Business Climate
The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) provides quarterly analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment in more than 180 countries. Included in each country report is a detailed review and analysis of political and economic events, a compilation of the latest economic indicators as well as a 12-24 month political outlook and economic projection.
Emerging Markets Information Service
How to use EMIS Tutorial Video
If you're having trouble accessing this database or getting an error code, try opening the link in a private or incognito window. For further assistance, please contact bis@library.illinois.edu.
Emerging Markets collects and produces full-text news articles, financial statements, company information, industry analyses, equity quotes, macroeconomic statistics, and market-specific information on more than 80 emerging economies.
"Our mission is to stop corruption and promote transparency, accountability and integrity at all levels and across all sectors of society."
Focuses on ending corruption, including ensuring political integrity, combating 'dirty money,' and upholding business integrity.
Worldwide Governance Indicators
The WGI are based on existing data sources produced by more than 30 think tanks, international organizations, nongovernmental organizations, and private firms around the world. The data sources (1) produce original primary data using their own well-defined methodologies, (2) report respondents’ perceptions of relevant dimensions of governance, (3) cover multiple countries, and (4) are regularly updated. The data reflect the diverse views of tens of thousands of survey respondents and experts worldwide.
Doing Business measured business regulations for local firms in 190 economies from 2004-2020.
Employment & Workers' Rights
The Fair Labor Association is putting fairness to work, promoting human rights for workers around the world.
See their Annual Public Reports, published yearly since 2014.
They also provide issue briefs that "provide timely and concise information and recommendations related to emerging or noteworthy developments in the areas of labor rights and global supply chains."
International Labour Organization
The ILO is the international organization responsible for drawing up and overseeing international labour standards. It is the only 'tripartite' United Nations agency that brings together representatives of governments, employers and workers to jointly shape policies and programmes promoting Decent Work for all. This unique arrangement gives the ILO an edge in incorporating 'real world' knowledge about employment and work.
They have research publications, statistics information, and international labour standards.
Environmental Regulations
We lead Australia's response to climate change and sustainable energy use, and protect our environment, heritage, and water.
Environmental Protection Agency
EPA's mission is to protect human health and the environment.
Find information on environmental topics and laws and regulations.
EU Environmental Policy and Regulation
EU policies aim to protect the environment and biodiversity, minimise risks to human health, and promote the transition to a circular economy.
Also look at their environmental publications.
Regulations.gov is the clearinghouse for U.S. government regulations and related documents.
Economy
Euromoney covers companies and economic situations around the world. The Regions and Countries area of the web site is a good place to find recent articles on events and issues in particular countries, but to search there, you must first apply for a user name and password. Each September the magazine publishes a list of the world's countries ranked by level of risk. This list is particularly useful because it identifies and defines key components of risk.
The World Bank's twice-yearly Global Economic Prospects examines growth trends for the global economy and how they affect developing countries. The reports include three-year forecasts for the global economy and long-term global scenarios which look ten years into the future. Topical annexes in this online publication cover financial markets, trade, commodities, and inflation.
Intellectual Property & Patents
Provides access to bibliographic databases of engineering research literature as well as to patents, standards and handbooks (Compendex, US Patents, Inspec, EP Patents, NTIS, WO Patents, GEOBASE, and GeoRef).
Intellectual Property Office of Singapore
IPOS uses its IP expertise and networks to grow innovative enterprises, powering Singapore's future economy with ideas and innovation.
International Intellectual Property Institute
IIPI was founded in 1998 to assist policy makers and creators in all parts of the world in better understanding the use of intellectual property rights as a tool of economic growth and development.
United States Patent and Trademark Office
The USPTO advises the President of the United States, the Secretary of Commerce, and U.S. Government agencies on intellectual property (IP) policy, protection, and enforcement; and promotes the stronger and more effective IP protection around the world.
World Intellectual Property Organization
The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the United Nations agency dedicated to the use of intellectual property (patents, copyright, trademarks, designs, etc.) as a means of stimulating innovation and creativity.
Also see the Patent and Product Research on the Toolkit for Entrepreneurship LibGuide.
Sustainability Trade Organizations
World Business Council for Sustainable Development
The WBCSD is a CEO-led organization of forward-thinking companies that galvanizes the global business community to create a sustainable future for business, society and the environment.
In 2010, they launched Vision 2050, which calls for "a world in which more than 9 billion people can live well." It also has information for the business community. You can download the report from the home page.
The OTA was founded in 1984 by organic producers and handlers as the Organic Foods Production Association of North America (OFPANA). Its mission is to promote and protect the growth of organic trade to benefit the environment, farmers, the public, and the economy.
SFI accredits third party auditors to certify forest land owners, land management companies and forest products companies according to SFI standards.
Need More Help?
Grainger Engineering Library Information Center's STEM Entrepreneurship & Business Services can assist you in getting started with these and other resources. If you have any questions, please e-mail bis@library.illinois.edu.
