Benedictine Rule for Women is an edited edition printed in modern type.

The character and studies befitting a free-born youth / Pier Paolo Vergerio -- The study of literature / Leonardo Bruni -- The education of boys / Aeneas Silvius Piccolomini -- A program of teaching and learning / Battista Guarino.

1 vol. Indexed. "The manuscripts that Halkett herself carefully compiled and preserved include "select meditations," focusing on biblical texts, and "Occasional meditations," dealing with a wide array of subjects from illness and childbirth, death and widowhood, and which runs to a million words, provides a more characteristic view of her" (From the Renaissance Quarterly review by Sharon Seelig)

3 vols.: v. 1. The lawes resolutions of womens rights, or, The lawes provision for woemen : a collection of such statutes and customes as doe properly concerne women -- v. 2. A treatise of feme coverts, or, The lady’s law : containing all the law and statutes relating to women, under several heads. Hardships of the English laws : in relation to wives / [attributed to] Sarah Kirkham Chapone -- v. 3. Baron and feme : a treatise of law and equity concerning husbands and wives.

1 vol. Indexed. "This intriguing anthology of manuscript excerpts (most of them previously unpublished) represents the life writing of approximately sixty catholic nuns and lay sisters from 1619-1794. Most of these women fled England as a result of religious persecution [...] Each of the lives in the anthology is introduced by an individual preface that includes birth names, dates, and familial and historical context" (From the Early Modern Women review by Wendy Weise)

1 vol. "The first (volume) offers facsimile texts of relevant sections of farming/gardening books printed between 1574 [...] and 1718 [...] written by men. Some of facsimiles disconcertingly end in mid-sentence [...] In the second book, Munroe closely examines the words and experiences of certain well to-do gardeners, and voiced their discontent at being thus sidelined. It is a finely executed literary analysis" (From the Agricultural History Review article by Joan Thirsk)

1 vol. "The texts reprinted in these two volumes allow readers to reconstruct the history of recipes, both medical and culinary, from the mid-sixteenth to mid-seventeenth century, and situate that history within the larger scientific and intellectual practices of the period." (From the publisher's description)

1 vol. Indexed. "these texts provide important documentation of attitudes and practices related to witchcraft, possession, and exorcism in the period" (From the Renaissance Quarterly review by Sharon Seelig)

1 vol. Indexed. "The author has reproduced eight autobiographies (of the fifteen or sixteen known to exist) by female evangelical Presbyterians whose lives were intimately bound up with the persecution of nonconformist believers in early modern Scotland. The autobiographies are provided in unabridged form with annotations. With one exception, the writings are not in the hands of authors, but have been transcribed" (From the Sixteenth Century Journal review by Lynda Payne)

1 vol. "As voyeuristic and prurient as today's tabloid newspapers, early modern crime pamphlets and broadside ballads about women murderers tell of furtive love affairs and domestic poisonings, of battered wives who kill their abusive husbands, and of troubled mothers who murder their children. On first acquaintance, many pamphlets leave an impression of shallow sensationalism yoked to idealised repentance, and for that reason modern critics and historians have often discounted their importance as culturally significant artifacts. This volume presents a selection of over forty texts and is intended to encourage a reconsideration of these views." (From the publisher's description)

1 vol. "This book contains, in facsimile, the texts of twelve short works reporting the trials and misdeeds of various alleged witches" (From the Folklore review by Jacqueline Simpson)

1 vol. " The author has chosen four representative texts for inclusion in this volume. They have been chosen to illustrate how books addressed to female servants evolved and to show that women in service and the ordering of the household were integral to the way labour and gender structured early modern socio-economic ideals. Of the four texts reproduced here, two are manuals explaining the duties of female servants, while two are critical, in some respects, of such books addressed to servants." (From the publisher's description)

3 vols.: v. 1. From Roe v. Wade to the present -- v. 2. Historical development of abortion law -- v. 3. Modern writings on abortion.

6 vols. "African American Feminisms brings together writings that document distinctly African American feminist organizing from as early as the late 1820s through female benevolent and literary societies, as well as writings that document African American feminist participation in black political concerns such as emigration and colonization, discrimination in public transportation, and anti-lynching." (From the Publisher's description)

4 vols.: v. 1. Suffrage -- v. 2. Work and education -- v. 3. Health, birth control, and prostitution -- v. 4. Women’s clubs and settlements.

3 vols.: v. 1. Domestic violence : intimate partner abuse -- v. 2. The crimes of domestic violence -- v. 3. The civil justice system’s response to domestic violence.

4 vols.: v. 1. The advanced woman in journalism and the case against the woman journalist -- v. 2. Fiction 1 -- v. 3. Fiction 2: journalism and the modern girl -- v. 4. Press work in fiction and in fact.

