About this Page
This page is being provided to enhance the resources related to the presentation entitled "Revival of Uprisings in the Middle East and North Africa".
The event was organized by the Center for South Asian and Middle Eastern Studies and the Center for African Studies, and co-sponsored by the Center for Global Studies; Department of Sociology; European Union Center; Illinois International; Illinois Program for Research in the Humanities; Program in Arms Control & International Security; Russian, Eastern European, and Eurasian Center; and Women & Gender in Global Perspectives.
General Information - Library
Various guides exist to help you find your way around the physical and virtual University Library. We try to make things as simple as possible for you, but this is a complex organization and a lot depends on your willingness to explore!
To find books go to the Library Catalog. If you do not know how to use it and would like some helpful hints go to Using the Library Catalog.
The quickest and easiest way to find journal articles is to use the Easy Search on the Library Gateway page.
If you have a specific database or journal title in mind, it could be online in the Online Journals & Databases list.
If you have a citation from something you have read, you can check to see if we have it available by using the Journal and Article Locator.
Databases with Related Information
- Confidential Print: Middle East This link opens in a new windowThe collection covers Middle Eastern history from 1839-1969; countries included are: Afghanistan, Egypt, Sudan, Persia, Suez Canal, Turkey, Jordan, Arabia, Iraq, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, and Syria. The series originated out of a need for the British Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Some of these were one page letters or telegrams -- others were large volumes or texts of treaties. All items marked 'Confidential Print' were circulated to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.
- Foreign Office Files for the Middle East This link opens in a new windowThis collection is an essential resource for understanding the events in the Middle East during the 1970s. It addresses the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power. Conflicts such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution are examined in detail, as are the military interventions and peace negotiations carried out by regional and foreign powers like the United States and Russia.
- African Newspapers, Series I and II This link opens in a new windowAfrican Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1800-1925, offers coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped the continent during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Algeria to Angola, Zambia to Zimbabwe, this resource chronicles the evolution of Africa through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items.
- Confidential Print: Africa This link opens in a new windowProvides electronic access to the United Kingdom's Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices' confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966. This resource provides a searchable collection of scores of official documents and maps covering almost the entire period of European conquest and colonisation of Africa (with the exception of Egypt).
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new windowColumbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new windowIBSS covers core social science literature in disciplines of anthropology, economics, political science and sociology, as well as a wide range of interdisciplinary fields. IBSS provides bibliographic citations to more than two million journal articles, reviews, books and selected chapters - from over 100 countries and in more than 90 languages. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. The Atlas thesaurus aids in finding works on a country or region; other speciaized thesauri and indexes are provided.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowThe PAIS Archive includes carefully selected resources to help users identify and locate information about significant political, economic, social and cultural issues affecting international and local communities, countries, governments and society. Its broad topical scope and retrospective coverage complement more specialized databases that cover the humanities, health care, agriculture, sociology, history, and many other disciplines, providing historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies. Also, the PAIS Archive database contains references to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics, and the original historical subject headings have been retained within the file for enhanced searching capabilities.
