"Items are organized according to type (e.g, charters, surveys) and within each type chronologically. The aim is to publish all of the charters and other administrative documents relating to Shaftesbury in the period from 1066 to the death of Abbess Mary in 1216" (From the English Historical Review article by Julia Barrow)
2 vols. "Marjorie Chibnail has now edited the surviving twelfth- and early thirteenth-century surveys of the English estates, along with one early fourteenth-century survey of Michinhampton and twenty-six charters which cast light on the accumulation and management of the abbey's English lands." (From the Speculumreview by Emily Zack Tabuteau)
1 vol. "This volume includes the works of three Englishwomen: Julian of Norwich (1342-c.1416) whose Revelations were first printed in 1670; Margery Kempe (c.1373-c.1438) from whose Boke of Marjorie Kempe a few extracts were printed in 1501 and again in 1512; Juliana Berners (possibly c.1388) whose treatise on hawkyng and huntyng was first printed in 1486, with a second edition containing an additional treatise on fishing. The writings of these three women are brought together in this book because they are amongst the earliest female writers in the English language" (From the publisher description)
"Numerous early charters in the cartulary identify other twelfth-century nuns and their relatives, and shed light on the founding of the abbey, its royal and private patronage, and its extensive real estate holdings. Other documents in the volume are excellent sources for women’s literacy and culture, religious practices in the diocese of Lincoln, social relations between the nuns and the larger community, and the local urban and rural economy in Oxfordshire and nearby counties [...] In the text, documents dating from about 1225 or earlier are printed in full, in the original Latin, with English introductions and notes; later documents have been fully summarized in English, with complete witness lists."--Publisher description.
"This immense volume contains the full record of two different courts in two different centuries. First that of the Dean and Chapter of Lincoln for its peculiar jurisdiction which comprised an 'archipelago of parishes' that were distinct from the prebends and scattered about the shire [...] Second, the wholly distinct and separate record of the deanery of Wisbech, a compact jurisdiction of the bishop of Ely" (From the English Historical Review article by Margaret Bowker)
8 vols.: v. 1 Narrative of travels in Europe, Asia and Africa in the seventeenth century / by Evliyá Efendí ; translated from the Turkish by Joseph von Hammer -- v. 2. Histoire des sultans Mamlouks de l’Egypte, écrite en Arabe par Taki-Eddin-Ahmed-Makrizi (volume I) / M. Quatremère -- v. 3. Histoire des sultans Mamlouks de l’Egypte, écrite en Arabe par Taki-Eddin-Ahmed-Makrizi (volume II) / M. Quatremère -- v. 4. Description of the province of Fars in Persia at the beginning of the fourteenth century AD / G. Le Strange -- v. 5. An account of the Ottoman conquest of Egypt in the year A.H. 922 (A.D. 1516) / W.H. Salmon -- v. 6. Taʻríkh-i Fakhruʾd-Dín Mubáraksháh : being the historical introduction to the Book of Genealogies of Fakhruʾd-Dín Mubáraksháh Marvar-rúdí. Completed in A.D. 1206 / E. Denison Ross -- v. 7. The zoological section of the Nuzhtu-L-Qulūb of Hamdullāh al-Mustaufī al-Qazwīnī / J. Stephenson -- v. 8. Sharaf al Zamn̄ Tāhir Marvazī on China, the Turks and India : Arabic text (circa A.D. 1120) / V. Minorsky.
1 vol. "This facsimile edition reproduces the work titled Eliza's Babes which was first published in 1652. The volume comprises devotional and political verse and prose meditations. The poems cover a wide range of forms from verse epistles to poetic petitions, religious love lyrics to poems on earthly marriage, exultant poetic prayers to stern spiritual admonitions [...] It reveals its anonymous author to be perhaps the first woman to publish substantial creative imitations of poems printed in George Herbert's The Temple (1633) and to rely upon and respond to Robert Herrick's Hesperides (1648)." (From the publisher's description)
6 vols.: Reprints of books and articles originally published 1713-1825: v. 1. Animal language, animal passions and animal morals -- v. 2. An essay on the future life of brutes, introduced with observation upon evil, its nature and origin / Richard Dean -- v. 3. A dissertation on the duty of mercy and sin of cruelty to brute animals / Humphry Primatt -- v. 4. The chain of being and The cry of nature -- v. 5. An essay on humanity to animals / Thomas Young -- v. 6. Lord Monboddo, orangutans and the origins of human nature.