3 vols.: "This collection gathers articles from key periodicals. It presents a sourcebook of readings on Edwardian/Progressive era feminist thought, exploring the intervention of the radical public intellectuals working in these traditions in North America and the UK from 1900-1918."--Publisher's description.

4 vols.: v. 1. Homosexual conduct and state regulation -- v. 2. Homosexuals and the military -- v. 3. Homosexuality, politics, and speech -- v. 4. Homosexuality and the family.

4 vols. "Re-issue of Ius suffragii--(later) The international woman suffrage news, 1913-1920."

5 vols."These welcome volumes are an immensely valuable and engaging resource for researchers in nineteenth-century and twentieth-century Irish women's history, literature and culture, and make available in five handsome [...] volumes a total of 180 historical documents of differing genre and subject [...] The five volumes are arranged by the theme 'leading the way' which includes various key ideological assertions of feminism: 'land and labor'; examining the diversity of women's work, 'Eire Abu?' Which traces the relationship between feminist and nationalist discourses; 'in the real world' which focuses on material conditions and lived experiences as depicted by writers; and finally 'literary approaches'. (From the Irish University Review article by Margaret Kelleher)

5 vols. Women social reformers --Great Britain --Biography. Prostitution --Great Britain --History --19th century. Prostitution --Government policy --Great Britain --History --19th century.

5 vols.: v. 1. Marriage and motherhood: The morality of marriage ; Is marriage a failure? ; The response by contemporary critics and journalists -- v. 2. The new woman and female independence: Upholding the ideals of marriage ; Progressive views by men ; Opposing divorce ; The feminist critique of marriage ; The debate on motherhood ; The new woman versus the old woman ; Celebrating the new woman ; Decrying the new woman ; The new woman and marriage ; The revolt of the daughters -- v. 3. New woman fiction (1) : Marriage, motherhood and work: To marry or not to marry (A man with a past) ; Sisterhood ; (Higher) education and work ; Marriage, the artist and a room of one's own ; Marriage and motherhood ; Mother-daughter relationships -- v. 4. New woman fiction (2) : Gender and sexuality: Gender socialization ; Female sexuality and free love ; Cross-dressing and masquerade ; Anti-feminist new woman fiction ; The dream comes true : Utopia -- v. 5. Literary degenerates: Pathologizing feminism ; Colonizing feminism ; Sexualizing feminism ; Negotiating feminism ; Anticipating images of women criticism ; Women (writers) discuss women and writing.

6 vols.: v. 1. Emily Davis and the higher education of Women -- v. 2. Girls’ and women’s education : arguments and experiences -- v. 3. Education of working women and of middle class girls -- v. 4. Higher education for women -- v. 5. Women as educators : Dorothea Beale, Frances Mary Buss, Maria Grey and Emily Shirreff -- v. 6. Women as educators : arguments and experiences.

Edited and annotated. "Containing 250 documents, the vast majority letters, this collection provides a remarkable level of assistance in its impeccably researched notes [...] divides the chapters chronologically, and to a lesser extent, thematically" (From the New York History review by Robyn L. Rosyn)

4 vols.: v. 1. Sexual anatomies -- v. 2. Sodomy -- v. 3. Prostitution -- v. 4. Onanism.

4 vols. V.1. Education, law and science ; Working, professional and spiritual women ; Marriage, motherhood and domesticity ; Satire -- v.2. Social change and leisure -- v.3. Literature ; Anti-suffragists -- v.4. Feminism and militancy ; Constructive and 'modern' anti-feminism ; War ; After suffrage.

6 vols.: v. 1. Writing for the vote : The convert / Elizabeth Robbins ; Votes for women / Elizabeth Robbins -- v. 2. The fiction of Gertrude Colmore -- v. 3. Suffrage drama -- v. 4. The politics of (non) romance -- v. 5. The home-breakers / Anonymous -- v. 6. The call / Edith Ayrton Zangwill.

v. 1-2. Letters from France / Helen Maria Williams -- v. 3. Narrative of two voyages to the River Sierra Leone during the years 1791-2-3 / A.M. Falconbridge, and; History in a six weeks' tour through a part of France, Switzerland, Germany, and Holland / Mary Shelley and Percy Shelley -- v. 4. Original letters from India / Elizabeth Fay -- v. 5. Letters from the island of Tenerife, Brazil, the Cape of Good Hope and the East Indies / Mrs. Kindersley -- v. 6-8. Italy / Lady Morgan.

2 vols.: v. 1. Georgina Weldon and Louisa Lowe / edited and with introductions by Roy Porter and Helen Nicholson -- v. 2. Susan Willis Fletcher / edited and with an introduction by Bridget Bennett.

3 vols.: v. 1. Social feminism, labor politics, and the law -- v. 2. Social feminism, labor politics, and the Supreme Court of the 1920s -- v. 3. Locating the role of labor politics within feminism in the late twentieth century.

