Journals
Stanford Social Innovation Review
"Stanford Social Innovation Review (SSIR) is an award-winning magazine and website that covers cross-sector solutions to global problems."
"Contemporary Economic Policy publishes scholarly research and analysis on important policy issues facing society. The journal provides insight into the complexity of policy decisions and communicates evidence-based solutions in a form accessible to economists and policy makers."
"World Development is a multi-disciplinary monthly journal of development studies. It seeks to explore ways of improving standards of living, and the human condition generally, by examining potential solutions to problems such as: poverty, unemployment, malnutrition, disease, lack of shelter, environmental degradation, inadequate scientific and technological resources, trade and payments imbalances, international debt, gender and ethnic discrimination, militarism and civil conflict, and lack of popular participation in economic and political life."
The Journal of Developing Areas
"Aims to stimulate in-depth and rigorous empirical and theoretical research on all issues pertaining to the process of economic development."
Article Databases
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Education & Connections
The Chronicle provides news and information for executives of tax-exempt organizations in health, education, religion, the arts, social services, and other fields, as well as fund raisers, professional employees of foundations, institutional investors, corporate grant makers, and charity donors.
The Ford Foundation has made available over 2000 of the publications based on its grantmaking including regional brochures, books & studies, and multimedia materials.
Stanford Graduate School Of Business Center for Social Innovation
The Center for Social Innovation has been at the forefront of the emerging field of social innovation which focuses attention on the ideas and solutions that create social value—as well as the processes through which they are generated, not just the individuals and organizations.
Foundations
Acumen is a global force of entrepreneurs, investors, philanthropists, and social innovators working together to break the cycle of poverty.
Specifically focuses on agriculture, education, energy, healthcare, and the workforce.
Ashoka: Everyone A Changemaker
Ashoka identifies and supports the world's leading social entrepreneurs, learns from the patterns in their innovations, and mobilizes a global community that embraces these new frameworks to build an "everyone a changemaker world."
Ashoka has a variety of programs, including an application-based fellowship.
Through Fellowships and other innovative leadership initiatives, Echoing Green spots emerging leaders and invests deeply in their success to accelerate their impact. We provide seed-funding and leadership development to a new class of Fellows every year and welcome them into a lifelong community of leaders.
Grameen Foundation helps the world's poorest, especially women, improve their lives and escape poverty by providing them with access to small loans, essential information, and viable business opportunities.
Omidyar Network is a philanthropic investment firm dedicated to harnessing the power of markets to create opportunity for people to improve their lives. We invest in and help scale innovative organizations to catalyze economic, social, and political change.
Specifically focuses on a digital future.
Schwab Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship
The Schwab Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship is a not-for-profit, independent and neutral organization, founded in 1998, with the purpose to advance social entrepreneurship and to foster social entrepreneurs as an important catalyst for societal innovation and progress.
Also look at the annual report.
Their mission is to drive large scale change by investing in, connecting, and celebrating social entrepreneurs and the innovators who help them solve the world’s most pressing problems.
Need More Help?
Grainger Engineering Library Information Center's STEM Entrepreneurship & Business Services can assist you in getting started with these and other resources. If you have any questions, please e-mail bis@library.illinois.edu.