1 vol.: 1. A true account of the great tryals and cruel sufferings [excerpt] / Katharine Evans and Sarah Cheevers -- 2. An account of her experiences during her visits to New England, 1661 and 1663-65/6 / Elizabeth Hooton -- 3. A brief account of some of my exercise from my childhood ; ’Testimony concerning her dear husband’ [excerpt] ; A Letter from me, to my dear grandchild Springett Penn [excerpt] / Mary Penington -- 4. A relation of the labour, travail, and suffering [excerpt] / Alice Curwen -- 5. An account of the birth, and education, with the services and sufferings for the truth’s sake [excerpt] / Elizabeth Andrews -- 6. Strength in weakness manifest [excerpt] / Elizabeth Stirredge -- 7. A relation of Margaret Fell [excerpt] ; ’The testimony ... concerning ... George Fox’ [excerpt] ; The examination and trial of Margaret Fell [excerpt] / Margaret Fell -- 8. An apostate-conscience exposed [excerpt] / Anne Docwra -- 9. A legacy, or widow’s mite [excerpt] / Alice Hayes -- 10. A letter ... to Anthony William Boehm [excerpt] / Elizabeth Webb -- 11. ’A Memorable Instance of Divine Guidance and Protection’ / James Dickinson and Jane Fearon.
"This handsome edition of The Books of Assumption presents the content and much of the flavor of four manuscripts and a total of 929 total folios. The format used is normally that of a very full modern English calendar, although unusual or ambiguous phrases are quoted in Latin (with translation) or in Scots, and a number of letters are printed in full." (From the Scottish Historical Review article by A.D.M. Barrell)
1 vol. "As works designed for mothers to instruct their children within the home, early modern mother-directed catechisms, like traditional catechisms, use the question-and-answer format to present the basic tenets of the Protestant faith [...] This collection demonstrates that these catechisms provide valuable insight into constructions of early modern maternity, and more broadly, into the degree of power and authority accorded to women in the early modern Protestant family. It includes nearly all of the extant catechisms the editor was able to locate which were designed expressly for mothers and published between 1550 and 1750." (From the publisher's description)
1 vol. Indexed. "(Parker) fully annotates the collection, and includes appendixes on matters relevant to the families [...] He has added a brief abstract of each letter and a useful bibliography, revised some notes, and reorganized and expanded his introductory essay [...] Parker has provided students and scholars an important source, nicely situated in its social context, and a pleasure to read" (From the Sixteenth Century Journal review by Diane Willen)
"The majority of this volume comprises a critical analysis of the two printed editions Morning and Evening Prayers The first edition was printed as a single volume by Christopher Barker in 1574; the second as part of a compendium of devotional tracts by Protestant women, The Monument of Matrones , compiled by Thomas Bently in 1582" (From the English Historical Review article by Christina M. Brindley)
6 vols. "an exhilarating range of primary materials, divided into volumes on history writing, spirituality, life writing (two volumes), convent management, and the convents and the outside world" (From the Early Modern Women review by Jenna Lay)
4 vols. "Programmatically, The Enlightenment in America appears caught somewhere between personal "collection," in the author's term, and general "anthology." The collective aspects, the materials selected for inclusion, offer great range, but the choices themselves seem idiosyncratic, tending toward the esoteric and obscure rather than the canonical, with little or no justification given to selections made or not made." (From the Eighteenth Century Studies review by Robert A. Ferguson)
"The overarching contribution of Baylor's volume, implicit in its title, is the analytical framing and fusing of the German Reformation and German Peasant's War as two differentiated yet undeniably interrelated historical events" (From the Sixteenth Century Journal review by Marvin L. Anderson)
1 vol. Indexed. "This intriguing anthology of manuscript excerpts (most of them previously unpublished) represents the life writing of approximately sixty catholic nuns and lay sisters from 1619-1794. Most of these women fled England as a result of religious persecution [...] Each of the lives in the anthology is introduced by an individual preface that includes birth names, dates, and familial and historical context" (From the Early Modern Women review by Wendy Weise)
1 vol. Indexed. "Letters Concerning the Love of God includes, as contextual material, Norris's Cursory Reflections upon a Book Call'd, An Essay Concerning Human Understanding (1690), the first published philosophical response to (as Bishop Stillingfleet would later put it) Locke's 'new way of ideas,' and Astell's biting and comprehensive attack on Locke in the 'Appendix' to the second edition of The Christian Religion, As Professed by a Daughter of the Church of England (1717). These texts serve to place both Letters and its authors in the contentious philosophical-theological climate to which they belonged" (From the publisher's description)
1 vol. Translated by Pudentiana Deacon.