5 vols. "provides a unique collection of different viewpoints. It brings together the work of women writers, theologians, philosophers, and economic and cultural historians to illustrate the multiplicity of voices and opinions on the issues of suffrage and religious faith. This diversity is equally reflected in the broad geographical coverage of the collection which draws on works not only from the United Kingdom and United States but also includes materials from Canada and India, and moves beyond the Christian into the spheres of theosophy, Islam, Hinduism, Buddhism, and Judaism. The gathered materials include works of non-fiction, poetry, analytical works, satires, pamphlets, sermons, spiritual (auto)biography, and periodical articles." (From the publisher's description)

3 vols. "This three-volume collection focuses on writings by and about cross-dressing women from the early nineteenth century up until the beginning of World War II. In so doing, it provides a new perspective on one of the most decisive periods in the history of feminism. The anthology brings together for the first time key texts from the sexological and the literary realms, as well as newspaper articles, letters and photographs, which document the phenomenon of cross-dressing women in nineteenth- and early twentieth-century British culture. The collection also includes translations from European texts that impacted on British understandings of cross-dressing during this time. Each of the volumes is introduced separately with a critical essay, and is divided thematically to include sections devoted to theories, fictions and fictionalisations, and lives. Together, these volumes make available important source material for the history of feminism."--Publisher's description.

5 vols.: v.I. Australia -- v. II. New Zealand -- v. III. Africa -- v. IV. India -- v. V. Canada.

Originally published in French as: Adèle et Théodore ou lettres sur lʾéducation.

"Florence Nightingale is famous as the heroine of the Crimean War and later as a campaigner for medical care founded on a clean environment and good nursing. Suggestions for Thought, which contains the novel Cassandra, is a central text in nineteenth-century history of feminist thought." (From the publisher's description)

This is a critical edition of 'Julia' which also features a bio-critical introduction that makes the novel more accessible. Written at the beginning of the French Revolution, the narrative is interspersed with poems on topics ranging from moonlight contemplations in natural landscapes to the terrors of imprisonment.

3 vols.: v. 1. Godwin / edited by Pamela Clemit -- v. 2. Mary Wollstonecraft / edited by Harriet Jump -- v. 3. Mary Shelley / edited by Betty T. Bennett.

4 vols.: v. 1. Italian lives -- v. 2. Spanish and Portuguese Lives -- v. 3. French lives -- v. 4. Life of Godwin, poems, uncollected prose, translations, part-authored and attributed writings.

4 vols.: v. 1. General introduction; Anne Steele, Poems on subjects chiefly devotional (1780) / edited by Julia B. Griffin -- v. 2. Anne Steele, miscellaneous pieces in verse and prose (1780); Anne Steele, Verses for children (1788); Unpublished poetry, prose and correspondence of Anne Steele / edited by Julia B. Griffin -- v. 3. Poetry, prose and correspondence of Mary Steele / edited by Timothy Whelan -- v. 4. Poetry and correspondence of Mary Scott; poetry of Hannah Towgood Wakeford; Poetry of Margaret Steele Wakeford; poetry of Marianna Attwater; poetry of Jane Attwater; poetry and periodical prose of Elizabeth Coltman / edited by Timothy Whelan.

6 vols.: set 1, v. 1. Miscellaneous writings, 1725-43 / edited by Alexander Pettit ; biographical introduction by Christine Blouch -- set 1, v. 2. Epistles for the ladies / introduced and annotated by Christine Blouch ; the texts edited by Alexander Pettit and Christine Blouch -- set 1, v. 3. The wife, the husband, and the young lady / edited by Alexander Pettit and Margo Collins -- set 2, v. 1. The dramatic historiographer (A companion to the theatre, v. 1) and The parrot / edited by Christine Blouch, Alexander Pettit and Rebecca Sayers Hanson -- set 2, v. 2-3. The female spectator / edited by Kathryn R. King and Alexander Pettit. (4 v. in 2).

4 vols. "Sarah Grand was one of the most prominent New Women of the 1890s and a notable social purity feminist and suffragist. This collection offers important insights into the full range of her journalistic output and lesser-known fictional writings. It also makes available biographical and autobiographical material, and previously unpublished manuscript sources. The first volume reproduces Grand's articles and the contemporary critical reception of her work. The letters in volume two, written mostly in the 1920s and 1930s, shed light on Grand's genesis as a writer and her interaction with 1890s artistic and feminist circles. The third and fourth volumes contain a selection of short stories from three collections published at and after the turn of the century. These comment on some of the explosive issues of that time: feminism, decadence, eugenics, class, race and war. They also reflect Grand's exploration of the interplay between gender and genre."--Publisher's description.

6 vols.: v. 1. Enlightenment gothic and terror gothic -- v. 2. Street gothic : female gothic chapbooks -- v. 3. Erotic gothic -- v. 4-5. Historical gothic -- v. 6. Orientalist gothic.