"Delicious entertainments of the soule is a translation of a collection of conferences which Francis de Sales held for the Order of the Sisters of the Visitation"--Introductory note.
1 vol. "(Shuger) presents somewhat over fifty texts from the early Stuart period, drawn from a wide range of authors, written for a wide variety of contexts, and representing a range of literary genres." (From the Journal of Theological Studies review by Stephen Hampton)
"For reasons that varied widely, leaders and thinkers from Mexico to the Ottoman Empire and from China to the Indian subcontinent sought to reform existing religions, develop new spiritual practices, promote innovative texts, and, on occasion, even create new religions. Presenting documents from different regions and different religious and philosophical traditions, including Islam, Judaism, Sikhism, Christianity, and Confucianism, this volume allows students to explore and analyze these varied transformations. A general introduction introduces the framework for examining the chapter case studies" (From the publisher's description)
1 vol. Indexed. "these texts provide important documentation of attitudes and practices related to witchcraft, possession, and exorcism in the period" (From the Renaissance Quarterly review by Sharon Seelig)
1 vol. Indexed. "The author has reproduced eight autobiographies (of the fifteen or sixteen known to exist) by female evangelical Presbyterians whose lives were intimately bound up with the persecution of nonconformist believers in early modern Scotland. The autobiographies are provided in unabridged form with annotations. With one exception, the writings are not in the hands of authors, but have been transcribed" (From the Sixteenth Century Journal review by Lynda Payne)
"Blasphemy is the battleground where religious and secular worlds come into conflict. It has a history which reaches into issues of religious belief, freedom of expression, and is bound up with the growth and development of new media. This title draws together a variety of primary sources relating to blasphemy from the Enlightenment onwards." (Publisher Description)
4 vols. "This four volume set features more than sixty important essays, many of which are unavailable elsewhere. Scholars in many fields should welcome this collection of Material on a central topic in American intellectual history" (From the Nielsen Book Data review)
5 vols. "provides a unique collection of different viewpoints. It brings together the work of women writers, theologians, philosophers, and economic and cultural historians to illustrate the multiplicity of voices and opinions on the issues of suffrage and religious faith. This diversity is equally reflected in the broad geographical coverage of the collection which draws on works not only from the United Kingdom and United States but also includes materials from Canada and India, and moves beyond the Christian into the spheres of theosophy, Islam, Hinduism, Buddhism, and Judaism. The gathered materials include works of non-fiction, poetry, analytical works, satires, pamphlets, sermons, spiritual (auto)biography, and periodical articles." (From the publisher's description)
4 vols.: v. 1. General introduction; Anne Steele, Poems on subjects chiefly devotional (1780) / edited by Julia B. Griffin -- v. 2. Anne Steele, miscellaneous pieces in verse and prose (1780); Anne Steele, Verses for children (1788); Unpublished poetry, prose and correspondence of Anne Steele / edited by Julia B. Griffin -- v. 3. Poetry, prose and correspondence of Mary Steele / edited by Timothy Whelan -- v. 4. Poetry and correspondence of Mary Scott; poetry of Hannah Towgood Wakeford; Poetry of Margaret Steele Wakeford; poetry of Marianna Attwater; poetry of Jane Attwater; poetry and periodical prose of Elizabeth Coltman / edited by Timothy Whelan.
3 vols. "The Shakers are perhaps the best known of American religious communities. Their ethos and organization had a practical influence on many other communities and on society as a whole. This three volume collection presents writings from a broad cross-section of those who opposed the Shakers and their way of life." (From the publisher's description)